CB antenna ground? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 03-20-2011, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 28
Feedback: 0 reviews
CB antenna ground?

I'm working on mounting my first CB in my JK and I had a question. I think I'm at the point where I have read every CB thread out there, but can't seem to find the answer. I have a Connex 3400HP, Firestix antenna, and I'm using the truck stop mirror mount on the license plate. There is currently no ground for the mount which is on plastic or for the antenna. So do I need to ground the antenna, the mount, both or neither?

Thanks

Current JK
2013 JK Sport S
6spd

Past JK
2007 JK Unlimited Sahara
4.10's stock
6spd
Custom muffler relocated
33x12.50/15 BFG AT TKO's
Procomp 15" steelies
pookie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-22-2011, 12:31 PM
Granite Guru
 
oO_Rogue_Oo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pearl MS
Posts: 415
Feedback: 0 reviews

Ground the mount for best results.

2008 Rubicon 2 Dr 6 speed
Stone White
oO_Rogue_Oo is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 03-22-2011, 03:46 PM
JKO Addict!
 
desert dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oildale
Posts: 2,585
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

No, there is no antenna ground wire. Many mistakingly believe that the little wires at the base of some antennas (like the Wilsons) are a ground, but they are not.

Just make sure that the metal mount is firmly attached to the metal on the Jeep and that your washer stack is in the correct sequence. Also make sure that the antenna wire is not coiled and that your radio has a clean ground and power source.
desert dog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 03-22-2011, 03:58 PM
zjr
JKO Addict!
 
zjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Inside my beard.
Posts: 3,692
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

It all depends on the antenna you got. Does it SPECIFICALLY say "No ground plane"?

If not, then you need to ground the mount.

01111001011011110111010100100000011011000110111101 11001101110100001000000111010001101000011001010010 000001100111011000010110110101100101

Quote:
Originally Posted by caligirl View Post
James just came a little early......
Quote:
Originally Posted by njjk08 View Post
...May 2011 bless everyone with pervert wheeling days...
zjr is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-22-2011, 04:38 PM
JKO Addict!
 
desert dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oildale
Posts: 2,585
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by zjr View Post
It all depends on the antenna you got. Does it SPECIFICALLY say "No ground plane"?
The Firestick does not need to be grounded.
desert dog is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-29-2011, 10:17 AM
Granite Guru
 
Res6cue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Age: 54
Posts: 263
Garage
Feedback: 2 reviews

You might want to consider changing your mount. I just installed a Ultramount from Cool Tech LLC.

http://www.cooltechllc.com/jeep/jk_ultramount.shtml

It is designed to mount a FireStick to the rear license plate mount of the JK. The instructions are great. The ground for the bracket is done through the mounting bolt. They even recommend "roughing up" the finish under where the fender washer & nut go for the mount.

'13 JKU Rubicon - 3" Teraflex Lift w/ 8 Flexarms, LoD Rock Sliders, Poison Spyder Evap Skid, Nitto Trail Grappler 35x12.5x17

'12 JK Artic - 2" RE Lift, Poison Spyder Knockers, Surprise Straps Grab Handles
Res6cue is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 05-09-2011, 10:40 PM
Rock God
 
jrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Age: 43
Posts: 1,195
Feedback: 1 reviews

There are antennas made to run without a ground but they must be run with a special cable that grounds back through the CB. You cannot say a "Firestick" does not need a ground because they make them both ways. I have a Firestick and it grounds through the mount as most antennas do.

Definately check the mount as the placement of the nylon insulator is VERY important
jrider is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 05-09-2011, 11:03 PM
JKO Addict!
 
desert dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oildale
Posts: 2,585
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrider View Post
There are antennas made to run without a ground but they must be run with a special cable that grounds back through the CB. You cannot say a "Firestick" does not need a ground because they make them both ways. I have a Firestick and it grounds through the mount as most antennas do.
Firestik on JK does not need a ground. Mount needs to be grounded.
desert dog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome