Strange Sound when Accelerating - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 01-31-2014, 05:33 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler

Strange Sound when Accelerating

So I went wheeling last weekend and had a blast. However, I came down decently hard a few times, but from what I could tell only on my side rails and that's about it. But now when I accelerate from a dead stop, whenever I pass about 750-1000 rpm I hear a grinding noise (or like noise like a baseball card in some bicycle spokes but deeper and less fast).

Does anyone have any idea as to what this could be? As a side note, after wheeling, my steering wheel was also cockeyed from what it normally is as well. As in, when my car is going straight my steering wheel is in a slight left hand turn position.

I am still new to wheeling and krawling and am still also learning about the ins and outs of my jeep so I have no idea. Any help would be much appreciated so when I do take it in to have it checked I can sound intelligent and also so I learn a little bit more about my jeep.

Black 2012 MW3 4-door Rubi, Teraflex 2.5" lift, Rugged Ridge Wheels, Goodyear Duratrac 35s, Smittybilt XRC GEN2 front and rear bumper, fender armor and rock rails, Custom Grille wrap-Kryptek Typhon Camo, Warn 10-S Zeon Platinum, EVO Full-Protek Skid plates, Cobra 29 LX CB Radio, MetalCloak Fender liners, HIDProjectors Lights, S-pod, Genesis Offroad Dual battery kit, Rigid Industries 50" Light bar
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 01-31-2014, 05:47 PM
JKO Addict!

Noises and vibes that seem slower than engine speed are usually in the wheel area. Get the weight off the tires and check your bearings and such. If you DIY use QUALITY jackstands. Grab each at 12 and 6 and see if there's movement, should be negligible, Do same at 9 and 3, but be aware that hard shaking this way will move steering.