sPOD Switch Panel Alt Location - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 Old 05-07-2012, 01:06 PM Thread Starter
JKowners Vendor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 2,961
Feedback: 7 reviews
sPOD Switches Alt Location

Rebels,
More often than not, a customer will have their GPS (Lowrance for example) mounted in the typical sPOD switch panel location.

When that happens - we start cutting. Super easy and looks great.
Attached Images
 
REBEL OFFROAD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 05-07-2012, 01:21 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 52
Feedback: 1 reviews

Is that the panel that is under the steering column? It looks nice and clean.
rynomar is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 05-07-2012, 01:25 PM Thread Starter
JKowners Vendor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 2,961
Feedback: 7 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by rynomar View Post
Is that the panel that is under the steering column? It looks nice and clean.
Correct. Acres of room back there and the sPOD's harness makes life soooo simple.
REBEL OFFROAD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 Old 05-07-2012, 01:58 PM
JKO Addict!
 
bnb2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 2,276
Feedback: 0 reviews

Ok. Dumb question here. You are saying that is the spod switch panel mounted underneath the steering wheel? So that is not a different switch panel?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bnb2010 is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 05-07-2012, 02:06 PM Thread Starter
JKowners Vendor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 2,961
Feedback: 7 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by bnb2010 View Post
Ok. Dumb question here. You are saying that is the spod switch panel mounted underneath the steering wheel? So that is not a different switch panel?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I'll clarify - it's the sPOD switch cluster moved to a different (factory) panel.
REBEL OFFROAD is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 05-07-2012, 02:16 PM
JKO Addict!
 
bnb2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 2,276
Feedback: 0 reviews

Ok thanks. Just didnt look like the same cluster. Great job looks great.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bnb2010 is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 05-07-2012, 09:25 PM
Rock God
 
O2BDrty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 820
Feedback: 0 reviews

Isn't that a little difficult to get to when driving?

I'm sure I'll think of something
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
O2BDrty is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 05-08-2012, 07:08 AM Thread Starter
JKowners Vendor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 2,961
Feedback: 7 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by O2BDrty View Post
Isn't that a little difficult to get to when driving?
It really isn't bad, and most accessories like off road lighting don't require constant or continual monitoring. Meaning if your front floods are on, they can probably be on for a period of time. You wouldn't be reaching for the switches non stop.
REBEL OFFROAD is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 05-08-2012, 07:21 AM
JKO Addict!
 
jeeperjkj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Browns Mills, NJ
Age: 43
Posts: 6,233
Garage
Feedback: 7 reviews

Mmmm... 6 MORE switches...


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Killing kids is a disgrace, i don't care how little they are.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jeeperjkj is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 05-08-2012, 07:22 AM
Rock God
 
DisaMent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cape Fear, N.C.
Posts: 763
Garage
Feedback: 2 reviews

Definitely a nice looking setup. I imagine initially there would be a steep learning curve since the switches can't be visually identified while driving, but this would pass over time.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Disabled & Mental
U.S. Army Veteran

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
~
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
~
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DisaMent is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 05-08-2012, 08:28 AM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 52
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeeperjkj View Post
Mmmm... 6 MORE switches...
Yep, that is what I was thinking

Great idea by the way. I had that panel off this last weekend and was impressed with the space back there.
rynomar is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 05-08-2012, 12:15 PM
'merica
 
AvnxScout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Democratic Peoples Republic of California
Age: 43
Posts: 2,237
Feedback: 0 reviews

hmmmm 2 sPODs


U.S. Army

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

KJ6OIT
AvnxScout is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 05-08-2012, 09:29 PM
Vin
Granite Guru
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Island
Posts: 250
Feedback: 0 reviews

Why won't they make one that replaces the top of the center section of the dash? ::sigh::
Vin is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 05-08-2012, 11:54 PM
Granite Guru
 
MrCourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 103
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vin View Post
Why won't they make one that replaces the top of the center section of the dash? ::sigh::
+1 x2
MrCourtney is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 05-09-2012, 10:55 AM
JKO Addict!
 
jeeperjkj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Browns Mills, NJ
Age: 43
Posts: 6,233
Garage
Feedback: 7 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by rynomar View Post
Yep, that is what I was thinking

Great idea by the way. I had that panel off this last weekend and was impressed with the space back there.


Quote:
Originally Posted by AvnxScout View Post
hmmmm 2 sPODs
Yeah, I was thinkin' the same thing, but I'm thinking of possibly getting one two of these for my ARB lockers. That'll free up two switches. I'm not sure I'd need more than that.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Killing kids is a disgrace, i don't care how little they are.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jeeperjkj is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 05-10-2012, 10:22 AM
JKO Addict!
 
jeeperjkj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Browns Mills, NJ
Age: 43
Posts: 6,233
Garage
Feedback: 7 reviews

Sorry, Rebel.... I didn't mean to kill the thread.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Killing kids is a disgrace, i don't care how little they are.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jeeperjkj is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 12-07-2012, 11:01 AM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 131
Feedback: 0 reviews

Rebel, sent you a pm about where the source for the spod was located for this....not sure if it was a second set of 6 switches or just an alternative mounting location from above the rearview mirror.

also throwing it out there to anyone with a second spod where to mount the second source under the hood??
njbeachrat is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 12-07-2012, 11:05 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Gotlime?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,708
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by njbeachrat View Post
Rebel, sent you a pm about where the source for the spod was located for this....not sure if it was a second set of 6 switches or just an alternative mounting location from above the rearview mirror.

also throwing it out there to anyone with a second spod where to mount the second source under the hood??
They said in the first post this was an alternative for folks who have a GPS in the "standard" spod location.

I'm sure someone has mounted 2 spods in a JK though.

08 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon: lift, wheels/tires, bumpers, skids, sliders, winch, lights, cb. All the normal stuff, plus some.......
Build thread:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gotlime? is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 12-07-2012, 01:19 PM Thread Starter
JKowners Vendor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 2,961
Feedback: 7 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by njbeachrat View Post
Rebel, sent you a pm about where the source for the spod was located for this....not sure if it was a second set of 6 switches or just an alternative mounting location from above the rearview mirror.

also throwing it out there to anyone with a second spod where to mount the second source under the hood??
The second source gets located on the 07-11 JK's on top of the battery with a bracket we fabricate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gotlime? View Post
They said in the first post this was an alternative for folks who have a GPS in the "standard" spod location.

I'm sure someone has mounted 2 spods in a JK though.
The second row (or first row) of switches goes underneath the steering column.
REBEL OFFROAD is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 12-07-2012, 01:56 PM
Wheeler
 
mud2moab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: currently Texas / USA
Age: 54
Posts: 45
Feedback: 0 reviews

where does the power for the spods come from without screwing with the canbus?

10' Jk smittybuilt bumpers and rails, bush wacker flat fenders, and 35x12.5 PITBULL radial Rockers
mud2moab is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 12-07-2012, 02:05 PM
JKO Addict!
 
Fklein6768's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central New Jersey
Age: 51
Posts: 4,828
Feedback: 6 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by mud2moab View Post
where does the power for the spods come from without screwing with the canbus?

10' Jk smittybuilt bumpers and rails, bush wacker flat fenders, and 35x12.5 PITBULL radial Rockers
Wired direct to battery-

Is this thing on?

www.4x4s-pod.com
Fklein6768 is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 12-07-2012, 02:05 PM
Gunnery Sergeant USMC (ret)
 
Uncle Sams Misguided Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tucson AZ
Age: 52
Posts: 21,992
Feedback: 8 reviews

from SPod's website.

8 gauge power leads with crimped and soldered terminal for connection to the battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by lohchief View Post
If people don't take a stand now,you'll be bitches under their thumbs tomorrow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
I think too much of a pressure variant between Earth and outer-space... lack of oxygen... something like that.
Uncle Sams Misguided Child is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome