2012 - stereo issues - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 09-23-2015, 06:21 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Age: 26
Posts: 132
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to jlagross
2012 - stereo issues

So i went to install a new stereo, with interface harness and all that jazz.
factory amp wiring was done according to the directions, no love, the new stereo got hot and started smelling, time to return and get a new one.

now the question -
went to plug my stock unit back in, but when it boots volume is at 0, then goes up to 1, then wont go any louder. no sound output.
I was reading about the "pairing" between the canbus and the stereos, is it possible that pairing was lost causing this issue, or did i f' my amp up.

Figured id ask the gurus!

Thanks
Jason
jlagross is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-23-2015, 10:57 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 291
Feedback: 0 reviews

Did you use installation interfaces from PAC Audio? If you have the Alpine factory system you should use the PAC C2R-CHY4. The C2R-CHY4 lets you retain the factory amplifier without having to hack the wires. Are you 100% sure you had everything wired correctly? It doesn't take much to blow up the CAN bus if you connect things wrong. I've never seen the need to pair factory radios to the Jeep. It is plug and play even going to different models of radios. Something is wrong.
IndyJLH is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-24-2015, 07:00 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Age: 26
Posts: 132
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to jlagross

thanks for the reply
i was able to install an aftermarket stereo with the pac rp4- ch11
aftermarket stereo is working correctly, so canbus and amp are fine. has to be something with the stock head unit. good thing i planned on replacing it anyways!

Thanks
Jason
jlagross is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 09-28-2015, 11:42 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 30
Feedback: 0 reviews

Huh, that's very odd. Do you know someone else you can try swapping the HU with to test if it works in their car?
thzpcs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome