Will this schematic work for mood lighting? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 03-11-2011, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada.
Age: 35
Posts: 99
Feedback: 0 reviews
Will this schematic work for mood lighting?

Here's what I'm trying to do. I want to have the LED's in my footwells come on when I open the doors (when the dome/courtesy lights come one). I also want to be able to have JUST the footwell lights come on while the key is in the on position and for the footwell lights to be dimmable using a seperate dimmer (not the dimmer for the dash lights). I do not want the dome/courtesy lights on at this time (doors closed). Will this schematic work??

Menard666 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 03-11-2011, 07:14 PM
JKO Addict!
 
bodyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Shit Creek, Texas
Age: 42
Posts: 4,013
Feedback: 0 reviews

yup


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodyguy is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 03-11-2011, 07:20 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada.
Age: 35
Posts: 99
Feedback: 0 reviews

Thanks!
Menard666 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 03-11-2011, 07:43 PM
Rock God
 
Stopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Age: 39
Posts: 969
Feedback: 0 reviews

You electrical guys amaze me.

08 "X", RC BB, 33" Duratracs, Coast 1310 front, Hellfires, Woods evap relo.
Stopher is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 03-11-2011, 09:32 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada.
Age: 35
Posts: 99
Feedback: 0 reviews

I'm not an electrical guy at all..hahah. Just to update though, that schematic did not work for me. I have the dimmer switch from Oznium, and with the first diagram the courtesy light circuit would not activate the footwell LED's. With the key on it worked fine, but as soon as it lost the +12V, the LED's would go out. I fixed it by running another wire from the courtesy circuit to the input side of the dimmer and adding another diode.

Results of this new schematic are as follows:

With the key off, footwell LED's function with the courtesy light circuit (on when doors are unlocked, on when doors are opened.

With the key on, courtesy lights go out but footwell LED's remain lit.

Dimmer has full control of the footwell LED's.

When the courtesy lights turn on, the footwell LED's remain dimmed to where you set them.

The only glitch I am seeing is that the "auto dim" feature on the courtesy circuit makes the footwell LED's flicker as it dims out. Not a concern to me, but thought I would mention it.

New working schematic:

Menard666 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 03-11-2011, 09:44 PM
JKO Addict!
 
bodyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Shit Creek, Texas
Age: 42
Posts: 4,013
Feedback: 0 reviews

I wonder if it has something to do with the ground going through the dimmer.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodyguy is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 03-11-2011, 10:03 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada.
Age: 35
Posts: 99
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by bodyguy View Post
I wonder if it has something to do with the ground going through the dimmer.
If I ground the output side of the dimmer to the chassis all of the LED's get full power, it acts as if the dimmer isn't there. I'm not sure exactly how the dimmer works.

This is the dimmer I have:

h t t p://www.oznium.com/rotary-led-dimmer
Menard666 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 03-12-2011, 10:17 PM
JKO Addict!
 
bodyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Shit Creek, Texas
Age: 42
Posts: 4,013
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Menard666 View Post
If I ground the output side of the dimmer to the chassis all of the LED's get full power, it acts as if the dimmer isn't there. I'm not sure exactly how the dimmer works.

This is the dimmer I have:

h t t p://www.oznium.com/rotary-led-dimmer
that makes sense

might be a bit much but you could use the dome light power wire to trigger a relay that would add a ground when only the dome circuit is on.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodyguy is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 03-12-2011, 10:53 PM
Rock God
 
enigmaverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Age: 45
Posts: 1,707
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Menard666 View Post
If I ground the output side of the dimmer to the chassis all of the LED's get full power, it acts as if the dimmer isn't there. I'm not sure exactly how the dimmer works.

This is the dimmer I have:

http://www.oznium.com/rotary-led-dimmer
no need to break your links up here... your allowed to link to products and businesses.

Joe -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
enigmaverse is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 03-13-2011, 06:47 AM
Wheeler
 
Discombobulated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: About as far NW as you can get in Arkansas
Posts: 76
Feedback: 0 reviews

do Diode's work with dimmers? I thought they needed constant voltage to work.
Discombobulated is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 03-13-2011, 07:20 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada.
Age: 35
Posts: 99
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by bodyguy View Post
that makes sense

might be a bit much but you could use the dome light power wire to trigger a relay that would add a ground when only the dome circuit is on.
I was actually thinking of this afterwards. I may add one in the future, going to run it as is for now and make sure everything is going to work and not burn up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by enigmaverse View Post
no need to break your links up here... your allowed to link to products and businesses.
Wasn't sure, thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Discombobulated View Post
do Diode's work with dimmers? I thought they needed constant voltage to work.
I'm not sure, have to read up on it, but as of right now I can tell you that the diodes are working for now. They are 1n4001, and there are three in my circuit.
Menard666 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 03-13-2011, 09:43 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Broncojohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas
Age: 46
Posts: 2,522
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Discombobulated View Post
do Diode's work with dimmers? I thought they needed constant voltage to work.
It's a pulsed circuit. LED's don't really dim, but you can get them to turn on and off fast enough to look dim.

Obama, The greatest gun salesman since the invention of firearms.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jscwerve View Post
This is exactly why we need to practice proper gun control.

If he was aiming down the sights correctly and had plenty of practice rounds under his belt, there would only be one side of this story.
Broncojohn is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 03-13-2011, 09:51 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada.
Age: 35
Posts: 99
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncojohn View Post
It's a pulsed circuit. LED's don't really dim, but you can get them to turn on and off fast enough to look dim.
You are right. I can notice no flicker. I assume a standard AC dimmer would not work with LED's. This one is specific for LED's, so it must increase the pulse width modulation. Either way, the effect it gives is the dimming of the LED's and that all I care about.
Menard666 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome