Help with Sound System - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 08-28-2010, 11:06 AM Thread Starter

Help with Sound System

I am a complete newbie when it comes to car audio. I have a JK 08 and was wondering how or if it is possible to hook up an amplifier and Subs to the factory head unit.
I want to keep the factory speakers too but want to add the two subs with the amplifier.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 08-28-2010, 07:53 PM
Granite Guru

Garage

I'm assuming that you have a non amplified system, IE no stock subwoofer. You are going to need a line out converter that you will attach to the speaker wires coming from the deck and that will transfer to a line level suitable for an amplifier through RCA style connections.

Here's one:
http://www.google.com/products/catal...CBcQ8wIwATgA#p

After that, you hook everything up normally like you would with any subwoofer system.Oh ya, make sure the line out converter has the 12v trigger/pwr ant wire to turn the amp on. If it doesn't, your amp will not come on automatically

My sig is HUGE in Japan
post #3 of 9 Old 08-29-2010, 08:19 AM
Rock God

Garage

crutchfield.com they'll have the answers.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 08-29-2010, 08:48 AM
Granite Guru

JBL MS-8

This is a processor that accepts speaker level inputs from an OEM system... then hook up your favorite amps, separates and subs... your rockin'

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defense, promote general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Prosperity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.
post #5 of 9 Old 08-29-2010, 11:58 AM Thread Starter

Question

Thanks guys i looked everywhere for an answer to that. i'm thinking about getting this amp/speaker kit. Does any one have any objections to this...?