Best windshield lights? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 51 Old 08-23-2012, 11:14 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler

Best windshield lights?

All,
Been reading quite a bit about windshield lights, but having trouble determining what I need because everyone's situation seems a little different.

I'm new to the jeep and don't do any significant wheeling(yet) but spend plenty of time on unlit mountain roads and some back-woods driving. Looking for some additional long-throw lighting to be mounted at the windshield, ideally connected to highbeams and coming on automatically.

Recommendations on best option? See a lot of people going to D2's, but wasn't sure how their range compairs to a traditional halogen or HID spot. I prefer the look of something like the IPF's, but could be talked into D2's if they're best for my needs.

So what is best option for long range, and for being able to hook in(hopefully SOMEone makes plug and play) with my high beams? I'd really prefer not to need a separate switch in the cabin.

Thanks for your help,
Jason
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 51 Old 08-23-2012, 11:53 AM
Wheeler

D2s are made in America and are brighter then you can imagine. D2s have my vote
post #3 of 51 Old 08-23-2012, 06:13 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler

I don't doubt the brightness, but are the "spot" versions focused enough to outperform more traditional spots?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 51 Old 08-23-2012, 09:36 PM
Granite Guru

Absolutely. I didn't bother with the spots, I have the driving pattern (combo of spot and flood.)

Can see for a mile with them. Amazing lights. Going to get another two sets, one set for the bumper and another for the rear.
post #5 of 51 Old 08-23-2012, 09:53 PM
Wheeler

Go with the D2s. You won't be sorry. I personally do not think you will need a light that projects long distances unless you are moving at higher rate of speed. The D2s do everything I have needed them to do.