I need advice for lifting my new jeep - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 04-04-2014, 04:26 PM Thread Starter

I need advice for lifting my new jeep

I have a '14 Willys Wheeler Unlimited on order and I can't wait for it to arrive! The first thing I am going to do is lift it, outfit it with 35" tires, and put on new front/rear bumpers and tire carrier. I have previously owned a Wrangler ('08) but I am new to aftermarket upgrades so I could really use some advice.

I have a few questions. Overall, I do not want to go cheap but I also do not have a $10k budget. Any advice I can get would be fantastic.

- I like the wheels on the Willys Wheeler (17" rubicon wheels in black) so I am planning on keeping those, does anyone have any suggestions for the best 35" tires I could mount on the stock wheels? I will be driving to/from work on paved roads during the week and hitting trails on weekends. I will be doing some off roading but probably nothing that would go viral on youtube.

- Any suggestions on lift kits? I can't go too high (so my wife can still get the baby in the car seat, ha!) but I also do not want any rubbing issues. This is the one I'm most concerned about because I want to get the best lift for my budget.

- Is a rear tire carrier absolutely needed for 35" tires? I've heard yes and no... just wondering if anyone knows for sure.

- Finally, as far as bumpers, I'm loving OR-Fab front and rear bumpers (and the tire carrier). Has anyone had any issues with these or would you recommend a different brand?

Thank you very much for the advice. All of this research is making my head hurt and I'm hoping this will help me narrow down my decisions.

Last edited by dsotm78; 04-04-2014 at 04:51 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 04-04-2014, 04:41 PM
Rock God

Garage

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsotm78 View Post