Void Warranty - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old 04-25-2014, 07:22 PM Thread Starter

Void Warranty

So I'm fairly new to this. But my questions is what type of lift will void the warranty? I apologize because I know this a repost, I've read 101 different things. I've talked to all the dudes I know from the Marine Corps that are Jeep dudes. They all give me different answers. So I guess what I'm asking is, is it situationally dependent on the dealer on what they will say is or is not covered? I have buddies with 3.25" Rough Country lifts and still covered...But my dealer tells me if I don't buy this overpriced 2" Mopar lift everything is void. I call bull, but I need the help out you all.

And I said Marine buddies, because I swear it seems like 90% of my old platoon now has Jeeps ha.

Any help would be appreciated gentleman.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 04-25-2014, 08:44 PM
Granite Guru

While the dealer's attitude toward lifted Jeeps has some bearing, ultimately it is Chrysler's call as to what is covered under warranty. If you have multiple dealerships in your area, find the one that is most "Lift Friendly." Chrysler's position is that if the lift had no effect on the part in question, it is still covered. For example, the exhaust system is completely unaffected by a lift and the warranty is still applicable. However, your stock shocks will not be covered if they fail.
post #3 of 17 Old 04-25-2014, 08:45 PM
Rock God

start here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magnuso...s_Warranty_Act

the Magnuson Moss warranty act basically says that Jeep cannot deny a warranty claim unless the failure was directly caused by the after market part. So if you put a lift on and your head gasket fails, its covered.

Whatever stupid dealer told you you had to buy their lift to be covered by the warranty is just trying to scare you into buying their crap.