Need Aux Driving Lights Wiring Help! - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 03-20-2010, 05:01 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler

Need Aux Driving Lights Wiring Help!

So I installed some Warn SD 260s and ran the wiring harness under the hood and then ran the on/off/dual mode switch in the cab. Only one mode of the high/low is working and when the lights were off they drained the battery. Here is a diagram of how it is hooked up. What am I doing wrong here? Obviously I am no electrician!

NRA Certified LE Patrol Rifle Instructor

Texas State Guard
3BN, Maritime Regiment
Dive Team
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 03-20-2010, 10:53 PM
Banned

I ain't no sparky myself, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn last night...

Maybe try going with an ignition = on circuit to pull power for your switches. I did that with my DIY harness and had no battery drain issues. It's a little late in the evening for a photo hunt, but I'll check which slot I used in the fusebox to run power into my switches

I'm wondering if having constant contact with the battery terminals is where your drain issues are coming from. Maybe hooking up the grounds to a grounding screw somewhere on the body instead of the neg terminal on the battery would help.

I'd go through each connection with a meter and make sure you're getting current through to where you need it so you can pinpoint the problem. They're cheap, and they'll save you tons of time staring at the system wondering where the failure is happening.

When you say only one of the hi/lo is working, do you mean one light, only hi or only lo? Could be you have a bad relay. Did you wire the harness yourself, or is it the plug and play sort of stuff?

Like I said, I ain't no sparky, but them's my two cents.

post #3 of 11 Old 03-21-2010, 11:08 AM
Wheeler

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancin Dan View Post
I ain't no sparky myself, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn last night...