FREE LIGHTS!! - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 08:20 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Locked in a basement
Posts: 16,621
Feedback: 0 reviews
FREE LIGHTS!!

One of my co- workers was at an auto shop yesterday and saw a bar with 5 daylightersounted on it sticking out of the dumpster. The guy working there said that they still work, so she snagged it for me. WOO HOO!!

There's a little surface rust, so I'll hafta sand & paint em but I think it should work out. Looks like it'll fit on my grill perfectly with minimal cutting too.

So what do I need to get these puppies lit up?



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

Last edited by Dancin Dan; 01-19-2010 at 01:19 PM. Reason: removed broken pics cuz I'm pictarded
Dancin Dan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 09:07 AM
Slow and Low
 
Co4Lo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Age: 46
Posts: 5,305
Feedback: 4 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancin Dan View Post
So what do I need to get these puppies lit up?

Electricity.
Co4Lo is offline  
post #3 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 09:11 AM
JKO Addict!
 
andrelopez99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Uvalde, TX
Age: 38
Posts: 2,364
Garage
Feedback: 2 reviews

flux capacitor

08 Rubicon - AWE FAWK TOO MUCH TO LIST!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
andrelopez99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 09:31 AM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venice, Fl
Age: 33
Posts: 478
Feedback: 0 reviews

A title that doesn't make me think ur giving away free lights
DanNEBTD is offline  
post #5 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 09:57 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Locked in a basement
Posts: 16,621
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanNEBTD View Post
A title that doesn't make me think ur giving away free lights
Sorry - I'z an excited little monkey.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
Dancin Dan is offline  
post #6 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 09:59 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Locked in a basement
Posts: 16,621
Feedback: 0 reviews

I should have been more specific:

I've never wired up lights on a vehicle, so I'm wondering what EQUIPMENT I'll need in addition to the flux capacitor and electricity.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
Dancin Dan is offline  
post #7 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 10:00 AM
Openly Hostile
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Age: 41
Posts: 6,984
Feedback: 4 reviews

You will need wire, fuses, relays, and switches.

Jason
SDMF is offline  
post #8 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 10:05 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Locked in a basement
Posts: 16,621
Feedback: 0 reviews

Thanks Jason.

Any specific guage wire that should be used from the battery to the relay?
If I'm running 55W daylighters x5, what amperage would I want it to cut off at?
Relays? <-- Im retarded when it comes to automotive lighting. I've heard the term before but I'm not sure what this does.
I'm thinking switches will be a matter of personal preferance as far as placement.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
Dancin Dan is offline  
post #9 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 10:18 AM
Openly Hostile
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Age: 41
Posts: 6,984
Feedback: 4 reviews

I use 14 gauge wire on my lights. You can get relays that have dual terminals so you can use one relay for two lights. I'm sure a little searching will turn up some wiring diagrams that will help you out.

Jason
SDMF is offline  
post #10 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 10:29 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Locked in a basement
Posts: 16,621
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDMF View Post
I use 14 gauge wire on my lights. You can get relays that have dual terminals so you can use one relay for two lights. I'm sure a little searching will turn up some wiring diagrams that will help you out.
Too funny, that was going to be one of my next questions, since I want 2 of them to run in connection with my stock fogs and the other 3 to run on a different switch. I'll start my seaching and post back when I get confused.

Shouldn't take long



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
Dancin Dan is offline  
post #11 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 10:32 AM
Openly Hostile
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Age: 41
Posts: 6,984
Feedback: 4 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancin Dan View Post

Shouldn't take long
To find your answer, or to get confused?

Jason
SDMF is offline  
post #12 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 11:08 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Locked in a basement
Posts: 16,621
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDMF View Post
To find your answer, or to get confused?
Yes.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
Dancin Dan is offline  
post #13 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 04:29 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Locked in a basement
Posts: 16,621
Feedback: 0 reviews
Testing lights before install

So these are lights that I'm not sure work. I'm told they work but I only believe what I can see. Would hooking them up to a voltmeter tell me if they work? I'm pretty sure hooking them straight to the battery would fry them, so how do I make sure these even work before I go through the entire install?



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
Dancin Dan is offline  
post #14 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 04:36 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venice, Fl
Age: 33
Posts: 478
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancin Dan View Post
So these are lights that I'm not sure work. I'm told they work but I only believe what I can see. Would hooking them up to a voltmeter tell me if they work? I'm pretty sure hooking them straight to the battery would fry them, so how do I make sure these even work before I go through the entire install?
you can hook them up to a batt for testing no problem . .they're 12v so just take the two leads and put one on (+) and one on (-) lol . . . it wont make a difference in polarity either (meaning it wont fry it. . so if one way doesnt work then try switching the positive and negative leads just to be sure. . . best bet would be to fuse it but if you're smart and just testing then you'll be fine without one.
DanNEBTD is offline  
post #15 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Locked in a basement
Posts: 16,621
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanNEBTD View Post
you can hook them up to a batt for testing no problem . .they're 12v so just take the two leads and put one on (+) and one on (-) lol . . . it wont make a difference in polarity either (meaning it wont fry it. . so if one way doesnt work then try switching the positive and negative leads just to be sure. . . best bet would be to fuse it but if you're smart and just testing then you'll be fine without one.
So you're saying I CAN book em straight to a jeep battery to test em?

Something tells me you're still mad i'm not giving away free lights...



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
Dancin Dan is offline  
post #16 of 67 Old 01-19-2010, 08:39 PM
Openly Hostile
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Age: 41
Posts: 6,984
Feedback: 4 reviews

Of course you can hook them straight up to test!

Jason
SDMF is offline  
post #17 of 67 Old 01-20-2010, 03:06 AM
Wheeler
 
2008Rubicon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Age: 42
Posts: 67
Feedback: 0 reviews

sPOD
2008Rubicon is offline  
post #18 of 67 Old 01-20-2010, 04:59 AM
Rock God
 
ynkedad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Fl.
Age: 52
Posts: 1,462
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Congrats of the good find..the friend who's looking out for you and the lights!!!

Oh, and in case you're still looking for re-assurance on testing the light's. YES you can hook'em up to the battery to test them.

I Freakin' Love My JEEP!! Hey, you in the Hummer..
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I Love and Miss You Brodude..RIP.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ynkedad is offline  
post #19 of 67 Old 01-20-2010, 05:16 AM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venice, Fl
Age: 33
Posts: 478
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancin Dan View Post
So you're saying I CAN book em straight to a jeep battery to test em?

Something tells me you're still mad i'm not giving away free lights...
yes to both
DanNEBTD is offline  
post #20 of 67 Old 01-20-2010, 12:28 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Locked in a basement
Posts: 16,621
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2008Rubicon View Post
sPOD
Ouch - too spendy! I'm both too cheap and too broke to buy one of those.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanNEBTD View Post
yes to both
LOL. I swore you were screwing with me just to see the
"Holyfuckinshit, I just blew up a light in my hands!" post afterwards.

So I can touch the +/- wires straight to the terminals on the battery and if they work, I should see the lamps work? I want to be really sure I'm doing it right, since I have no interest in being lit up by a Jeep battery.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

Last edited by Dancin Dan; 01-20-2010 at 12:35 PM. Reason: ...Really wanna be sure before I do this...
Dancin Dan is offline  
post #21 of 67 Old 01-20-2010, 01:01 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: spencer, indiana
Age: 41
Posts: 123
Feedback: 0 reviews

you will be fine to just test that way. when wiring them in you should use relays fuses etc... for safety reason. you don't want to catch your jeep on fire now do you.

2010 Rubicon unlimited / rock krawler long arm
ome +40 long travel lift / 17 spyderlocks / 38 bfg km2's/ 5.38 gears/ sleeves
poison spyder customs crusher flares/ body armor/ diff covers/rocker knockers
lod stubby ftont and rear/ evap skid/ coast driveshaft 1310/ rcv & superior axle shafts
warn powerplant / aev drag link flip/ currie tie rod/ reid knuckles, prosteer ball joints
c2 gussets and lca skids/ rock stars/ speed bumps/ rk tranny pan/ redneck ram hydro assist
codysanders is offline  
post #22 of 67 Old 01-20-2010, 02:54 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venice, Fl
Age: 33
Posts: 478
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancin Dan View Post
Ouch - too spendy! I'm both too cheap and too broke to buy one of those.


LOL. I swore you were screwing with me just to see the
"Holyfuckinshit, I just blew up a light in my hands!" post afterwards.

So I can touch the +/- wires straight to the terminals on the battery and if they work, I should see the lamps work? I want to be really sure I'm doing it right, since I have no interest in being lit up by a Jeep battery.
12v wont really be enough to "light you up" . . . if you want to play it safe you can just take each one of the leads and plug them into a wall socket in your house






















Disclaimer: . . DO NOT DO THAT
DanNEBTD is offline  
post #23 of 67 Old 01-20-2010, 03:14 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Locked in a basement
Posts: 16,621
Feedback: 0 reviews

@ Cody - Yup, I'm still in the testing phase to make sure they're gonna work once I get everything I need, switches, relays and fuses being among the needed items. Not to mention that I'm having a helluva time finding a flux capacitor that's JK compatible...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanNEBTD View Post
12v wont really be enough to "light you up" . . . if you want to play it safe you can just take each one of the leads and plug them into a wall socket in your house

Disclaimer: . . DO NOT DO THAT
Aw come on, even I know that my house doesn't run on 12V DC. It's 12V AC


^^Yeah, I know.^^



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
Dancin Dan is offline  
post #24 of 67 Old 01-20-2010, 11:35 PM
Rock God
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Whitehorse Yukon
Posts: 911
Feedback: 0 reviews

I know not having any experience in wiring or lights, I had a friend help me the first time (which was last month). As I've sold the XJ for a JK, I'm again doing lights... and this time around, I can already visulize (sp?) how I'm going to wire things... and while a helping hand would be nice, it's certainly not the same daughting task it was last time around.

Ask lots of questions, and make sure you understand what you're being told... it'll make life easier next time around
Riptide is offline  
post #25 of 67 Old 01-22-2010, 02:29 PM
Wheeler
 
JulianK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Age: 58
Posts: 70
Feedback: 0 reviews

This is a good generic wiring diagram for you. If you don't want the lights to come on with the high beams (as shown) just connect the wire going to "Passenger Side Headlight" to any auxiliary 12V source instead...some people use the dash 12V socket to connect it to. One of them powers on only when the ignition switch has contact. This way your lights wont come on without the Jeep being on. This diagram is also really good for showing how to wire the relay....and you WANT a relay!

P.S. the little '25A' squigly thing coming off the battery is an inline fuse!...and yes, you want a fuse too!!!
Attached Images
 
JulianK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome