Engine Ground Issues - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 12-13-2014, 03:57 PM Thread Starter

Engine Ground Issues

Hey guys, new to the forum. I really need to know what the weak link is in the JK ground. I have a 2015 JKU and the ground system on the vehicle seems to be very poorly engineered. I have a stock jeep and I installed my sound system and a back up camera. When my vehicle is in reverse, and the camera comes on I get tons of interference when / if the sound system is on and bass is hitting at even a normal level. My lights also dim. Before I go any further, I want to say that the system is installed correctly, as I have been a professional installer for 20+ years. With the Jeep JK 160 Amp alternator and it being a brand new vehicle, there is no reason the system should drain the electrical system like it does. I do not want to use a capacitor as t is not needed and is a band-aid (IMO). The two JL AMPS are wired with 4 G wire, and my grounds are about 6 " long. The amps are under the seats and I grounded them to the ground posts on the tranny tunnel (which may be the issue but it shouldn't be if engineered properly). I am not a bass head, It is a small 10" on the tailgate. The back up camera is getting 12V from the reverse light, and grounded to a bolt with paint removed etc on the rear near the roll bar. To the best of my knowledge (and maybe I am missing something) , the grounding on these vehicles is horrible. Can anyone point me to the weakest link? I have heard the Alternator ground is cheesy, and the engine block ground etc. I have not had the time to look under the hood yet. Thanks in advance.

2014 Willy's Wheeler 2D Hard Top Granite Crystal
2015 Willy's Wheeler 4D Hard Top Billet Silver
2001 Grand Cherokee

2.5" TF Spring Lift
PSC Brawler lite front bumper
TF Quick disconnects
Smittybikt X20 10k Winch
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 12-13-2014, 04:07 PM
Wheeler