Trickest Cobra 75 Install? (Pics please!) - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 Old 03-10-2010, 10:25 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
cruzcode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manteca, CA
Age: 43
Posts: 4,084
Feedback: 0 reviews
Trickest Cobra 75 Install? (Pics please!)

Alright, who has the trickest Cobra 75 install in their JK???

I'm not trying to re-invent the wheel, so I'd love to see pics of clean installs that do NOT have the CB dominating the interior of the Jeep.

I am a wheeler, but I also like my rig to look clean. I just ordered my CB, Firestik, and gear, so let her rip with the pics!!!!

RC

A lot of chit coming...

W9DRC

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by cruzcode; 03-11-2010 at 08:32 AM.
cruzcode is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 03-10-2010, 10:59 PM
Granite Guru
 
chasinternet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The crux of the biscuit '
Posts: 219
Feedback: 0 reviews

Just about everyone (including me) takes the glovebox out and mounts it on the metal bar running across the bottom.

See:
https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?p=239789
I wouldn't zip tie like in the one pic - use screws (good ground) See md_rubi post in:
https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6883

Microphone placements differ - I made a bracket that mounts to a screw holding the MyGIG. I ran to cord directly to the unit - no panel mount connector, I rarely remove the microphone. See:
https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8747

I didn't like trying to hear that small speaker in the handset so I got the external speaker and placed it under the driver side dash mounted to the metal support bracket by the outside wall. See:
https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?p=359225

Clinging to God and my Jeep keys since 11/10/2007
Lifetime membership: BlueRibbon Coalition, United Four Wheel Drive Associations (UFWDA),
California Association of 4WD Clubs (CA4WDC) - Get involved in Land Use or its no use!

Last edited by chasinternet; 03-10-2010 at 11:02 PM.
chasinternet is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 03-11-2010, 08:21 AM
Rock God
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Elkton, Maryland
Age: 37
Posts: 824
Feedback: 1 reviews

From reading, it seems like the Cobra 75 is a self-contained unit in the handset, there's no actual CB to mount except for the junction box?

2008 Patriot Limited 4x4
2010 Jeep JK Sport 2dr/6spd/3.73's

Go visit
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...and tell your friends!
SmurfJK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 31 Old 03-11-2010, 08:23 AM
Rock God
 
FUN LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Costa Mesa
Age: 36
Posts: 1,986
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmurfJK View Post
From reading, it seems like the Cobra 75 is a self-contained unit in the handset, there's no actual CB to mount except for the junction box?
Right. Well, there is a small unit the size of a deck of cards for all the connections (power, antenna, and CB cable to the hand unit.) I stuck that under my drivers seat, rand the CB cable under my dash, have it coming out and up on the pass side of my center console, and have the CB actually hanging on a bracket that comes out from the side of my radio.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Established April 1, 1983-
No dues, No rules, No President
ALL FUN!
FUN LS1 is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 03-11-2010, 08:38 AM
Rock God
 
owtdorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ahwatukee, AZ
Age: 55
Posts: 1,340
Feedback: 0 reviews

Mounted my box to cross bar under steering column.
Ran extension from box to Daystar switch panel for the mic.
Not complete yet, I am waiting on ext cord.
This weekend should have it completed and tuned.
Mounted my antenna to license bracket/housing.

'09 4dr Rubi Detonator Yellow
35x12.5x17 BFG KM2s they SUCK!
Rugged Ridge XHD bumper Warn 9.5ti
3.5 Mid arm Rock Krawler
Finally 5.13s
owtdorz is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 03-11-2010, 08:41 AM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
cruzcode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manteca, CA
Age: 43
Posts: 4,084
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by chasinternet View Post
Just about everyone (including me) takes the glovebox out and mounts it on the metal bar running across the bottom.

See:
https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?p=239789
I wouldn't zip tie like in the one pic - use screws (good ground) See md_rubi post in:
https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6883

Microphone placements differ - I made a bracket that mounts to a screw holding the MyGIG. I ran to cord directly to the unit - no panel mount connector, I rarely remove the microphone. See:
https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8747

I didn't like trying to hear that small speaker in the handset so I got the external speaker and placed it under the driver side dash mounted to the metal support bracket by the outside wall. See:
https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?p=359225

Thank you. These are good posts, and nice pics to describe the install. I specifically like the speaker mounting in one of your other posts, well done.

RC

A lot of chit coming...

W9DRC

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cruzcode is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 03-11-2010, 08:48 AM
Rock God
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Elkton, Maryland
Age: 37
Posts: 824
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by FUN LS1 View Post
Right. Well, there is a small unit the size of a deck of cards for all the connections (power, antenna, and CB cable to the hand unit.) I stuck that under my drivers seat, rand the CB cable under my dash, have it coming out and up on the pass side of my center console, and have the CB actually hanging on a bracket that comes out from the side of my radio.
Thanks!

How much power does the thing need? Is it hard to wire up?

2008 Patriot Limited 4x4
2010 Jeep JK Sport 2dr/6spd/3.73's

Go visit
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...and tell your friends!
SmurfJK is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 03-11-2010, 08:50 AM
Rock God
 
FUN LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Costa Mesa
Age: 36
Posts: 1,986
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmurfJK View Post
Thanks!

How much power does the thing need? Is it hard to wire up?
I wired it directly to my battery so it'd always work. Very easy to do.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Established April 1, 1983-
No dues, No rules, No President
ALL FUN!
FUN LS1 is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 03-11-2010, 09:03 AM
Rock God
 
owtdorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ahwatukee, AZ
Age: 55
Posts: 1,340
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmurfJK View Post
Thanks!

How much power does the thing need? Is it hard to wire up?
I wired mine to accessory power.
Even when it is turned off and/or mic unplugged it draws power if you wire to constant hot.

'09 4dr Rubi Detonator Yellow
35x12.5x17 BFG KM2s they SUCK!
Rugged Ridge XHD bumper Warn 9.5ti
3.5 Mid arm Rock Krawler
Finally 5.13s
owtdorz is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 03-11-2010, 09:04 AM
Rock God
 
FUN LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Costa Mesa
Age: 36
Posts: 1,986
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by owtdorz View Post
I wired mine to accessory power.
Even when it is turned off and/or mic unplugged it draws power if you wire to constant hot.
Not worried.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Established April 1, 1983-
No dues, No rules, No President
ALL FUN!
FUN LS1 is offline  
post #11 of 31 Old 03-11-2010, 09:12 AM
JKO Addict!
 
GreenAmphibious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,715
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by owtdorz View Post
I wired mine to accessory power.
Even when it is turned off and/or mic unplugged it draws power if you wire to constant hot.
not enough to be concerned with. I like the ability to fire up the CB without having to turn the Jeep on

2015 JKU Sport Virgin
GreenAmphibious is offline  
post #12 of 31 Old 03-11-2010, 11:25 AM
Granite Guru
 
chasinternet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The crux of the biscuit '
Posts: 219
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenAmphibious View Post
not enough to be concerned with. I like the ability to fire up the CB without having to turn the Jeep on
I have mine directly wired too - I was wondering about battery run down if I forgot to turn the CB off - with the engine off and CB on mine draws 82ma - so not going to be a problem unless I left the Jeep off for months.

With the unit off I didn't know it draws anything - nothing measured on the meter - so I got curious.

I just rechecked with a better meter and with the CB off it draws about .01 ma - which may be a power supply capacitor and it would eventually go to zero for a period of time.

Clinging to God and my Jeep keys since 11/10/2007
Lifetime membership: BlueRibbon Coalition, United Four Wheel Drive Associations (UFWDA),
California Association of 4WD Clubs (CA4WDC) - Get involved in Land Use or its no use!
chasinternet is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 03-11-2010, 11:29 AM
Rock God
 
RubiZealot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: PRNJ
Age: 43
Posts: 1,250
Feedback: 0 reviews

Note: that cast metal under the glove box was unfinished and very sharp on mine. wear gloves.

Mike 2010 Rubicon 2DR | RK 3.5 X FACTOR MID ARM | ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
RubiZealot is offline  
post #14 of 31 Old 03-11-2010, 11:36 AM
Granite Guru
 
chasinternet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The crux of the biscuit '
Posts: 219
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by RubiZealot View Post
Note: that cast metal under the glove box was unfinished and very sharp on mine. wear gloves.
But the only way I know something is going to work is when there has been a blood sacrifice.

Clinging to God and my Jeep keys since 11/10/2007
Lifetime membership: BlueRibbon Coalition, United Four Wheel Drive Associations (UFWDA),
California Association of 4WD Clubs (CA4WDC) - Get involved in Land Use or its no use!
chasinternet is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 03-11-2010, 11:56 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Low Country SC
Age: 51
Posts: 2,073
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to benmar2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by chasinternet View Post
But the only way I know something is going to work is when there has been a blood sacrifice.
AMEN to that.. A Blood sacrifice to the Jeep gods.. LOL I think I bleed some on every mod I do..

Vote - Bacon for 2012!!!
Power to the People!!! Time for a Revolution!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcy View Post
roll, roll, roll your joint, twist is at the end, light it up and take a puff now pass it to a friend.
benmar2000 is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 03-13-2010, 05:56 PM
Rock God
 
GOWREVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Around the corner
Age: 46
Posts: 649
Feedback: 0 reviews

I've got the Tuffy Storage Bin, it mounts from the sound bar to the top of the windshield. CB fits inside and it locks all the wires run under the plastic and the antennae is mounted on the front right of the windshield. I used a KC light bracket to mount the antennae.

"Dude, did you see that Green Jeep out in the parking lot?"

"Yeah, its' mine..."
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GOWREVER is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 03-27-2010, 09:47 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
cruzcode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manteca, CA
Age: 43
Posts: 4,084
Feedback: 0 reviews
Question

Guys, how have you all run the cable from front to rear, and into and through the tailgate? Did you run your power wires for the junction box through the drivers side grommet hole and across the firewall, or did you do something else???



Thanks -- RC

A lot of chit coming...

W9DRC

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cruzcode is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 03-29-2010, 07:40 AM
Wheeler
 
tulsarob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tulsa Oklahoma
Age: 64
Posts: 92
Feedback: 0 reviews

I too mounted it behind glove box.

Also found a cable at Radio Shack that plugs into ext speaker on cobra, and then I plug it into aux jack on the jeep radio. Used a little 90 degree plug so it lays flat.

True you can't jam to ACDC or ZZTOP wheelin, but you should prob be payin attention to yer driving anyway lol
tulsarob is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 03-29-2010, 07:46 AM
Rock God
 
bodybrdng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Central Maryland
Age: 36
Posts: 1,663
Garage
Feedback: 3 reviews

I hear yea, I am all about clean installs. Mine CB install looks exactly like this. Borrowed this from " Alec W Guest"

07 JK 2/DR Sahara, 35" Wrangler kevlar, 10k Winch, Garvin Roof Rack, 3" Black Diamond, CatBack Exhaust, RR Gen-1 Snorkel, too much more to list

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
Welcome to JKOWNERS- Home of boobs, guns, meat, and Jeeps.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodybrdng is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 03-30-2010, 09:56 PM
Rock God
 
Tail Rated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 1,289
Feedback: 0 reviews

has anyone grabbed power/ ground under the dash?

I just got everything run up to the front today, but not sure where to grab the power.

I made a bracket and attached my firestick to that, but have not ground it back there. Do I need to ground it back there? If so, any suggestions?
Tail Rated is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 03-31-2010, 07:07 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Fklein6768's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central New Jersey
Age: 51
Posts: 4,828
Feedback: 6 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tail Rated View Post
has anyone grabbed power/ ground under the dash?

I just got everything run up to the front today, but not sure where to grab the power.

I made a bracket and attached my firestick to that, but have not ground it back there. Do I need to ground it back there? If so, any suggestions?
Poke a hole in the foam on the passenger side and wire it to the battery. If you want to tap power elsewhere I belive there is something in the console-Check quadratec they sell something-even if you don't want to buy it you can get an idea where to look for the juice!!
Fklein6768 is offline  
post #22 of 31 Old 03-31-2010, 07:10 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Fklein6768's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central New Jersey
Age: 51
Posts: 4,828
Feedback: 6 reviews

[QUOTE=chasinternet;370522]Just about everyone (including me) takes the glovebox out and mounts it on the metal bar running across the bottom.

See:
https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?p=239789
I wouldn't zip tie like in the one pic - use screws (good ground) See md_rubi post in:
https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6883

Does the unit actually need to be grounded? Just used some industrial strength velcro and stuck it to the back of the lower panel under the glovebox on the passenger side and it works like a charm so far. Will be adding the external speaker shortly!
Fklein6768 is offline  
post #23 of 31 Old 03-31-2010, 10:06 AM
Rock God
 
Tail Rated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 1,289
Feedback: 0 reviews

Thanks guys!!!! WIll run it later today. One last Q: Do I need to ground the antena also? I am going to run straight to the battery as suggested.
Tail Rated is offline  
post #24 of 31 Old 03-31-2010, 10:16 AM
JKO Addict!
 
scottrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St Augustine
Age: 48
Posts: 3,022
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tail Rated View Post
Thanks guys!!!! WIll run it later today. One last Q: Do I need to ground the antena also? I am going to run straight to the battery as suggested.
Depends on how you mount it. For best performance you will want the antenna well grounded.

I've got mine mounted on a tab on my tire swing so it is grounded well. Prior to that I had it mounted on the OEM tire carrier (aluminum) so I had to run a ground wire to the body tub.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
zjr- I'm not that horny, but I have been known to salivate over your meat.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
scottrock is offline  
post #25 of 31 Old 03-31-2010, 05:15 PM
Wheeler
 
Rubicon85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 70
Feedback: 0 reviews

Just a side note, when I originally installed mine I cut a hole in the plastic kick plate under the glove box to run the handset cord to,but after a while your passenger will get tired of having the wire dangling out into their feet/knee area. To solve this, just leave the control box under the glove box as everyone else, but just tuck the cord to the left of the passengers foot area and tuck it under the first part of the center console and clip your handset onto your radio bracket and volia! I wish I would have realized this before cutting the hole in the plastic but ohwell!
Rubicon85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome