What's this switch for? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By j3ff3ry_j33p
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 12-11-2016, 10:41 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
cody48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 322
Feedback: 0 reviews
What's this switch for?

Wanting some under hood light and trying to figure out a switch to make them come on when the hood is opened.
Anyone know what this switch is for? It has 2 small purple wires coming out of it. The bracket holding the switch is stamped TIPM and beside it is an empty switch hole is stamped PCM.

cody48 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 12-11-2016, 11:00 AM
Rock God
 
jacktuttle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fullerton, CA
Age: 62
Posts: 1,452
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Question Jeep

I don't have a switch like that..... Did you get the jeep new? What year is it?

Paved Roads - Another Fine Example of Unnecessary Government Waste!
Modes - 3.5" Lift - Steel Jeep Bumper with Winch. Body Armor 4x4 Rear Bumper and Rock Sliders. - Hard Top painted White to repel the HEAT! - Ham\CB Radio - A few dents and Scratches John Bull Mod to Front & Rear Diff Covers. Woods Steering Stabilizer Relocation Bracket. Off-road Front, Rear and Rock Lights, Rear CAM, On Board Air.
jacktuttle is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 12-11-2016, 11:04 AM
Wheeler
 
3VOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Boise, ID
Age: 36
Posts: 95
Feedback: 1 reviews

That is the oem remote start hood sensor switch iirc. It's there to kill the remote start if the hood is opened while running.
3VOL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 12-11-2016, 11:32 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
cody48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 322
Feedback: 0 reviews

It's a 2014. Second hand.
cody48 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 12-11-2016, 11:34 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
cody48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 322
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3VOL View Post
That is the oem remote start hood sensor switch iirc. It's there to kill the remote start if the hood is opened while running.
That sounds like another useless feature.
Wonder what would happened if I cut those wires and used the switch for lights?
cody48 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 12-11-2016, 11:37 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
cody48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 322
Feedback: 0 reviews

I just tested it and it will shut the engine off after being remote started when the hood is opened.
cody48 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 12-11-2016, 11:57 AM
Rock God
 
ronjenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,874
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3VOL View Post
That is the oem remote start hood sensor switch iirc. It's there to kill the remote start if the hood is opened while running.
Isn't it there to prevent a remote start if someone is working under the hood with the engine off?

2008 Unlimited Rubicon Automatic
ronjenx is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 12-12-2016, 09:47 AM
Wheeler
 
3VOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Boise, ID
Age: 36
Posts: 95
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronjenx View Post
Isn't it there to prevent a remote start if someone is working under the hood with the engine off?

That would make sense too, I never really thought of that aspect. For some reason I always looked at it as preventing someone from messing with the engine with it running and no way to shut it off (the key not being in it to shut it down). Basically two sides to the same coin.
3VOL is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 12-12-2016, 10:00 AM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Northwest Arkansas
Posts: 106
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronjenx View Post
Isn't it there to prevent a remote start if someone is working under the hood with the engine off?
YEP
mmilburn is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 12-12-2016, 01:08 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 103
Feedback: 0 reviews

I'd get the part number off that switch and order another one, then pop the new switch in the 'PCM' hole. Wire it up to your underhood light and voila, it looks like it came from the factory that way.

EDIT: Now that I think about it, I'd love to buy one of those brackets and the switch if someone has one lying around (or can get the part numbers). That setup paired with a KC Cyclone would make a killer underhood lighting solution, all loomed up like OEM stuff.

EDIT (AGAIN): Here are the Mopar part numbers (for 2013, at least...):

68067791AA Remote Start - BRACKET, Hood Switch
05026211AA Remote Start - SWITCH, Under Hood
06104368AA Remote Start - BOLT AND WASHER
06508601AA Remote Start - U-NUT

I'm having a hard time finding the wiring harness for the switch, and I'm not quite sure what the connector looks like, or else I'd order just the connector and pin it myself.

Chase

2013 Billet Silver JKU Sport S, 6-Speed, TF Leveling Kit, Spidertrax 1.5" Spacers, 285/70R17 Firestone Destination M/Ts on OEM Sport wheels.

Last edited by COBrien; 12-12-2016 at 01:37 PM.
COBrien is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 12-12-2016, 07:40 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
cody48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 322
Feedback: 0 reviews

Ha, thanks for adding that info. I just found a switch on amazon and ordered it.
Genuine Chrysler 5026211AA Electrical Underhood Switch https://www.amazon.com/dp/B007NNGXW6..._B81tybXDWATC0
cody48 is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 12-12-2016, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
cody48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 322
Feedback: 0 reviews

I took these pictures of the back of the harness connector



cody48 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 12-12-2016, 07:57 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
cody48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 322
Feedback: 0 reviews
cody48 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 11-27-2017, 08:56 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 21
Feedback: 0 reviews

This switch also activates the factory alarm if the hood is opened while it's activated (at least that what it does on mine)

'13 10A JKU
nei10808 is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 11-28-2017, 04:35 AM
Super Moderator
 
j3ff3ry_j33p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 5,838
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews


cool idea on the Cyclone from KC being triggered by using this oem switch.

I'm thinking of using the same switch for theft deterrence and powering this to come out of the hood with it.







To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
j3ff3ry_j33p is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 11-29-2017, 11:24 AM
Wheeler
 
parras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Age: 38
Posts: 19
Feedback: 0 reviews

Ha, that's the harness I was asking on a different thread here.
parras is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome