Voltage drop off - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 Old 03-12-2009, 11:02 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

Voltage drop off

Hey Everyone. First official post on this forum. Anyways, I was reading a prievious post where the OP was getting some expert advice. So I thought that this was the place I needed to be. I'm an AC electrician. Been in the business a long time. I have been doing electrical mods to my 07 2 door X when I ran across a situation that I am unfamiluar with. I did a "rock light / convienance light" mod where I picked up the dome light circuit to trigger on of my relays. Everything works as expected untill the voltage begins to fade down due to the "dimm to off" function of the dome light. Is there an easy way to get the relay to drop out as the voltage begins to fall off.
Thanks in advance
Randy

P.S.: I have an inline fuse at the connection point where I picked up the dome light circuit. And I have an in-line diode at the relay And using a standard 12v automitive relay.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 03-12-2009, 11:30 AM
Rock God

Garage

There are a couple of ways you can go about this. The first, and most simple is to apply enough resistance to the relay coil input that you're getting _just enough_ voltage to trigger it at the 14V of a fully-charged battery (or an actual 12V if the circuit is only pushing 12V). Of course, if the coil its self is putting load on the line (not that likely), you might need to increase the hysteresis, or have it switches back and forth a few times.

You can also use a transistor -- since the base current modulates the collector-emitter current, you could design a circuit in such a way that a slight drop in the base voltage is enough to switch off the junction.

!c
post #3 of 19 Old 03-12-2009, 11:30 AM
Granite Guru

There are 2 ways they could be dimming the dome light, and I don't know which way they use.