MyGig/Uconnect Activation w/ Bluetooth - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 05-11-2012, 07:36 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler

MyGig/Uconnect Activation w/ Bluetooth

Hey all, newbie here. So the dealership said it will cost about $500 to activate the uConnect on my 08 Jeep JK Sahara. I have the MyGig touchscreen with nav. I would love to get the hands free bluetooth going. From looking at the forum it seems that I can just buy a mic and get to the engineering menu to activate. When I hit the uconnect button it says it isn't available or recognized. The question is, do I also need a bluetooth connection kit? Or is that already installed on the MyGig system for my Jeep? Thanks for the responses.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 05-11-2012, 07:45 AM
Granite Guru

I ended up having to install a lockpick on my head unit along with the Chrysler mic. That unlocked the Bluetooth and gave me iPod controls.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
post #3 of 16 Old 05-11-2012, 07:56 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler

Okay, so the bluetooth is installed, I just need to find a way to unlock it? Wondering why the dealership quoted over $500.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 Old 05-11-2012, 08:11 AM
Rock God

Garage

I forgot what the buttons to press to get into the programming mode, but all I did was bought a $20 mic from costal tech and turned on the u-connect on the radio. $20, or $500... Seems like an easy choice. I'm sure the instructions are on this site somewhere. If not, I know they're on Jeepforum.

2008 JKU Rubicon. 2.5" Rock Krawler Stock Mod lift, 35x12.50x15 Cooper STT's on Pro-Comp D-windows, 5:13 gears, Uconnect Microphone mod, Husky Floor Liners, Mastercraft Grab Handles, Weathertech Side Window Deflectors, Hitch mounted D-Ring, Rancho Oil Pan Skid, Skid Row Evap Can Skid, and a Rugged Ridge Front Skid. Solid Diff Covers front and rear. Rock Slide Engineering Sliders.