Dual Battery Tray wiring questions - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 07-08-2010, 12:14 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler

Dual Battery Tray wiring questions

I have the KISS dual battery tray with two yellow top Optima batteries with the side terminals. These have yet to have been wired in yet. I am wondering if it is possible to wire the stock radio and stock speakers to the battery I will be using as my "accesories" battery. I would be running four kc slimlites, a ti9500 winch, and the sstock radio and speakers off of the "accesory" battery. Leaving the other battery strictly to my fogs, DRL's, headlights, and starting slash all other stock stuff. The reason I am wanting to do this is so that if I am at the beach with my stereo on and my battery dies, ill still be able to start up and head on out at the end of the day. Can this be done, idk if the CANNBUS would affect this or not, im a noob with wiring. Probably gonna have a shop do it, IF it can be done. THANKS
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 07-08-2010, 12:22 PM
JKO Addict!

Garage

Yes you sure could. You would need to unhook all the factory radio connections and run the new radio directly to the battery and run all new speaker wires

www.jeepasylum.com
post #3 of 5 Old 07-08-2010, 12:24 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler

would you say that'd be "relatively" easy and cheap?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 Old 07-08-2010, 06:18 PM
JKO Addict!

Garage

I think it would be easy if you know what your doing. Here is a fairly generic schematic. Youll need to run new wires to each speaker (I would just unplug the old and leave them in place) Then hook up your power, ground, and acc wires and youll be cooking with grease

www.jeepasylum.com
post #5 of 5 Old 07-08-2010, 07:58 PM
JKO Addict!