Running wires through the firewall - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 11-06-2015, 09:43 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Age: 53
Posts: 8
Feedback: 0 reviews
Running wires through the firewall

On my '15 Wrangler I want to run some wires from the engine compartment into the cabin. A cursory inspection of the firewall from the engine compartment, as well as a quick look up into the driver's and passenger's foot well made it evident that this is not a 4-cylinder CJ where you can just put a drill bit into any spot in the fire wall.
Is there a place that is most conducive to running 5 or six wires from the engine bay into the cabin?
donrolandofurioso is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-07-2015, 01:55 AM
Granite Guru
 
Landoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 40
Posts: 115
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

If you haven't searched, you may want to try that. I recall reading a post showing some picture of a hole in the firewall or a great place to drill one behind the glove box. It brings you out right by the battery. I have a 2007 and just went through a hole i made in an existing grommet on the driver side.

If it ain't broke, don't fix it. If you don't like it, go break it!

'07 JKRU
3.5" RK X-Factor Lift on 37x12.5x17 MTR-K's wrapped around AEV Pintler Wheels
Landoom is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-07-2015, 05:34 AM
Gunnery Sergeant USMC (ret)
 
Uncle Sams Misguided Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tucson AZ
Age: 52
Posts: 21,994
Feedback: 8 reviews

I know on the 07 - 11 there is a hole on each side between the door and the end of the dash. You will have to take the dash trim piece off on the ends and you can see it full of foam insulation. The hole comes out under the cowl. Use a metal coat hangar and fish your wires through it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lohchief View Post
If people don't take a stand now,you'll be bitches under their thumbs tomorrow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
I think too much of a pressure variant between Earth and outer-space... lack of oxygen... something like that.
Uncle Sams Misguided Child is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 11-07-2015, 08:31 AM
JKO Addict!
 
kkuntz01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Glendale Heights, IL
Age: 45
Posts: 2,982
Feedback: 5 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Landoom View Post
If you haven't searched, you may want to try that. I recall reading a post showing some picture of a hole in the firewall or a great place to drill one behind the glove box. It brings you out right by the battery. I have a 2007 and just went through a hole i made in an existing grommet on the driver side.
^^^^This

I'm told there is supposed to be an existing rubber grommet on the passenger side you can go through for your with your wires but your have to pull your battery and battery try to access it.

Myself I've been running any of my wires through the grommet/hole in the upper left hand corner of the firewall near the master cylinder. It's where the factory runs the hose to the rear of the Jeep for the washer solvent and the same spot where sPod runs their harness through for the switch panel. Just be careful not to perforate the hose when you puncture the grommet. Don't ask me how I know.


I know some guys will run wiring the hole on the outside of the fender right under the A-pillar. I had done that too initially until I was laughed at for the half ass hack job I did with the wiring. I subsequently re-routed the wiring through the same hole my sPod harness is run through.


Also not sure how anal you are about clean wiring. Something I stumbled on that has made my wiring jobs much cleaner and easier to run through the vehicle.

PET Expandable Braided Sleeving


Sure my rig has seen the trail, but I wheel it like a soccer mom looking for a parking spot at Nordstroms.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kkuntz01 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-07-2015, 10:21 AM
Granite Guru
 
Ronson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Boulder City Nevada
Posts: 377
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Sams Misguided Child View Post
I know on the 07 - 11 there is a hole on each side between the door and the end of the dash. You will have to take the dash trim piece off on the ends and you can see it full of foam insulation. The hole comes out under the cowl. Use a metal coat hangar and fish your wires through it.
Did this on my 2012 to run the fat wires for my ARB compressor under the seat. It has 3... if I had to guess 0 guage wires and one or two smaller ones. It was a Bitch but it fit.

Did the same on the drivers side for my CB and the lighted switch for the compressor.
Ronson is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-07-2015, 12:40 PM
Rock God
 
ndtguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 679
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Sams Misguided Child View Post
I know on the 07 - 11 there is a hole on each side between the door and the end of the dash. You will have to take the dash trim piece off on the ends and you can see it full of foam insulation. The hole comes out under the cowl. Use a metal coat hangar and fish your wires through it.
It applied for my 2014 also.

NDTguy

2017 JKU Sport S
ndtguy is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-07-2015, 08:49 PM
JKowners Vendor
 
bigworm36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Age: 36
Posts: 2,502
Feedback: 0 reviews

Should be the same for the 2015
bigworm36 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-12-2015, 05:59 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Age: 47
Posts: 14
Feedback: 0 reviews

You can run wires through the firewall on the passenger side. I simply removed my glove box and went through the firewall...and I didn't have to pull my battery to do it (someone mentioned that above).

Since I didn't have a wire coat hanger, I cut the swatter portion of a fly swatter off and used that metal to fish the lines. Oh, and I found it easier to fish the lines from the engine compartment towards the interior. Just look up behind the passenger fender liner.
IndyRubicon is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-12-2015, 08:59 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 25
Feedback: 0 reviews

I ran amp wiring right through the factory grommet. I used a large tie wrap with a bit of silicone grease to ease it through. The tie wrap is basically the size of one they use on duct work and works great for fishing wires as it won't damage. In the past I used tie wire, but that can scratch and when you bend a loop on the end, it can get stuck from time to time.
rejeep13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome