fog light to off road light - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 10-25-2014, 10:12 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Florida
Age: 46
Posts: 3
Feedback: 0 reviews
fog light to off road light

I just installed a smittybilt front bumper and it has no place for the factory fog lights. If I install some off road lights can I wire them in to the factory harness and use the existing switch?
JoshandChai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-25-2014, 10:38 AM
Rock God
 
Guruman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Thompson Falls, Montana
Age: 48
Posts: 1,288
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

yes, and no.

If the replacements are the same or less wattage, then yes. (I replaced mine with Ridgid D2 Duallies)

However, without using a programmer to change the settings, they will only work with the low-beams, the opposite of what I expect you intended.

The Superchips, and I think the AEV Procal can change this for you.

I wish I could set it up so that they only came on with the high beams, but alas that does not seem to be an option.

_
'76 CJ-7, '43 CJ-2a, '78 Bronco,'78 CJ-7, '75 CJ-5, '78 CJ-7, '80 CJ-7, '78 SJ, '79 SJ, '78 and a '76 FJ-40 , '90 XJ, '91 XJ, '86 CJ-7, '95 ZJ, '68 CJ-101 Commando, '00 TJ, '68 M-715, 2 '86 Military Blazers, '96 LR Discovery, '86 CJ-7, '91 YJ, '99 TJ, 07' JKU Rubi, 1988 YJ, 1973 Commando, 3 Diesel Excursions....
Now back to a 2013 JKU Rubicon with "stuff", planning 37's with minimal lift.

I've tried them all... Jeeps are still the best. (0||||0)
Guruman is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-25-2014, 11:12 AM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Age: 64
Posts: 241
Feedback: 0 reviews

As said above ,yes and no . I use the factory fog lite switch to switch relays for my extra lighting , fused direct from the battery terminals . When stalk switch energizes all relays energize , then switch each set of lite's has it's own switch for ease of selection . Easy Peasy.....regards k
slick pickel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 10-25-2014, 11:17 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Florida
Age: 46
Posts: 3
Feedback: 0 reviews

Thanks for the help. I would prefer to have them come on when I want them on. Will decide how to proceed.
JoshandChai is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-28-2014, 02:42 AM
Rock God
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Peachland, Okanagan valley, BC
Posts: 1,060
Feedback: 0 reviews

I have superchips. How do you program for the driving lights to come on with high Beams?

Thanks.

JKUR auto | 5:38 | tires 36"x17 wheels 9"x4.5"bs | TF 6"| ASFIR bumpers, skids | SuperWinch EPi9.5 | RCV shafts | SC traildash | Xenon fenders | OBA York

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JeepUpKeep37s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome