LED Installation - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 04-21-2009, 08:03 PM Thread Starter

LED Installation

Hi, First of all let me say hello everyone. Im looking for some help with my LED installation. I bought some LEDs to put in that hook up through the cigarete lighter. How can I wire it so it wont need to be plugged into the the lighter port. Keep in mind, Im a senior in high school, so Im a novice. Thanks for the help in advance.

Here are some pics of what I have right now.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 04-21-2009, 09:21 PM
JKO Addict!

Send a message via Yahoo to rob4607

Not a big deal, hack the plug off of the end, it may have a fuse in the plug, if it does get a small inline fuse holder from radio shack or somewhere and install it on the positive feed. Even if it doesn't have a fuse put one on so it doesnt short, small amp fuse for the lights. Anyway take the positive and hook it up to the positive wire on the back of the cig lighter harnes and the other wire is the ground. Basically the center pin of the plug is positive and the outside is the ground, on the cig lighter the center is positive and the outside is the negative. be sure to try to fuse it, they may take a 5 ot 10 amp fuse at the most but I dout it will be much, the cig lighters are 20 25 amp fused so if the lights short it will probably not be enough to pop the fuse but it will be enough to cause serious issues. Hope this helps, looks good by the way.

A cooler place to tap in for the lights would be the ac control lights that way you can dim them when you want.