Lift kit suggestion - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 Old 04-26-2014, 09:46 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler

Lift kit suggestion

Im a newbie to JK world , I have owned TJs in the past. Can anyone give me a suggestion on a good basic lift that rides good and will clear 33 12.50s with out rubbing ..
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 04-26-2014, 10:02 PM
Wheeler

I believe you can clear 33s without any lift at all. If you still want to go up, try a leveling kit.
post #3 of 26 Old 04-27-2014, 04:49 AM
JKO Addict!

You can indeed fit a 33" with the proper backspacing or wheel spacers. This is mostly for tire width clearance-running a common 12.5

Plenty of folks running 35's with nothing more then a leveling kit, trimmed flares, pitch seam and added bumpstop. Longer shocks to retain/add downtraval.

It's a fact, you don't need a ton of lift on a Jk per given tire size. Over 2-2.5 expense adds up quick to do it
It all depends on size and how you're using the jeep. Off road and you want travel. The jeep will be set up differently then a DD.

The TJ was a whole other animal.

Sent from AutoGuide.com App

2007 JKR | PSC Big bore box | Rock Krawler 3.5" x-factor arms l SteerSmarts YETI track bar, tie rod, no drill flipped drag link, Griffin | Synergy frame brace | 37x12.5x17 Nitto RG's | Dana front DS | Fox IFP shocks | Artec front armor kit/Currie JJ's | Teraflex rear axle bracket | EVO Rockstars | Ridged D's, A pillar mounts | VKS sliders l Trek Armor seat covers | Superchips/Sprint booster | Savvy half doors w/ Bestop uppers
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 26 Old 04-27-2014, 11:16 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler

yeah I have noticed how much of a difference my tj was compared to my jk .. Im probaly going to go with a 2.5 to 3in kit with springs with a 33 12.50 tire with a 18in wheel .. any suggestion a a kit thats rides the best on road
post #5 of 26 Old 04-27-2014, 11:19 AM
Rock God

Quote: