How many taps into power outlet - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 08-26-2010, 09:50 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
WranglerPike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Spring TX
Posts: 33
Feedback: 0 reviews
How many taps into power outlet

I see alot of people saying they take power from the + of power outlet, for relays and such. How many different times can you tap into it? I have my radar detector hardwired to it, about to have it trigger a relay for my lights this weekend hopefully, then I want to install a second outlet in the rear of the Jeep either back seat or cargo area. None will have major draw. The outlet up front will be Ipod or cel phone charging, rear seat for DVD player for the kid, and the rear for a small compressor we use to air up tubes or other beach floaties. To me this seems like a lot to run off there but any suggestions? If it's a major undertaking, I'll just deal with the power outlet being in the front.
Thanks
WT

2009 Red Rock Unlimited
Helo 842 Wheels, homebrew lite bar, congo cage, midchop bumper, daystar spacers
WranglerPike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 08-26-2010, 11:14 AM
Rock God
 
ronjenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,874
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by WranglerPike View Post
I see alot of people saying they take power from the + of power outlet, for relays and such. How many different times can you tap into it? I have my radar detector hardwired to it, about to have it trigger a relay for my lights this weekend hopefully, then I want to install a second outlet in the rear of the Jeep either back seat or cargo area. None will have major draw. The outlet up front will be Ipod or cel phone charging, rear seat for DVD player for the kid, and the rear for a small compressor we use to air up tubes or other beach floaties. To me this seems like a lot to run off there but any suggestions? If it's a major undertaking, I'll just deal with the power outlet being in the front.
Thanks
WT
You would be better off to find a switched source from the fuse box and run your stuff from that. You may even find an empty socket you could put a fuse in. It would be dedicated to your accessories, then.
ronjenx is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 08-26-2010, 11:34 AM
Rock God
 
bluerubicon08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Central VA
Posts: 551
Feedback: 0 reviews

I bought a power block from the local Autogroan store, ran a primary wire from the positive terminal of the battery through the dashboard to it with a 30amp fuse attached. That is what I have used fopr my CB, Interior LED lights, and Windshield lights. There are numerous write-ups on this type of set up. If you pull off the side plastic panel on the dashboard onn the passenger side, there is a hole there that is filled with foam behind it. Just run a stiff wire through it, like a coathanger, then use that to pull your primary wire through.

If you're gonna be fucking weird, own it.

~SoCo
______
bluerubicon08 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome