aux light switch in stock panel - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 01-15-2010, 11:38 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: OKC
Age: 45
Posts: 4
Feedback: 0 reviews
aux light switch in stock panel

I got the idea from a guy on the other forum. Thought I'd post here to help someone out.

I took the console panel apart and removed the hazard light/ESP switch panel out (I have an X so plenty of spare switch openings).

This is a great place for switches but these switches are tight fitting in here. I even had to cut the end of the tabs because it was too deep and hitting the circuit board. I found this switch at Autozone.










BigdaddyH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 01-16-2010, 08:00 AM
Rock God
 
ynkedad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Fl.
Age: 53
Posts: 1,462
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Looks good...I like it!

I Freakin' Love My JEEP!! Hey, you in the Hummer..
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I Love and Miss You Brodude..RIP.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ynkedad is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 01-28-2010, 11:46 AM
Wheeler
 
Joe C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 88
Feedback: 0 reviews

I like that switch location. Looks good.

Got another question for you though. I have the same CB and was wondering how you did the install. What mount is that, how it's hung up there, did you get a different clip for the back? and how you wired it? Pics would be awesome if you've got any. Thanks in advance.

2017 4 Door Rubicon
Midland 75-822 with 3' Firestik
Joe C is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 01-28-2010, 08:03 PM
Rock God
 
dtcc687's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Woodbury Heights, nj
Age: 31
Posts: 1,405
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

looks good. like the idea a lot. just dont know if i would have used that bit to drill that hole

Steel Blue 07 2dr
"Its the A.M bitches, its time for donuts!"
Jersey
..
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
..
Crew
dtcc687 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 01-28-2010, 08:06 PM
JKO Addict!
 
SONIC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bell Buckle, TN
Posts: 3,730
Feedback: 1 reviews

looks nice, but was it worth it?
Mine are above the driver speaker and took 10 minutes tops

Yes, but there's just something about him. Something around the eyes, I don't know, reminds me of... me. No. I'm sure of it, I hate him.
-Doc Holiday
Why are you highlighting my sig? You Bastard!
SONIC is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 01-29-2010, 10:17 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: OKC
Age: 45
Posts: 4
Feedback: 0 reviews

Joe C, take a look at this photo, it might answer some questions.



I used the cooltech versa mount. http://www.cooltechllc.com/jeep/jk_versamount.shtml

I bought the mount second hand from a guy that had bolted on the cb receiver clip but my Midland has a belt clip on it already. I took off the cb receiver clip and just slid the belt clip from the Midland over the plate. It stays put nicely.

I'd say the aux switch location mod was worth the hassle but it's one of those preference things. I hate wasted features so adding a switch to a blank switch hole makes since. I just didn't want to drill a hole in the console somewhere and have to see it everytime I get in and out. The aux switch is out of the way and unless you know to look for it, you wouldn't know it was custom.
BigdaddyH is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 01-29-2010, 10:27 PM
Wheeler
 
Joe C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 88
Feedback: 0 reviews

Thanks for the explanation BigDaddyH. That pic explains all my questions. I wasn't sure how well the belt clip would stay on the versamount so thanks for the input. Again, nice work in the installs.

2017 4 Door Rubicon
Midland 75-822 with 3' Firestik
Joe C is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 01-30-2010, 10:59 PM
Granite Guru
 
JimmyJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lebanon, OH
Age: 43
Posts: 356
Feedback: 2 reviews

Is there a battery of switches for THAT area? Do some models utilize all 5 switches? I'd like to make use out those switches first b4 mounting a switch on top of a switch. Just my opinion.

End result was nice and clean - kudos!

08 Detonator Yellow JKU sold 04MAR2013
-Patriot, Vet, Christian, Son, Brother, Father, Husband, Friend, blue collar Irish guy-
JimmyJK is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 01-31-2010, 01:57 AM
Granite Guru
 
Gavitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Maple Ridge, BC
Age: 41
Posts: 128
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyJK View Post
Is there a battery of switches for THAT area? Do some models utilize all 5 switches? I'd like to make use out those switches first b4 mounting a switch on top of a switch. Just my opinion.

End result was nice and clean - kudos!
He put the switch where my e-locker switch goes. North american Rubicons use 4 of the 5, for diffs, swaybar, hazards & esp. Some euro models have an electric headlight adjustment switch that goes in spot #5, but it's all canbus, so you can't just re-purpose the unused ones.
Gavitron is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 02-08-2010, 01:01 AM
Granite Guru
 
LaxinFish29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Damascus, MD
Age: 36
Posts: 263
Feedback: 0 reviews

very nice! Looks factory.
LaxinFish29 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 02-02-2013, 05:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Feedback: 0 reviews
great idea

how did you remove the switch panel?
Artic12 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 02-03-2013, 07:54 AM
JKO Addict!
 
TCdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Woodstock, Ga
Age: 50
Posts: 3,720
Garage
Feedback: 2 reviews
aux light switch in stock panel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artic12 View Post
how did you remove the switch panel?
This shows you how.

http://youtu.be/bebj-0ynPsg

TC
Crawling For Reid March 23, 2019 Adventure OffRoad Park


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TCdawg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome