Atlas II, need to make it think its in 4wd... - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 01-01-2011, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 32
Feedback: 0 reviews
Atlas II, need to make it think its in 4wd...

Ok I am wanting to wire it up so that I can flip a swich to make the jeep think its in low range. I figure there is a way to do this with the stock shift indicator from the rock-trac. But I was hoping some of you may know how to do this. I was thinking that I could just splice into the pig-tail somewhere with a toggle and it would trick the jeep, allowing the lockers and sway-bars to work.

Any thought?
Action Fab is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 01-01-2011, 01:32 PM
JKO Addict!
 
Goodysgotacuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 13,230
Feedback: 1 reviews

I believe people take the stock sensor/connector off the stock transfer case and just run it into the dash. But I may be wrong on that

SOLD - '09 2dr Rubicon - 1.0Gal | 6spd | 37s | 4.88s |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| OR-Fab cage | Poly Cage | BFH Front | XRC Rear | XRC12 Winch | Walker Evans Beadlocks |

Retired from the Jeep community, for now.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Goodysgotacuda is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 01-01-2011, 01:33 PM
Granite Guru
 
Hammered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Corona, Ca
Age: 38
Posts: 342
Feedback: 2 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Action Fab View Post
Ok I am wanting to wire it up so that I can flip a swich to make the jeep think its in low range. I figure there is a way to do this with the stock shift indicator from the rock-trac. But I was hoping some of you may know how to do this. I was thinking that I could just splice into the pig-tail somewhere with a toggle and it would trick the jeep, allowing the lockers and sway-bars to work.

Any thought?
Why don't you just wire each locker and and the sway bar to there own switches so that you can use each one separately at any time? The only problem is the lights will still blink indicating they are not locked, but they will be.
Hammered is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 01-01-2011, 01:34 PM
JKO Addict!
 
Goodysgotacuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 13,230
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammered View Post
Why don't you just wire each locker and and the sway bar to there own switches so that you can use each one separately at any time? The only problem is the lights will still blink indicating they are not locked, but they will be.
There is a different throttle response map when in 4-low that may be useful

SOLD - '09 2dr Rubicon - 1.0Gal | 6spd | 37s | 4.88s |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| OR-Fab cage | Poly Cage | BFH Front | XRC Rear | XRC12 Winch | Walker Evans Beadlocks |

Retired from the Jeep community, for now.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Goodysgotacuda is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 01-01-2011, 01:48 PM
Granite Guru
 
Hammered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Corona, Ca
Age: 38
Posts: 342
Feedback: 2 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goodysgotacuda View Post
There is a different throttle response map when in 4-low that may be useful
Isn't the different throttle response toned down in low range? These motors weak enough the last thing I would want is a slower throttle response in high range.
Hammered is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-01-2011, 01:50 PM
JKO Addict!
 
Goodysgotacuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 13,230
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammered View Post
Isn't the different throttle response toned down in low range? These motors weak enough the last thing I would want is a slower throttle response in high range.
Right that is what happens. But if he never tells the JK it's in 4-low it will keep the stock throttle response/mapping. Which is why I believe most keep the sensor/connector for the stock case and just switch it like an ignition switch into low.

Someone that has done it will chime in I'm sure

SOLD - '09 2dr Rubicon - 1.0Gal | 6spd | 37s | 4.88s |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| OR-Fab cage | Poly Cage | BFH Front | XRC Rear | XRC12 Winch | Walker Evans Beadlocks |

Retired from the Jeep community, for now.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Goodysgotacuda is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-01-2011, 02:06 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 32
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammered View Post
Why don't you just wire each locker and and the sway bar to there own switches so that you can use each one separately at any time? The only problem is the lights will still blink indicating they are not locked, but they will be.
Because the customer I am building the jeep for doesn't want blinking lights, Doesn't need front digs. He also wants the factory buttons to still work. What I am trying to do is allow him to push a "4wd" button and every thing work like it did from the factory.
Action Fab is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-02-2011, 07:09 AM
Granite Guru
 
JKDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Modesto, IL
Age: 66
Posts: 440
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Action Fab View Post
Ok I am wanting to wire it up so that I can flip a swich to make the jeep think its in low range. I figure there is a way to do this with the stock shift indicator from the rock-trac. But I was hoping some of you may know how to do this. I was thinking that I could just splice into the pig-tail somewhere with a toggle and it would trick the jeep, allowing the lockers and sway-bars to work.

Any thought?
There is a write up on the Atlas page showing how to make the jumper. This requires two 60 Ohm resisters in series and a 100 ohm resister to jump across the wires. The 100 ohm resister is not needed in the 2007 but is needed in later years. Instead of attaching this to the switch provided with the switch kit for the Atlas, simply wire it to an on/off switch and mount on your dash. You pull the wiring up along with the shift cables into the center console. You can mount you on/off switch on the console or dash. I have mine mounted on the left side of the dash along with an emergency vacuum pump to activate my brakes if my engine dies. (The system is part of our tow package for our motorhome.)

This will light up the 4WD light on your dash. According to Advance Adapters this is all that is required. I've been running this for two years without problems. When the switch is activated, the gas pedal sensitivity is changed and the ESP is disabled. The ABS continues to work.

"Old age and treachery will overcome youth and skill", Bob Arnett
JKDoc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome