CB install problems // SWR readings off the high end - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old 02-13-2011, 05:42 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

Garage
CB install problems // SWR readings off the high end

I just got done with the install of my Cobra 75 wx st, Firestick antenna and Teraflex mount on the tailgate. I ran the coax, verified the continuity of the core and the shielding.

When I hook up the SWR meter to the setup I get a reading off the right end of the meter on both settings.

I have extensive 12V knowledge, but I don't know where to begin with the 'tuning' aspect of the antenna. BTW I bought the whole set up from right channel. . . . .

thanks for any advice!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 02-13-2011, 05:53 PM
JKO Addict!

Garage

I just asked our local CB guru the exact same question right before I saw your post.

I know a bad ground can cause it, but that's not my problem. I"m thinking maybe my radio is fried. I got is used so who knows. I'll let you know what he tells me and maybe that will help you.
post #3 of 21 Old 02-13-2011, 06:28 PM
j2k
Wheeler

I had issues with mine when I first put it on as shipped (not awful, not great) so I took off the power coat where the antenna metal touched it and again where the bolts went though it into the door so they'd have a ground path.

Perfect signal after that.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 21 Old 02-13-2011, 06:30 PM
JKO Addict!

Garage

I'll tell ya what he told me. Get a quality grounding strap and make sure the tailgate has a REALLY good ground. He also said that all of a sudden he was getting bad readings with his Firestick. He switched back to a Wilson and now he's getting great readings.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.