Replacing KC's with Rigid's...Do I need to replace wiring? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 03-15-2015, 05:34 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Dollar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 375
Feedback: 0 reviews
Replacing KC's with Rigid's...Do I need to replace wiring?

I have a pair of KC Apollo Pro 5" lights on my bumper. I'm replacing them with a pair of Rigid DOT D series lights. The plugs are the same. Can I just swap the lights and keep the KC wiring?

Sorry for the silly question. I hate electrical stuff.

Thanks..
Dollar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-15-2015, 10:19 PM
Random Dude
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Bay, CA
Age: 49
Posts: 2,907
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dollar View Post
I have a pair of KC Apollo Pro 5" lights on my bumper. I'm replacing them with a pair of Rigid DOT D series lights. The plugs are the same. Can I just swap the lights and keep the KC wiring?

Sorry for the silly question. I hate electrical stuff.

Thanks..
Assuming you had clean wiring sufficient for the KC Apollos, your DOT Rigids should be totally happy.

If the plugs are the same, go baby go! (UNLESS you have your + and - switched)

PLEASE BUY AMERICAN SO I DON'T HAVE TO LEARN CHINESE
-The 4th little pig made his house of reinforced concrete, with wolfskin rugs in every room-

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<-- Random crap you might find useful
ExWrench is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 03-16-2015, 06:46 AM
Gunnery Sergeant USMC (ret)
 
Uncle Sams Misguided Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tucson AZ
Age: 52
Posts: 22,042
Feedback: 8 reviews

I used to have 4 KC slim lites on 2 switches, I changed out 2 of them for a 50 inch bar and 2 of them for 2 rigids and 1 12 inch bar.

As long as the wiring you have can still handle it you will be fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lohchief View Post
If people don't take a stand now,you'll be bitches under their thumbs tomorrow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
I think too much of a pressure variant between Earth and outer-space... lack of oxygen... something like that.
Uncle Sams Misguided Child is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 03-16-2015, 04:00 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Dollar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 375
Feedback: 0 reviews

Well, I wanted to hear a yes or no. The caveat's of "clean wiring" and "the wiring you have" is killing me. LOL.

I used the wiring that came with the KC lights. Ran the power to the battery with the relay and grounded to the chasis. Only thing different is I tapped into the factory harness to be able to use the factory fog switch on the light stalk instead of running their harness inside to a toggle.

So it should be fine. One less thing I have to do. I don't mind rewiring the lights with Rigid's stuff, but an sPod is in my future and I don't want to do things three times. I figure I'll keep em with the KC wiring until I upgrade.

The KC's were 55W and the Rigids are 33W. Never really wanted Rigids, but these are their DOT/SAE compliant fog lights, so I'll see how they work with everyday driving.

Thanks again.
Dollar is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-16-2015, 04:39 PM
Random Dude
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Bay, CA
Age: 49
Posts: 2,907
Feedback: 0 reviews
Thumbs up YES

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dollar View Post
Well, I wanted to hear a yes or no. The caveat's of "clean wiring" and "the wiring you have" is killing me. LOL.
YES
^ BETTER?
You say the plugs are compatible, so plug 'em in, already!
Your existing wiring should be more than sufficient for the LED's amp draw.
If it's not fooked up in any way, your harness is good to go.
If your "+" and "-" are correctly oriented, the lights will be all shiny. If not, swap the wires at the plug.

"Sorry" for all the technical bullshit electrical jargon.
We were trying to explain why a simple "yes" or "no" wouldn't do.

Please report back on the performance of the Rigid DOT fog lights.
When I crack another KC Slimlite fog, those are on the short list of replacement candidates.

PLEASE BUY AMERICAN SO I DON'T HAVE TO LEARN CHINESE
-The 4th little pig made his house of reinforced concrete, with wolfskin rugs in every room-

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<-- Random crap you might find useful
ExWrench is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-16-2015, 04:42 PM
R.I.P. Mr. Nibbles!
 
JKCTAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: AZ
Age: 44
Posts: 8,957
Feedback: 2 reviews

Pffft, people wantin' direct answers!

No, you can't reuse the wiring, because it's red and black. That is very confusing and should be swapped out for wiring that is instead black and red.

Quote:
Originally Posted by braindead0 View Post
Some folks are fine with being screwed over, perhaps finding confrontation to be more stressful than just living with whatever the problem is. These are excellent consumers, manufactured to the finest specifications.
Reformed Jeep addict... Jeepless for now.
JKCTAZ is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-16-2015, 06:10 PM
Rock God
 
Treader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sulphur Springs, TX
Posts: 1,536
Feedback: 0 reviews

Well you all gave a direct answer in the Firewall thread. What was it, push in and out through the hole.

2010 2 door manual sport
Treader is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-16-2015, 11:20 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Dollar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 375
Feedback: 0 reviews

Red and black. Black and red. Up and down. Down and up. I knew I should've taken it to the dealer for the install.

When I finish installing my winch, I'll put in the lights and will report back. I'll be driving to EJS next week, so I'll have plenty of night driving to test them out.
Dollar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome