Removing the Stock infinity system ?'s... - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 04-07-2009, 11:43 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
JKrazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yorba Linda, Ca
Posts: 1,333
Garage
Feedback: 13 reviews
Removing the Stock infinity system ?'s...

I am in the process of installing a new stereo system due to the total unreliability of the Mygig unit. I have purchased a new Pioneer Premier avic f90bt. I will be installing an Alpine pdx5 in the factory amp location, which leads me to my question...

Will I need to buy the Metra canbus harness if I plan to remove the factory amp, or can I use the standard non-can bus harness? I'm just trying to get all of my ducks in a row, & I appreciate the info!


Brandon

'07 2 door Rubicon Steel Blue & Black 2 Tone
PROUD to be an
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JKrazed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-08-2009, 04:57 AM
JKO Addict!
 
JohnnyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Age: 44
Posts: 2,293
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyWalker

What sort of issues did you have with the MyGig? Are you going to sell it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gotlime? View Post
Did you just search for "gay" or "halo" and bump those threads?
JohnnyWalker is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-08-2009, 05:28 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Dr.Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hesperia Ca
Posts: 8,653
Garage
Feedback: 21 reviews

if you are going to bypass the amp you can just use the normal harness and just run new speaker wire to each speaker

that is what i am going to do i run the canbus harness now and it sounds like **** if you ask me

www.jeepasylum.com
Dr.Dirty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 04-08-2009, 10:28 AM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
JKrazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yorba Linda, Ca
Posts: 1,333
Garage
Feedback: 13 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyWalker View Post
What sort of issues did you have with the MyGig? Are you going to sell it?
I already did. My problem was the flash to add the Mygig wouldnt take for more than 2 weeks, so the can bus and mygig didn't talk all the time. My radio was brand new too, and it was a real PITA to reset the computer everytime I wanted to use the radio.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Dirty View Post
if you are going to bypass the amp you can just use the normal harness and just run new speaker wire to each speaker

that is what i am going to do i run the canbus harness now and it sounds like **** if you ask me
Good deal, I've asked several people and got conflicting answers all around. This is what I thought too. I appreciate the first hand info, Dirty.

'07 2 door Rubicon Steel Blue & Black 2 Tone
PROUD to be an
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JKrazed is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-08-2009, 12:23 PM
JKO Addict!
 
usmcdoc14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norfawk, va
Posts: 3,881
Feedback: 1 reviews

run new everything. why upgrade the head unit and amp and be stuck with crappy wire.

Is that amp going to fit there? the factory amp is tiny.
usmcdoc14 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-08-2009, 12:26 PM
JKO Addict!
 
Dr.Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hesperia Ca
Posts: 8,653
Garage
Feedback: 21 reviews

im just going to leave the factory amp in place and run all new power ignition and speaker wires

www.jeepasylum.com
Dr.Dirty is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-08-2009, 12:38 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
JKrazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yorba Linda, Ca
Posts: 1,333
Garage
Feedback: 13 reviews

It's the smallest 5 channel amp that I've found, and I've heard that it fits there no problem. There's actually a decent amount of room down there, and the pdx5 has front end controls, so all you have to do is pop the panel to adjust the sound. It should be well protected from the weather and from POS thieves too. I'm trying to make this install as hidden as possible for both of those reasons.

Thanks again for the info fellas.

'07 2 door Rubicon Steel Blue & Black 2 Tone
PROUD to be an
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JKrazed is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-08-2009, 12:41 PM
JKO Addict!
 
Dr.Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hesperia Ca
Posts: 8,653
Garage
Feedback: 21 reviews

make sure you post good pics

www.jeepasylum.com
Dr.Dirty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome