Is there a MoCAN like product for TJ LS or LT swaps? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 11-17-2019, 03:30 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Feedback: 0 reviews
Is there a MoCAN like product for TJ LS or LT swaps?

Hi All,

Noob to this site checking in! I have been enjoying the lurk so far. Its a great place to spend time!

Per title, is there a CAN product for TJ LS or LT swaps like the MoTec MoCAN module (I read that MoTec aren't concentrating on TJ's)?

Right now, I'm balls deep into the research phase.

I live in LA so am aiming for a California legal swap. I also want to keep the Jeep looking as OEM as possible to the casual observer.

During a recent pre-swap chat with a referee & on the subject of electronics & controllers:

- He told me it would be an instant fail if you try to "piggyback computers"
- When asked what that meant, he said I couldn't retain the Jeep PCM to drive the instrument cluster
- and clarified I can only have one "computer".
- he suggested I stay away from OBD2 project vehicles.

Sigh.

Anyway after that conversation and undeterred, I discovered MoTec and the MoCAN module.

Which warmed me up to the idea of a JK conversion but before I jump ship I wanted to have all my questions answered before deciding what to do!

Any words of wisdom gratefully received. Thanks in advance!
MontJKLT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-17-2019, 05:56 PM
JKowners Vendor
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wellington Nv.
Posts: 1,144
Feedback: 2 reviews

I would highly recommend you contacting John Shumaker asap.

https://overlandperformance.com/

He will get you the info your needing.

Dealer for: MoTech, Atlas, Dynatrac, Rock Krawler, ORO, Currie, Poison Spyder, Bilstein, Fox, SWAY-A-WAY, Ridid, Adams and Tom Woods DS's. And much more!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CT Performance, Inc is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-17-2019, 07:05 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Feedback: 0 reviews

Thanks for the tip.

That website appears to be mostly broken. None of the pages contain any information that I can see!
MontJKLT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 11-18-2019, 09:05 AM
JKowners Vendor
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wellington Nv.
Posts: 1,144
Feedback: 2 reviews

Give him a call...personal contact vs looking at pictures and basic info.

Dealer for: MoTech, Atlas, Dynatrac, Rock Krawler, ORO, Currie, Poison Spyder, Bilstein, Fox, SWAY-A-WAY, Ridid, Adams and Tom Woods DS's. And much more!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CT Performance, Inc is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-18-2019, 10:50 AM
JKowners Vendor
 
0lllllll0 RPMEXTREME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Age: 43
Posts: 695
Feedback: 2 reviews

You didn't specify what year the TJ is and if it was a manual or automatic.

There will be a lot more involved than just getting a "CAN MODULE". The full conversion harness and system will need to be built with the correct circuits to accommodate the Can module.

A JK will be a lot easier than a TJ as the JK is a CAN based vehicle and the cluster can be drive by CAN messages. The TJ cluster was driven by the Jeep PCM and is not CAN based.


It can be done several ways but living in California will limit you severely on how you can do it.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
your offroad connection to the best southern off road Jeep parts in Alabama
0lllllll0 RPMEXTREME is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-18-2019, 01:27 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Feedback: 0 reviews

Thanks for your reply. I appreciate the steer.

OK, I just learned there is no CAN on TJ's.

The internet tells me:

97-2000 TJ are CCD twisted pair bus
2001-2006 TJ are PCI bus

Lets say this project is a 2001-2006 TJ, 4.0 automatic and given that I'm in CA my Chevy donor will also have to be automatic.

The internet also told me just now, the TJ PCI bus connects to PCM, cluster, air bag module, radio and SKIM module if you have SKIM.

So please allow me to rephrase the question:

Does anyone know if there is a "MoCAN *type" product that will allow me to retain some semblance of factory function for the TJ cluster at the very least? I could probably Macguiver the rest, but it would be a bonus to be able to retain other relevant functions as well.

We could call it MoPCI (or MoCCD for earlier models)!
MontJKLT is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-18-2019, 03:24 PM
Rock God
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 840
Feedback: 0 reviews

Call Novak.
Alaska-HWY JK is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-18-2019, 03:47 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaska-HWY JK View Post
Call Novak.
Great idea! Actually, I started with Novak. They offer 2 solutions:

First: Upgrade the Jeep cluster to aftermarket - but I'm specifically looking for a way to retain the factory instrument cluster.

Second: Run the Jeep controller in tandem with the GM - but the referee I spoke to specifically told me I would fail if I did this. He stated I can only have one computer in the car. He told me "... absolutely no piggybacking of computers are allowed. It is an instant fail..."
MontJKLT is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-19-2019, 02:22 PM
JKowners Vendor
 
0lllllll0 RPMEXTREME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Age: 43
Posts: 695
Feedback: 2 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by MontJKLT View Post
Great idea! Actually, I started with Novak. They offer 2 solutions:

First: Upgrade the Jeep cluster to aftermarket - but I'm specifically looking for a way to retain the factory instrument cluster.

Second: Run the Jeep controller in tandem with the GM - but the referee I spoke to specifically told me I would fail if I did this. He stated I can only have one computer in the car. He told me "... absolutely no piggybacking of computers are allowed. It is an instant fail..."
How would they know if you still had the Jeep PCM in the Jeep? Move it or cover it, it would only be running the gauges. I don't understand why they would let you have a aftermarket module run the gauges but not allow a factory module to run them.

I don't know of anyone making anything the works with PCI or serial communications. If you find something please let us know.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
your offroad connection to the best southern off road Jeep parts in Alabama
0lllllll0 RPMEXTREME is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome