GPS mounting ideas? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 04-30-2009, 07:28 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
cbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Moultrie, GA
Age: 42
Posts: 116
Feedback: 0 reviews
GPS mounting ideas?

Anyone have a good idea OTHER THAN windshield? I'm kinda interested in a custom bracket like Bracketron, Ram, etc. Pics? Thanks.

07 Sahara Unlimited, Jeep Green Metallic
cbass is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 04-30-2009, 07:31 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Dr.Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hesperia Ca
Posts: 8,653
Garage
Feedback: 21 reviews

here is my RAM





www.jeepasylum.com
Dr.Dirty is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 04-30-2009, 07:34 AM
Alec W
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

I have the same GPS on the windshield but I really like that idea Doc
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 04-30-2009, 07:44 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Dr.Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hesperia Ca
Posts: 8,653
Garage
Feedback: 21 reviews

works great and you can get it just right so its not in the way at all

i also have this mount on my roackhard dash bar if i need the gps closer

one for my gps



the one for my xm


www.jeepasylum.com
Dr.Dirty is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-01-2009, 06:51 AM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Round Rock Tx
Posts: 114
Feedback: 0 reviews

I used a pro fit cell phone mount for mine. it mounts it right beside the radio
PB Foot is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-01-2009, 11:00 AM
JKO Addict!
 
venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: East of Abilene, TX
Posts: 6,381
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to venom

I have a garmin GPS 60C, same shape n size as that one, I used a cell phone belt mount, the kind with the little button that slides into a clip and the button screws into the gps and then just mounted the belt clip to the dash.
Hard to explain without pics, I'll post them when we get back from Katemcy.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by My Wife
I might just go crazy and kill you in your sleep, instead of just planning it.
venom is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-01-2009, 11:39 AM
Ipe
Rock God
 
Ipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The state where liberty died
Age: 51
Posts: 1,599
Feedback: 0 reviews

Here with the 60Cx too. Its a nice unit and I've been very happy with it overall. I used a combination of a Cool Tech mount and a Garmin cradle mount for mine. I wanted it up and insight so I didn't need to look away from the road/trail as much.

Overall the setup is good, but not as rock solid as I'd like it.







To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ipe is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-01-2009, 02:49 PM
Wheeler
 
JK Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Navarre, FL
Posts: 15
Feedback: 0 reviews

This is pretty simplistic, but I just used the disc that came with my TomTom and stuck it to the top left on the dash above the radio. It's rock solid and the suction cup mount sticks without any problems. I tucked the power cord in the seam that runs down the center dash to the left of the radio.

I too wanted a fancy mount at one point but the disc is working out great.
JK Jim is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-01-2009, 02:57 PM
JKO Addict!
 
N2rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Age: 54
Posts: 3,887
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK Jim View Post
This is pretty simplistic, but I just used the disc that came with my TomTom and stuck it to the top left on the dash above the radio. It's rock solid and the suction cup mount sticks without any problems. I tucked the power cord in the seam that runs down the center dash to the left of the radio.

I too wanted a fancy mount at one point but the disc is working out great.
Right there with ya! I had intended for it to be a temporary solution until I found something better. But I like it there
N2rock is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-05-2009, 07:43 AM
Rock God
 
jkdrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 712
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

I use a standard flush-mount RAM mount (screwed into the dash, as no adhesive solution works in the heat we get here), with a cradle designed for my GPS.





!c
jkdrone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome