What are these wires under top panel - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 06-20-2012, 12:21 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
j-rod17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Farmington WV
Age: 38
Posts: 1,520
Feedback: 4 reviews
What are these wires under top panel

going out to install the CB. removed the top panel over the CD Unit...and found a plug not in use with three wires. Red/Yellow, Black, and White/Green.

What are these for?!

I thought of cutting the plug off and wiring my CB to the power and ground.
j-rod17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 06-20-2012, 12:47 PM
Gunnery Sergeant USMC (ret)
 
Uncle Sams Misguided Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tucson AZ
Age: 52
Posts: 21,992
Feedback: 8 reviews

do you have the directional finder thing under there?


Quote:
Originally Posted by lohchief View Post
If people don't take a stand now,you'll be bitches under their thumbs tomorrow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
I think too much of a pressure variant between Earth and outer-space... lack of oxygen... something like that.
Uncle Sams Misguided Child is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 06-20-2012, 12:48 PM
JKO Addict!
 
Goodysgotacuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 13,230
Feedback: 1 reviews

Mine doesn't have that thing. Navi I assume.

SOLD - '09 2dr Rubicon - 1.0Gal | 6spd | 37s | 4.88s |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| OR-Fab cage | Poly Cage | BFH Front | XRC Rear | XRC12 Winch | Walker Evans Beadlocks |

Retired from the Jeep community, for now.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Goodysgotacuda is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 06-20-2012, 12:50 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
j-rod17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Farmington WV
Age: 38
Posts: 1,520
Feedback: 4 reviews

I do not. but that is the plug on the left side of the box in pic above. the top panel has the tabs to mount that. btu i dont have it.
j-rod17 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 06-20-2012, 12:53 PM
JKO Addict!
 
PhrogMech46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Temecula, CA
Age: 35
Posts: 2,263
Garage
Feedback: 6 reviews

Its for the MyGig, did you buy used? Its the GPS antenna.

The duty of a patriot is to protect his country from its government.-Thomas Paine

See Garage for Mods
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by PhrogMech46; 06-20-2012 at 12:56 PM.
PhrogMech46 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 06-20-2012, 12:57 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
j-rod17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Farmington WV
Age: 38
Posts: 1,520
Feedback: 4 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhrogMech46 View Post
Its for the MyGig, did you buy used? Its the GPS antenna.
yes i bought used
j-rod17 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 06-20-2012, 12:58 PM
Granite Guru
 
BocaIvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 208
Feedback: 0 reviews

It's the compass on mine...
BocaIvan is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 06-20-2012, 01:00 PM
Rock God
 
JKsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Valhalla, New York
Posts: 1,127
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

Attached to the underside of the panel should be the compass. The gps for the mygig sits on the bottom corner with a little + sign. Both fit

"With all due respect sir, I believe this will be our finest hour"
JKsport is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 06-20-2012, 01:05 PM
JKO Addict!
 
PhrogMech46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Temecula, CA
Age: 35
Posts: 2,263
Garage
Feedback: 6 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by JKsport View Post
Attached to the underside of the panel should be the compass. The gps for the mygig sits on the bottom corner with a little + sign. Both fit
Oh shit your absolutely right i forgot about that when i swapped my radios.

The duty of a patriot is to protect his country from its government.-Thomas Paine

See Garage for Mods
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PhrogMech46 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 06-20-2012, 01:09 PM
JKO Addict!
 
gold knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dawsonville, Ga
Age: 53
Posts: 11,065
Garage
Feedback: 3 reviews

I read another thread where dude found the sub wire under the carpet in back and considered using it for something. Between the canbus and the fact all kinds of stuff can be disabled or enabled by flashing the ecm.... there's no way I would use an existing wire for anything.

........My other hobbies include: Older cars and trucks; Spending money on unfinished projects, and continuing to not finish them...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExWrench View Post
For my money, the most notable part of this thread is all the fallout from bsack's fortune cookie factory explosion.
gold knight is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 06-20-2012, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
j-rod17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Farmington WV
Age: 38
Posts: 1,520
Feedback: 4 reviews

yea. I am going to continue running the wires right to the battery as planned. just found that and got curious.
j-rod17 is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 06-20-2012, 04:46 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
j-rod17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Farmington WV
Age: 38
Posts: 1,520
Feedback: 4 reviews

new question instead of a new thread.


what size inline fuse should I run for the CB? Uniden 510? I cant find the specs online stating the amp draw on it.
j-rod17 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 06-20-2012, 08:33 PM
Granite Guru
 
spookylynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vail, Colorado
Age: 45
Posts: 459
Feedback: 2 reviews

I dont have the my gig thing or navigation. BUT,, I do have that thing... I think it's the antenna for satelite radio.
spookylynx is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 06-20-2012, 08:39 PM
Vin
Granite Guru
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Island
Posts: 250
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by j-rod17 View Post
going out to install the CB. removed the top panel over the CD Unit...and found a plug not in use with three wires. Red/Yellow, Black, and White/Green.

What are these for?!

I thought of cutting the plug off and wiring my CB to the power and ground.
It's for your compass. The one that lights up on your Odometer spot.
Vin is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 06-20-2012, 08:41 PM
JKO Addict!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Leon, Texas
Posts: 2,722
Feedback: 7 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to rob4607

It's for the compass as stated and the gps wires are right above your head.

2008 JK 4Dr Rubicon
Stone white
Mygig W/Uconnect working.
Hard top/Auto tranny
First mod, dog slobber.
Painted hard top
Spidertraxx 1.5 spacers
Teraflex 3" lift
Currie front lower control arms
JKS front and rear adj. track bars
Euroefx HID kit, high/low beam and fogs
Shrockworks rear full width, tire carrier

Post count from the "other" place when i was following the "herd" was 692 on 4-2-09, not a noob...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rob4607 is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 06-22-2012, 01:45 AM
Granite Guru
 
Heavy D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pueblo, CO
Posts: 476
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Yep that box is for the compass. The one on your instrument panel that displays the direction you are heading.

Ron
Heavy D is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome