New OEM satellite radio - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 03-13-2010, 05:43 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
popojk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lake Mary, Fl
Posts: 179
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
New OEM satellite radio

Has anyone replaced their OEM radio, without satellite radio, with an OEM radio with satellite? If so, what else did you need to buy, besides the satellite radio service? If I buy one off E-bay does it have a special code to make it work??
popojk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 03-13-2010, 05:48 AM
Rock God
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 841
Feedback: 0 reviews

I'm just guessing here, but I think you would also need the satellite radio antenna. I know I have a special antenna just for Sirius radio mounted above the passenger side B pillar.

08 Unlimited Steel Blue
All Sorts of Crap on it

In the space of about 30 seconds, this man was in a car accident, an explosion, lit aflame and then kicked in the balls with more force than a human foot can technically take.

Future terrorists take note: this is your retirement package.
lockednloaded is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 03-13-2010, 06:09 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Mr.RonGilbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Houston
Age: 49
Posts: 9,140
Garage
Feedback: 6 reviews

I have a portable that I use in the JK, at work, at home etc.... so I am not familiar with the integrated head unit. I am almost certain that the same thing applies though. You will need an antenna and the radio's ID/ESN number once you have the radio installed (simple) and the antenna hooked up (pointed skyward, mine is on the to of the soundbar) you tune to channel 184 and will most likely be getting the "subscribe" channel, just talk - like a Sirius/XM commercial over and over if I remember correctly. You can call them at 1-888-539-SIRIUS (7474) or online here there is a tab that says "activate now"

Should be very simple.

Mr.RonGilbert is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 03-13-2010, 12:39 PM
JKO Addict!
 
eggwhite93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Navarre FL
Age: 42
Posts: 2,961
Feedback: 2 reviews

You will need one of these.
http://www.justforjeeps.com/sisarakit.html

Marc
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2007 2 door Rubicon ROCK KRAWLER - POYL PERFORMANCE - RIVER RAIDER - POISON SPYDER - BILSTIEN - PITBULL - ACE - SMITTYBILT - BLACK ROCK - SUPERCHIPS - SPIDERWEB SHADES

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
eggwhite93 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 03-13-2010, 04:54 PM
Wheeler
 
chili_p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cuban Suburbs (FL Keys)
Age: 36
Posts: 97
Feedback: 0 reviews

I just did this in my 09. I just went to Radio Shack and bought a Sirius antenna it was like $20 or so. Pulled my stock non sat radio put the sat radio in with the antenna hooked up (I put the antenna on the sound bar) and it worked. You will need the ID number off the top of the sat equiped radio. Just call Sirius and they will hook ya up.

2009 JK X 2 Door, Auto, Soft Top, Deep Water Blue Pearl
Terra Flex 2.5" BB,Bed-lined Rubi Rims/Tires, sPOD, FLW Rock Sliders.
Ordered Finishline West Chubby 2.0 now waiting on UPS or FedEx.
My other hobby
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chili_p is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 03-14-2010, 06:17 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
popojk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lake Mary, Fl
Posts: 179
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Thank you; as long as I know it will work without any problems. I didn't want to put the portable sat radio, because it's just another loose item for someone to take.
popojk is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 03-14-2010, 06:25 AM
Granite Guru
 
ksjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Topeka, KS
Age: 54
Posts: 301
Feedback: 0 reviews

NO KIT NEEDED! Just go to an electronics store and buy the antenna with the orange connector. Install, call 800 #.... you got music!
ksjeep is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 03-20-2011, 02:03 PM
JKO Addict!
 
cruzcode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manteca, CA
Age: 43
Posts: 4,084
Feedback: 0 reviews

I'm tearing into mine right now. How did you guys install the antenna to the cage? Tape? Velcro? Roll-bar Bracket?

RC

A lot of chit coming...

W9DRC

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cruzcode is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 03-20-2011, 02:14 PM
JKO Addict!
 
Dr.Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hesperia Ca
Posts: 8,653
Garage
Feedback: 21 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by cruzcode View Post
I'm tearing into mine right now. How did you guys install the antenna to the cage? Tape? Velcro? Roll-bar Bracket?

RC
Mine had a magnet on it, it took like 5 minutes to install
Dr.Dirty is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 03-20-2011, 02:20 PM
JKO Addict!
 
cruzcode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manteca, CA
Age: 43
Posts: 4,084
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Dirty View Post
Mine had a magnet on it, it took like 5 minutes to install
Thanks, Dirty...

I bought the antenna off of eBay, and it came with a ton of cable. Then I bought the cable to connect the antenna to the head unit from the stealership. I think I may have a compatible antenna, that wasn't designed for the JK though. Everywhere I see pictures, the antenna has like 6-7 inches of cable, where mine is really long.

F*** it. I'll tear it apart and check it out.

RC

A lot of chit coming...

W9DRC

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cruzcode is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 03-20-2011, 02:22 PM
JKO Addict!
 
Dr.Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hesperia Ca
Posts: 8,653
Garage
Feedback: 21 reviews

I ran mine along the cage under the padding and ended up with teh antenna right on top of the sound bar between the driver/pass head.
Dr.Dirty is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 03-21-2011, 02:35 AM
JKO Addict!
 
cruzcode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manteca, CA
Age: 43
Posts: 4,084
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Dirty View Post
I ran mine along the cage under the padding and ended up with teh antenna right on top of the sound bar between the driver/pass head.
Yeah, I ran mine in the factory location on top of the sound bar plate, running the wire down the inside the B Pillar, along the floor trim, and into the dash. It looks great.

I can't tell if it works, because the factory satellite radio I bought here online doesn't work, and came from an individual seller. :angry:

RC

A lot of chit coming...

W9DRC

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cruzcode is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 03-22-2011, 08:23 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
popojk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lake Mary, Fl
Posts: 179
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

The OEM radio I bought online didn't work either. When I installed factory fog lights I had to go to the dealer and have them update the computer, so they would work with a factory switch. I wonder if I need to go to the dealer to have the radio turned on??
popojk is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 03-27-2011, 07:12 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
popojk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lake Mary, Fl
Posts: 179
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Does anyone have an answer to buying a used OEM radio, and having to take it to the dealer to have it turned on?
popojk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome