Power Bulkheads and secondary fuse box - anyone? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 04-24-2009, 11:43 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Age: 45
Posts: 14
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to orcusomega
Power Bulkheads and secondary fuse box - anyone?

I am a gadget head, in a bug way. I am in the process of adding power goodies to my JK, and I noticed that the fuse block is under the hood - I am not crazy about routing wiring through the firewall if I can help it, so I was thinking about the following:

I want to pick up 3 power bulkheads, one for negative, one for switched power, one for batt power. Run these through the bulkheads (they require a 1 1/4" hole per, but have a stud on both sides, so there is no leakage and no chance of chaffing and grounding out) from the engine compartment into the passenger compartment. Then, I have a fuse block that is 1/2 and 1/2 - make one half switched and the other have always on. The ground bulkhead is for a direct run from my power inverter to both the positive and negative terminals. Under the hood I would use a relay that I would be able to do switched power from the battery as well.

This is obviously a short version of what I am up to, but the short version is this - everything has a fuse, gets as clean of power is possible, and is not likely to fray, short, etc.

Anyone have any comments or suggestions? Most of what will be going through this setup will be accessories (backup lights, light bar, power mods, etc).

Comments welcome,

Bob
orcusomega is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-24-2009, 12:00 PM
Granite Guru
 
Harley0706's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ʎʇıɔ sɐsuɐʞ
Posts: 130
Feedback: 0 reviews

Someone on here as done something very similar. Let me see if I can find it.

-Josh

2009 Unlimited, Black
Purchased 3-31-2009

RC Crawler Specialist
Harley0706 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-24-2009, 12:20 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,230
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to WTF_LOL

instead of running three wires couldn't you run just a single "hot" wire then use relays for the switched power?

YOu can also find good ground locations inside the cab. I belive there is a ground stud somewhere in the passenger foot well.

Might help make your setup a little cleaner
WTF_LOL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 04-24-2009, 06:16 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Age: 45
Posts: 14
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to orcusomega

Thanks for the info - I thought of that after I posted and actually started diagramming it out - it was definately a forehead slapper... There is a stud roght in the footwell where I have started attaching already - I was thinking the dedicated ground stud just for the ac converter, but I doubt that matters much in the long run...
orcusomega is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome