Plasmaglow switch w warn power interrupt?? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 07-28-2015, 09:59 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: colchester, ct
Posts: 432
Feedback: 3 reviews
Plasmaglow switch w warn power interrupt??

So I'm using a plasmaglow switch with my warn power interrupt. The interrupt kit has a 5amp inline fuse and the switch is rated to 10amps without a relay. My concern is the preterminated wires coming off the switch are fairly light gauge while the ones in the kit are heavier. Maybe 14 vs 22...(guessing there). Can I just splice them together or should I remove the wires n thin spade connectors that came on the switch and crimp thin spade connectors to the wires from the kit to attach to the switch??? Does it matter given the amperages??? Thanks!!
jeep#4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-29-2015, 10:25 AM
Rock God
 
jacktuttle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fullerton, CA
Age: 62
Posts: 1,452
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeep#4 View Post
So I'm using a plasmaglow switch with my warn power interrupt. The interrupt kit has a 5amp inline fuse and the switch is rated to 10amps without a relay. My concern is the preterminated wires coming off the switch are fairly light gauge while the ones in the kit are heavier. Maybe 14 vs 22...(guessing there). Can I just splice them together or should I remove the wires n thin spade connectors that came on the switch and crimp thin spade connectors to the wires from the kit to attach to the switch??? Does it matter given the amperages??? Thanks!!
Well it would end up being a fusible link.... But if it was me I'd go with the 14 and just use a fuse....
Attached Images
 

Paved Roads - Another Fine Example of Unnecessary Government Waste!
Modes - 3.5" Lift - Steel Jeep Bumper with Winch. Body Armor 4x4 Rear Bumper and Rock Sliders. - Hard Top painted White to repel the HEAT! - Ham\CB Radio - A few dents and Scratches John Bull Mod to Front & Rear Diff Covers. Woods Steering Stabilizer Relocation Bracket. Off-road Front, Rear and Rock Lights, Rear CAM, On Board Air.
jacktuttle is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-29-2015, 01:01 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: colchester, ct
Posts: 432
Feedback: 3 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacktuttle View Post
Well it would end up being a fusible link.... But if it was me I'd go with the 14 and just use a fuse....
Thanks...but can you dumb that down for me a bit. Not sure I follow ya...
jeep#4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 07-29-2015, 03:12 PM
Rock God
 
LoneJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Mt. Vernon Illinois
Age: 24
Posts: 592
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeep#4 View Post
Thanks...but can you dumb that down for me a bit. Not sure I follow ya...
14 gauge wire and a fuse inline with it

"Gremlin"
Nothing in my jeep is sacred, except my jelly beans and apple liquorice. Don't touch those...
LoneJK is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-29-2015, 03:59 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: colchester, ct
Posts: 432
Feedback: 3 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoneJK View Post
14 gauge wire and a fuse inline with it
Ok... The interrupt kit has 14 gauge wire with it along with a 5amp inline fuse already. So basically I should get rid of the lighter wire on the switch and put a female connector that fits on the 14 gauge wire to plug onto the switch. Correct? What I don't get is if the switch and its wire are rated for 10amps and the heavier wire that powers the switch has a 5amp fuse, why get rid of the lighter wire instead of just splicing them together? Not arguing a point by any means, just trying to understand better why it should be done that way. Thanks for the responses!
jeep#4 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 08-06-2015, 09:40 AM
Rock God
 
BigTB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NW OH
Posts: 1,113
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeep#4 View Post
Ok... The interrupt kit has 14 gauge wire with it along with a 5amp inline fuse already. So basically I should get rid of the lighter wire on the switch and put a female connector that fits on the 14 gauge wire to plug onto the switch. Correct? What I don't get is if the switch and its wire are rated for 10amps and the heavier wire that powers the switch has a 5amp fuse, why get rid of the lighter wire instead of just splicing them together? Not arguing a point by any means, just trying to understand better why it should be done that way. Thanks for the responses!
I know this may be old news, but I thought I'd throw in my $0.02

If your kit came with 14 gauge wire, it's best to use that in the rest of the circuit as well. It's always safest to use heavier gauge wire and a properly sized fuse.

If you are correct in your guess of 22 gauge wire, that is only rated for 5 amps or so (according to the above chart) if it's enclosed (not in open air where it gets plenty of cooling). A wire should always be rated at higher amperage than the protecting fuse. So, a 5 amp fuse should be protecting wire rated at more than 5 amps, that way the fuse will always be the first thing to fail.

Using the smaller wire probably would have worked ok, but it's always better safe than sorry.

If that switch and its included wiring was meant to power a standard 30A relay, that is around a 1/4 amp load. So it would make sense that they use small wiring. You are powering a higher amp solenoid, that likely has a higher amp control coil as well. Not likely what that wire was intended for. Would it have worked, like I said, probably so. But still, best to use the size wiring supplied with the actual load you will be powering with the switch.

Hope that makes sense.

If the wire is larger than 22 gauge, it would be less of an issue, but my personal recommendation would still be to go with the 14 gauge to keep the circuit wiring the same. I'm a bit picky about my wiring though. I generally go with a size larger than needed, just to be safe and to minimize voltage drop.
BigTB is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 08-06-2015, 05:49 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: colchester, ct
Posts: 432
Feedback: 3 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTB View Post
I know this may be old news, but I thought I'd throw in my $0.02

If your kit came with 14 gauge wire, it's best to use that in the rest of the circuit as well. It's always safest to use heavier gauge wire and a properly sized fuse.

If you are correct in your guess of 22 gauge wire, that is only rated for 5 amps or so (according to the above chart) if it's enclosed (not in open air where it gets plenty of cooling). A wire should always be rated at higher amperage than the protecting fuse. So, a 5 amp fuse should be protecting wire rated at more than 5 amps, that way the fuse will always be the first thing to fail.

Using the smaller wire probably would have worked ok, but it's always better safe than sorry.

If that switch and its included wiring was meant to power a standard 30A relay, that is around a 1/4 amp load. So it would make sense that they use small wiring. You are powering a higher amp solenoid, that likely has a higher amp control coil as well. Not likely what that wire was intended for. Would it have worked, like I said, probably so. But still, best to use the size wiring supplied with the actual load you will be powering with the switch.

Hope that makes sense.

If the wire is larger than 22 gauge, it would be less of an issue, but my personal recommendation would still be to go with the 14 gauge to keep the circuit wiring the same. I'm a bit picky about my wiring though. I generally go with a size larger than needed, just to be safe and to minimize voltage drop.

Thank you!! That's what I did. Desoldered the wires on the switch and added the appropriate connectors on the wires from the kit. Seemed to work out fine. A bit tedious but glad I did it that way.
jeep#4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome