esp light and no odometer - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old 09-29-2010, 05:21 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mayfield ,ky
Age: 44
Posts: 34
Feedback: 0 reviews
esp light and no odometer

ok so I have the esp/bas light is on, my odometer or nothing reads in there but seems to drive fine and everything else works?? I checked fuses...So now what> its on a 2008 jeep unlimitted x
frito is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 09-29-2010, 06:28 PM
Slow and Low
 
Co4Lo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Age: 46
Posts: 5,305
Feedback: 4 reviews

INTERESTING!

This is exactly what happens when ALL 4 ABS sensors are unplugged.
Since your speedo/odo will still work with at least one (any one) sensor connected, this would indicate that your problem is more centralized. Like a computer/fuse issue.
Check your ABS System fuse.
Let me know, as this could help me in something I am researching.
Co4Lo is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 09-29-2010, 06:59 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mayfield ,ky
Age: 44
Posts: 34
Feedback: 0 reviews

the abs light is on as of today, i checked the sensors they look fine, but not sure , if pcm was bad , or cluster bad, just wondered where to start
frito is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 Old 09-29-2010, 07:26 PM
Slow and Low
 
Co4Lo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Age: 46
Posts: 5,305
Feedback: 4 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by frito View Post
the abs light is on as of today, i checked the sensors they look fine, but not sure , if pcm was bad , or cluster bad, just wondered where to start
Aren't you under warranty?
Co4Lo is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 09-29-2010, 07:59 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mayfield ,ky
Age: 44
Posts: 34
Feedback: 0 reviews

im at 48000 miles
frito is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 09-29-2010, 08:14 PM
Rock God
 
block's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: maryland
Posts: 1,612
Feedback: 4 reviews

hmm interesting.. that happened to me once when i enter the wrong tire size with a programmer.. drove fine.. just no speedometer or mileage..everything went back to normal when i enter the correct tire size.... did you use any kind of programmer or anything,,,im guessing a computer issue.
block is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 09-29-2010, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mayfield ,ky
Age: 44
Posts: 34
Feedback: 0 reviews

i bought as a repo so who knows if it had or has a programmer?
frito is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 09-29-2010, 10:02 PM
Slow and Low
 
Co4Lo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Age: 46
Posts: 5,305
Feedback: 4 reviews

Is it lifted? Geared? Tires?
Co4Lo is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 09-30-2010, 05:25 AM
Rock God
 
neoxxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,776
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Disconnect the battery for 10 minutes and plug it back.
Many electronic problems go away after a battery/computer reset...
neoxxis is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 09-30-2010, 07:22 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mayfield ,ky
Age: 44
Posts: 34
Feedback: 0 reviews

no gears, but it does have like a 2.5 lift and 35,s, i tried unplugging the battery over night that didnt change anything
frito is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 09-30-2010, 10:52 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Low Country SC
Age: 51
Posts: 2,073
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to benmar2000

I would take it to the dealership and see if they can flash the computer for your.. Basically reset it and see if that fixes the issue..

Vote - Bacon for 2012!!!
Power to the People!!! Time for a Revolution!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcy View Post
roll, roll, roll your joint, twist is at the end, light it up and take a puff now pass it to a friend.
benmar2000 is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 10-01-2010, 07:05 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mayfield ,ky
Age: 44
Posts: 34
Feedback: 0 reviews

well today, the abs and esp lights go off, then later my speedo quit working,tach still works, and when you come to a stop fuel gauge goes to e, then raises back up? think its the cluster??
frito is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 10-01-2010, 08:23 AM
Slow and Low
 
Co4Lo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Age: 46
Posts: 5,305
Feedback: 4 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by frito View Post
well today, the abs and esp lights go off, then later my speedo quit working,tach still works, and when you come to a stop fuel gauge goes to e, then raises back up? think its the cluster??
I think your Jeep has been under water.
Co4Lo is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 10-01-2010, 12:59 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mayfield ,ky
Age: 44
Posts: 34
Feedback: 0 reviews

so what does that mean? what do i need to change or do> replace the pcm and speedo? doesnt seem to been wet, but you never know
frito is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 10-01-2010, 05:17 PM
Slow and Low
 
Co4Lo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Age: 46
Posts: 5,305
Feedback: 4 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by frito View Post
so what does that mean? what do i need to change or do> replace the pcm and speedo? doesnt seem to been wet, but you never know
PM Replied.
Co4Lo is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 10-02-2010, 11:13 AM
Granite Guru
 
Hemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 214
Garage
Feedback: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Hemo

I ran into this problem about 2 months ago when I installed a dual battery kit in my 08 Rubi Unlimited. It turned out to be something simple. I discovered that a fairly major connector had come loose. It ran along side the battery towards the TPIM and was located between the battery-TPIM and the engine. Once I plugged the connectors back together everything worked great.

2008 Rubi Unltd RR Roll Cage - Limb Risers - Evap Skid - Diff Covers PolyPerf HD Ball Joints Reid Hi Steer Knuckles RK 3.5" Triple Threat PRO Longarm Rebel F & R Coil Overs sPod Mini Shrockworks Rock Sliders - Rear Bumper w/ Tire Swing Xenon Flat Flares ORO Onboard Air BD Dual Battery 5.13 Gears 35" BFG KM2s Warn VR12000 Winch Safari Straps Everything Tuffy Security Drawer
Hemo is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 11-29-2014, 08:26 PM
JKO Addict!
 
Joneszj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PHILADELPHIA
Posts: 2,805
Garage
Feedback: 6 reviews

did anyone ever come up with a solution to this problem?

I recently swapped engines into my JK and am having this issue. I am kind of assuming at this point that it is an abs issue or possible a wheel speed sensor or something similar but i don't want to deal with a stealership to figure it out.

I have almost all the lights lit up on my dash, the odometer isn't working, the speedometer isn't working, and the jeep loses revs as you are cruising along. it'll blip the throttle on its own and get you back to speed.

Thoughts? Help?

1972 Commando on Tons & 40s
Joneszj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome