What to look for in a Jeep for new owners? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 10-22-2014, 07:28 AM Thread Starter

What to look for in a Jeep for new owners?

Im brand new to the Jeep scene - I actually don't own one yet, but I am looking. I want to see if I can get some advise from all of you aficionados out there.

-----------

What sets the JK apart from the other Wranglers? Is it just extras that come on the standard Wrangler?

What kind of motor should I look for? Ive heard that the straight 6 is the way to go as the motor last forever. Is there any reason to getting anything other than that? Is there any reason to worry about a Jeep that has over 100k miles if it has the straight 6 and has been taken care of? I want to use this both as a daily driver and as a bit of fun on the weekends. Nothing serious as far as the fun, just maybe take it off road etc.

Do I get the manual or automatic? I would assume manual if I want to do anything other than drive on pavement.

What can I expect to happen to mileage with all of the upgrades that you guys put on the Jeeps? I understand that putting a turbo on can improve mileage a bit, but Im not sure if that is necessary.

Are jeeps that are configured in a way, like the ones in the 'For Sale' section conducive to drive on the road as well as off?

-----------

Im sure I will think of more question. I really appreciate any advice that you can impart on me! Im really excited to start this search and hopefully become a member of the Jeep community. By the way, I am not afraid to buy off of forums as I have purchased 3 motorcycles off forums, 1 off ebay, and my car off of craigslist. So, if I by something, it will more than likely be from here!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 10-22-2014, 07:46 AM
Rock God