quick switch question for lights - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 07-02-2010, 12:14 AM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Louisa, KY
Age: 32
Posts: 765
Feedback: 0 reviews
quick switch question for lights

I was thinking about this earlier and thought id get a second, third, even forth or fifth opinion...

I want to add a few sets of extra lights of course. Id like to put switches for the lights and whatever else I may add on the drivers side dash above the speaker. I was thinking it would be cool to have one big main cut off switch so I could hit it in a hurry and shut all the extra lights off (say I have a set or two on for some reason and meet a vehicle I dont have to search for switches to shut them off)

What I was thinking was run a main power to the main switch, then jumper it over to the other switches. Then have those switches simply activate an individual relay to turn on the individual sets of lights rather than having the voltage from the switch go directly to the lights.

Would I still need to take into consideration the amperage that the lights are drawing versus how much amperage the switch can handle, or would I just need to consider the amperage of the relays themselves since the voltage in the switches are simply activating the relays.

Hope Im clear on what im asking.

Also, Ill put in a fuse block which is where the individual relays will get their power source to send to the lights.

No more Jeep
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sunburst Sahara is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 07-03-2010, 09:32 AM
Rock God
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Whitehorse Yukon
Posts: 911
Feedback: 0 reviews

I'm running 4 sets of lights with a kill switch. I thought about running the ground or power thru the switch... Then decided that due to my layout (switches are located over the review mirror, while kill switch is where the power window switches would be), that wouldn't work (I didn't want to run wire all over the place). I ended up using a relay to send the power to the switches above the mirror, and the kill switch activates that relay.

2012 Silver JKU Rubicon
5 speed auto, 4.10s

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

For all your protection needs:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


M101 trailer, RTT, Awning, etc
5 wide Little Guy Rough Rider Teardrop

Last edited by Riptide; 07-03-2010 at 09:39 AM.
Riptide is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 07-03-2010, 09:52 AM
Granite Guru
 
edivebuddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 295
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunburst Sahara View Post
I was thinking about this earlier and thought id get a second, third, even forth or fifth opinion...
If there's a switch, IMO there should be a relay. Cut off switch to a relay that powers lights and other switches.
edivebuddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 07-06-2010, 03:30 AM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Louisa, KY
Age: 32
Posts: 765
Feedback: 0 reviews

a switch that operates a relay in order to operate a couple switches that operate their own relays? The main switch would only send power to the other switches. Then the switches would operate relays

I think thats a little overkill... I mean, I would have power wire from the batt. to the switch, then a wire from switch to the relay, then a wire from the batt. to the relay, and a wire from the relay to the other switches. Seems like alot of unnecessary back and forth...

No more Jeep
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sunburst Sahara is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 07-06-2010, 03:55 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Loki646's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 46
Posts: 4,103
Garage
Feedback: 2 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunburst Sahara View Post
a switch that operates a relay in order to operate a couple switches that operate their own relays? The main switch would only send power to the other switches. Then the switches would operate relays

I think thats a little overkill... I mean, I would have power wire from the batt. to the switch, then a wire from switch to the relay, then a wire from the batt. to the relay, and a wire from the relay to the other switches. Seems like alot of unnecessary back and forth...

Give the guys @ Spod a call and ask them directly about running an interrupter switch between the battery and their relay board. It sounds like this is basically what you are trying to do. I can do it with my switch panel, only because of the type of switch panel it is (ARC 8000 - my install). However, Spod is a supporting vendor and having met and talked to them @ Jeep Beach, I would recommend them over what I'm using, they know their stuff and can give you dead on answers.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Loki646; 07-06-2010 at 08:17 PM.
Loki646 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome