In Cab Winch Control? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 Old 01-29-2010, 06:42 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
medcop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lake City, FL
Posts: 295
Feedback: 0 reviews
In Cab Winch Control?

Just wondering what people are doing for in cab winch control.

I would like to mount controls inside the cab....products on the market?

Enjoying life!
medcop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 01-29-2010, 06:44 AM
ADDICTION II build begins....
 
TXROCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Texas
Age: 46
Posts: 3,833
Feedback: 1 reviews

If you have a Warn, there is a wireless controller!

Also, there are some threads on here regarding in-cabin controls. I think 12-Volt Guy is making some as well.
https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showth...=winch+control

U.S. Army
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by TXROCK; 01-29-2010 at 06:50 AM.
TXROCK is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 01-29-2010, 07:13 AM
JKO Addict!
 
scottrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St Augustine
Age: 48
Posts: 3,022
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

A cheap solution:

I disassembled a spare remote and stuck it in the dash. Wires are routed through the firewall up to the control box.

It's still a work in progress. I think I'll pop some rivets in each corner and would like to add a safety toggle above for a cutoff switch. Oh and I may drill holes for the red & green LED's.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
zjr- I'm not that horny, but I have been known to salivate over your meat.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
scottrock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 Old 01-29-2010, 07:13 AM
JKowners Vendor
 
njjeepthing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Edge of the Pines, NJ
Posts: 814
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to njjeepthing Send a message via Yahoo to njjeepthing

Quote:
Originally Posted by TXROCK View Post
If you have a Warn, there is a wireless controller!


X2, best little gadget I ever got!

FOR RENT
njjeepthing is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 01-29-2010, 08:01 AM
Rock God
 
ynkedad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Fl.
Age: 52
Posts: 1,462
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Curious...

How does one retract the cable, ensuring it spools correctly w/the remote inside the cab?

I ask cuz I like the idea of an in cab remote, but I have the above concern.

I Freakin' Love My JEEP!! Hey, you in the Hummer..
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I Love and Miss You Brodude..RIP.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ynkedad is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 01-29-2010, 08:28 AM
Rock God
 
chromedome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,044
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by ynkedad View Post
How does one retract the cable, ensuring it spools correctly w/the remote inside the cab?

I ask cuz I like the idea of an in cab remote, but I have the above concern.
You don't. Usually your pulls will only be a few feet, just enough to get you unstuck. How the cable spools for those few feet probably won't make much difference (especially if you use synthetic line). It's always a good idea to respool the cable you've used by hand at the end of the day. IMHO
chromedome is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 01-29-2010, 08:31 AM
ADDICTION II build begins....
 
TXROCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Texas
Age: 46
Posts: 3,833
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by chromedome View Post
You don't. Usually your pulls will only be a few feet, just enough to get you unstuck. How the cable spools for those few feet probably won't make much difference (especially if you use synthetic line). It's always a good idea to respool the cable you've used by hand at the end of the day. IMHO
x2...

U.S. Army
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TXROCK is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 01-29-2010, 09:33 AM
JKO Addict!
 
scottrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St Augustine
Age: 48
Posts: 3,022
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by ynkedad View Post
How does one retract the cable, ensuring it spools correctly w/the remote inside the cab?

I ask cuz I like the idea of an in cab remote, but I have the above concern.
I still tote a hand control remote. Both in-cab and hand held plug into the control box. I've thought of hard wiring it in down the road.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
zjr- I'm not that horny, but I have been known to salivate over your meat.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
scottrock is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 01-29-2010, 09:46 AM
Wheeler
 
Stickerboy111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Quesnel BC Canada
Age: 44
Posts: 97
Feedback: 0 reviews

I don't have a winch YET But IMO, most of the winches come with a controller long enough to reach the cab anyway. So my question is. What would the need be for this in cab switch? You have to get out to hook up all your line and snatches etc... anyway. I don't know but like I said I don't have one yet so I really can't say either way. More curious myself as to why.

2008 Unlimited Rubicon JK
Detonator Yellow
2" Zone Offroad Spacer lift
SuperWinch LP8500
128CH Kenwood VHF
Cobra 40ch CB
Custom Axe&Shovel holder
Custom Jerry Can Holder
48" Highlift
Air Compressor
Rampage Grab Handles
Congo Rack

"Good roads bring BAD people, Bad roads bring GOOD people"

Was I banned? Hell Ya
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Eddie is an Ass Clown
Stickerboy111 is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 01-29-2010, 10:35 AM
Wheeler
 
weinaug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Apopka,FL
Age: 21
Posts: 24
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to weinaug

i have the kit from 12 volt guy, although i havent been able to figure out how to open my winch so i haven't installed it yet

http://12voltguy.com/web/index.php?p...mart&Itemid=43

2008 Black Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
Fully Loaded

MODS
Expedtion One Trail Series Bumper-Expedition One Trail Series Rear Bumper-Warn 9.5ti-Teraflex 2.5in Lift-ProComp 17inRock Crawler Series 52 Black Steel Wheels-35" BFG KM2s-AEV Ram Air Snorkel-River Raiders Limb Risers-Hella Black Magic Driving Lights on Mopar Mounts
weinaug is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 01-29-2010, 12:41 PM
Wheeler
 
BadTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 44
Feedback: 0 reviews

I bought a cable from this person
https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6203

I have an auto so I bought the Daystar lower panel.

Someone with the wireless from warn. Will it operate the air on the powerplant? Do you know if there is one that will? I like to have the air ready, which is why I want the in cab solution.
BadTime is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 01-29-2010, 12:43 PM
Wheeler
 
BadTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 44
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by ynkedad View Post
How does one retract the cable, ensuring it spools correctly w/the remote inside the cab?

I ask cuz I like the idea of an in cab remote, but I have the above concern.
Actually I'm usually pulling others out. I make them crawl in the dirt and hook up. They are also responsible for the respooling.
BadTime is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 01-29-2010, 04:29 PM
Rock God
 
ynkedad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Fl.
Age: 52
Posts: 1,462
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
LOL..

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadTime View Post
Actually I'm usually pulling others out. I make them crawl in the dirt and hook up. They are also responsible for the respooling.
Makes perfect sense! Why should You be the one getting dirty!

I Freakin' Love My JEEP!! Hey, you in the Hummer..
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I Love and Miss You Brodude..RIP.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ynkedad is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 01-29-2010, 06:36 PM
JKowners Vendor
 
sPOD-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: So. Cal USA
Posts: 472
Feedback: 12 reviews

This is what I have been using!

http://www.warn.com/atv/winches/wireless_remote.shtml
Attached Images
 

-John the sPOD guy
switches jeeps panels jk-forum carling contura led switch windshield
sPOD-guy is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 01-29-2010, 06:36 PM
Rock God
 
doc307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 757
Feedback: 2 reviews

I did the same thing as scottrock. I had a spare controller so I mounted the switch from it in my dash.

2014 Rubi Unlimited

2008 2dr X SOLD
with some chit on it
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
doc307 is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 02-02-2010, 11:10 PM
Granite Guru
 
12voltguy.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: oroville ca
Age: 54
Posts: 236
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by weinaug View Post
i have the kit from 12 volt guy, although i havent been able to figure out how to open my winch so i haven't installed it yet

http://12voltguy.com/web/index.php?p...mart&Itemid=43
http://12voltguy.com/web/index.php?p...mart&Itemid=43
i made up a new one for JKs

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadTime View Post
I bought a cable from this person
https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6203

I have an auto so I bought the Daystar lower panel.

Someone with the wireless from warn. Will it operate the air on the powerplant? Do you know if there is one that will? I like to have the air ready, which is why I want the in cab solution.
that guy stopped making the cable kit


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

COVER of 4Wheeler mag DEC 2010...right now
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
530.532.4529
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
12voltguy.com is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 02-03-2010, 09:42 AM
JKO Addict!
 
SONIC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bell Buckle, TN
Posts: 3,730
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by sPOD-guy View Post
Do you know what models that works on?

Yes, but there's just something about him. Something around the eyes, I don't know, reminds me of... me. No. I'm sure of it, I hate him.
-Doc Holiday
Why are you highlighting my sig? You Bastard!
SONIC is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 02-03-2010, 10:05 AM
Granite Guru
 
SoCal147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Apple Valley Kalifornia
Age: 58
Posts: 349
Feedback: 0 reviews
I did this.

https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20611


I moved the solenoid pack inside. Keeps it out of the weather and convenient for the control pad.

2009 JK Rubicon:
SoCal147 is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 02-03-2010, 11:00 AM
Broker by the Minute
 
MichaelW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cartoon City Nirvana
Posts: 3,827
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stickerboy111 View Post
I don't have a winch YET But IMO, most of the winches come with a controller long enough to reach the cab anyway. So my question is. What would the need be for this in cab switch? You have to get out to hook up all your line and snatches etc... anyway. I don't know but like I said I don't have one yet so I really can't say either way. More curious myself as to why.
I have the powerplant. It is nice to be able to turn it on from in the cab without hooking up the controller. Especially for airing up. Most cables are long enough to reach the cab for sure, but it is just easier if th controls are there. Plus as you will find out once you get a winch, sometimes your cable/line goes slack or your good friends think it is funny to freespool you. Oh and if the controller is in the cab, you can tie down your front end to the axle and use it to further control your sway, on the fly.
MichaelW is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 02-03-2010, 11:09 AM
Rock God
 
Xtremjeepn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 931
Feedback: 0 reviews

Here is what I did on my TJ. Have not gotten around to it yet on the JK.

The switch that looks factory on the side of the steering column is the winch switch. It is wired to a pigtail that you must plug into the winch just like the normal winch controller.(this keeps the winch safe, and you have to walk up to the winch anyway to use it)

Push the back of the button for "in" and the front for "out". I put it here to keep it TOTALLY out of the reach of passengers and you can simply reach in the window and opperate it if need be on the trail.


__________
Cole Ford
Xtremjeepn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome