Rubicon Swaybar / Factory Lockers - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 09-11-2012, 09:54 AM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
ArticRubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Somerville, MA
Age: 36
Posts: 739
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews
Rubicon Swaybar / Factory Lockers

Some searching didn't render much on this topic, so I'll float it out there. I'm pulling the stock 44's and going to a set of one tons, also taking out the Rubi sway bar disconnect for an AntiRock. I'm a fan of keeping the interior clean and appearing factory (notwithstanding the roll cage, sPod, CB, Raptor liner, and Atlas shifters of course) Does anyone know if the lower switch cluster ('08) that has the lockers, swaybar, ESP, hazzard, ect, can be switched over to a standard model switch cluster as a simple plug-and-play? I'm wondering if the wiring harness is different, or do they all have the same. Also, any additional programming required to keep the canbus happy?

Yeah, I know its some nitpicky chit, but we like what we like, right?
ArticRubi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-11-2012, 05:47 PM
Granite Guru
 
Alter Ego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 494
Feedback: 0 reviews

Yes it will plug in but will require turning off the lockers and smartbar at the dealer. Also, remove the connector that goes to your smartbar and leave about 6 inches of wire on the plug. Cap the vehicle side wires with waterproofed wire caps. If you leave the connector on the vehicle, it can cause canbus communication problems even the smartbar option is turned off.

Someone may need your connector because they bashed theirs.

KD8NHC
08 4 Door Rubicon
Member of Two Trackers 4wd Club
Great Lakes Four Wheel Drive Association
United Four Wheel Drive Associations
Alter Ego is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-11-2012, 06:29 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
ArticRubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Somerville, MA
Age: 36
Posts: 739
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

Cool, thanks for the info. So the harness for the smartbar has to be cut out? I was hoping for another multi-pin connector on the ECU side.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ArticRubi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 09-25-2012, 12:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Feedback: 0 reviews

how much for the smartbar?
amel22 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-25-2012, 02:14 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
ArticRubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Somerville, MA
Age: 36
Posts: 739
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

PM an offer


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ArticRubi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome