Lets talk power distribution - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Uncle Sams Misguided Child
  • 1 Post By tapcola
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 06-19-2017, 02:31 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
tapcola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,081
Feedback: 0 reviews
Lets talk power distribution

I hate the crappie battery power distribution on the JK . I dont think I need a dual set up yet . So Im looking for ideas on something else.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

SYNERGY, FOX,VKS,HUTCHINSON,
tapcola is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 06-19-2017, 10:15 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: western Michigan
Posts: 187
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Painless 7

I installed a Painless 7-circuit fuse block. It is wired directly to the battery, so bypasses the computer. IIRC, all fuses are 20A - some switched, some unswitched. So far, I have used circuits for: (1.) Heated seats, F&R. (2.) KC road lights. (3.) AMP Power Steps.

I posted the installation in "write-ups".

P.S. - Not sure what to do if I want a 12V fridge in the back of my Sport-S (no outlet in the way-back.)

Last edited by JJS2; 06-19-2017 at 10:17 PM. Reason: added P.S. - note
JJS2 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 06-20-2017, 04:59 AM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Haddonfield, NJ
Posts: 101
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJS2 View Post
I installed a Painless 7-circuit fuse block. It is wired directly to the battery, so bypasses the computer. IIRC, all fuses are 20A - some switched, some unswitched. So far, I have used circuits for: (1.) Heated seats, F&R. (2.) KC road lights. (3.) AMP Power Steps.

I posted the installation in "write-ups".

P.S. - Not sure what to do if I want a 12V fridge in the back of my Sport-S (no outlet in the way-back.)
FWIW - I installed an ARB hardwire kit for my ARB50 behind the rear seats of my JKUR - highly recommend. Low voltage drop improves efficiency.

Dustin Tarditi
Haddonfield, NJ
2018 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk
tarditi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 06-20-2017, 05:28 AM
Gunnery Sergeant USMC (ret)
 
Uncle Sams Misguided Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tucson AZ
Age: 52
Posts: 21,979
Feedback: 8 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by tapcola View Post
I hate the crappie battery power distribution on the JK . I dont think I need a dual set up yet . So Im looking for ideas on something else.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
That's kinda vague. Are you talking about aux stuff like lights and stuff?
lilscorpion likes this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lohchief View Post
If people don't take a stand now,you'll be bitches under their thumbs tomorrow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
I think too much of a pressure variant between Earth and outer-space... lack of oxygen... something like that.
Uncle Sams Misguided Child is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 06-20-2017, 05:41 AM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
tapcola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,081
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Sams Misguided Child View Post
That's kinda vague. Are you talking about aux stuff like lights and stuff?
Lol , No I have a Switch Pro, but I have a wench and getting ready to add a compressor and an amp all have big power wires. So that crappie battery terminal needs to go . I have been looking at new battery terminals. I was just curios if someone had done something different for a separate power distribution.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

SYNERGY, FOX,VKS,HUTCHINSON,
tapcola is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 06-20-2017, 08:53 AM
Rock God
 
ChuckTheRipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Chester, WV
Age: 26
Posts: 920
Feedback: 0 reviews

You could just run a power wire to a buss mounted wherever and gang them all there. Isn't that pretty much the point of buying a switch pros though? Lmao


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ChuckTheRipper is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 06-20-2017, 09:01 AM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
tapcola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,081
Feedback: 0 reviews

I have done that for my lights and small stuff , 😎 but you throw a wench , a compressor and a fridge , amp on that . It sucks , the Switch Pro will run all of that but you still have main power feeds that have to go to the battery, I am looking to run a 0 to the center console with a distribution block to run my compressors and amp and then a feed for a fridge. I was just looking to see if anyone had done something like this .

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

SYNERGY, FOX,VKS,HUTCHINSON,
tapcola is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 06-22-2017, 06:51 AM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Rio Rico
Age: 51
Posts: 54
Feedback: 0 reviews

Look into car audio battery terminals, they are set up for multiple connections:

From there you can go to a power distribution block
Art_M. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome