New JKU Owner with backspacing concerns... - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 10-24-2013, 10:25 AM Thread Starter

New JKU Owner with backspacing concerns...

Hi all... I'm new to Jeep and awaiting my 2014 JKU Sport. I've been lurking here for a while, trying to use the search option to it's fullest. I'd like to get your advice on a specific wheel/tire combo that from what I've read, is not perfectly ideal but should work. Thanks for the many backspacing/offset threads and guides.

2014 JKU Sport S
5sp Auto
3.21 gears
stock 17" 255/75/17
90% on road/10% off (mud/gravel/grass)
daily driver

My idea is to get 17x9" Raceline Raptor wheels (5" backspacing) with Goodyear Wrangler Duratec 285/70/17 tires. Any clearance issues that you can think of with a stock suspension?

xvcrysisxv... I know you put the 17x9" Raptors on your stock Wrangler at the time. Any clearance issues up until you installed your lift?

Thanks, I appreciate any input!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 10-26-2013, 05:34 PM
Rock God

Welcome to the forum!

I run 8" wide wheels with 4" backspacing and it sticks out a good 2 inches past the fenders. It sounds like from your description you don't plan on flexing out your suspension so I would think your setup would work, as long as you dont mind the wheels being outside the fenderwells.

Mike
'07 2 door soft top
post #3 of 5 Old 10-27-2013, 04:38 AM Thread Starter

Thanks Mike! I appreciate the feedback!

I really like the Raptors but I guess that's the problem with first, finding a wheel you like and then second, checking to see if it fits. I know I should have worked the other way around.

What makes me hesitate about a lift is mainly garage clearance ( I only have a few inches of clearance to play with at stock ride height) and any warranty/dealer problems. A few years down the road, it won't matter as much.

Thanks again...
Jason
Sponsored Links
Advertisement