scangauge 2 - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 Old 11-23-2009, 10:29 AM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
BLACK JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 514
Feedback: 0 reviews
scangauge 2

will it allow trans. temp readings for the auto?

http://www.scangauge.com/buy/index.shtml

2012 ARCTIC
SILVER. 2 DOOR.
IN SERVICE 12/17/11
BLACK JK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 11-23-2009, 12:11 PM
Granite Guru
 
jdrogers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 199
Feedback: 0 reviews

Don't know about the ScanGauge2. I do know the Aeroforce Interceptor will...

Why not just go to your local AutoZone and buy one and see. You should be able to return right away if it doesn't.

2007 Stone White Rubicon
jdrogers is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 11-24-2009, 12:34 PM
TrailDuty.com
 
PhilD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,205
Feedback: 5 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLACK JK View Post
will it allow trans. temp readings for the auto?
No. They are working on it and sent me some commands to try out a while ago, but they didn't work.

In retrospect I would have gone with the Aeroforce (or even a DashDaq), as it would have saved me installing a separate trans temp gauge.
PhilD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 24 Old 11-24-2009, 01:14 PM
Rock God
 
seer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southwest Colorado
Posts: 1,503
Feedback: 0 reviews

I could never get the scanguage to read trans temp either. It will scan and clear problem codes for you. It is about $100 cheaper than the Aeroforce gauge, but the Aeroforce will do more. And to my eye, look better.

BEER Helping me do stupid things to my JK since 2007!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
seer is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 11-24-2009, 01:46 PM
Granite Guru
 
Krunchytaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 400
Feedback: 0 reviews

I've heard the Aeroforce will also allow the lockers to work in any gear??
Is that true?

Sorry for the hi-jak!
Krunchytaco is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 11-24-2009, 04:56 PM
JKO Addict!
 
bodyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Shit Creek, Texas
Age: 42
Posts: 4,013
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krunchytaco View Post
I've heard the Aeroforce will also allow the lockers to work in any gear??
Is that true?

Sorry for the hi-jak!
Not unless they have an update,mine doesn't allow it. You can turn the esp completely off.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodyguy is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 12-28-2011, 07:43 PM
Granite Guru
 
RGJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 41
Posts: 226
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by seer View Post
I could never get the scanguage to read trans temp either. It will scan and clear problem codes for you. It is about $100 cheaper than the Aeroforce gauge, but the Aeroforce will do more. And to my eye, look better.
What gauge po is that? It looks great!! did you make it or buy it.

Thanks
Dom

2008 Rescue Green JKU Sahara
RGJK is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 01-05-2012, 09:16 AM
Rock God
 
seer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southwest Colorado
Posts: 1,503
Feedback: 0 reviews

Sorry, hadn't seen this post. It's a pod from Camp over at COP4X4. I won it in a contest. It comes carbon fiber, but that stuff hypnotizes me so I found some Krylon charcoal colored vinyl paint and did a light sanding, then painted it. That paint really matches the interior.

BEER Helping me do stupid things to my JK since 2007!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
seer is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 01-05-2012, 11:13 AM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 20
Feedback: 0 reviews

I discussed Trans Fluid Temp with ScanGauge and finally have it working on my '10 JK.

You need an ECU Wake-Up Code displayed on the screen along with a Trans Fluid Temp code. Without it, the computer won't display a TFT reading. Here are the codes that worked on my '10:

Wake Up ECU
TXD: 07E01092
RXF: 045025920000
RXD: 3808
MTH: 000100010000
NAM: ECU

Transmission Fluid Temperature (Degrees F)
TXD: 07E022B010
RXF: 046205B00610
RXD: 3010
MTH: 000100400000
NAM: TFT

Have those on-screen together and you should be all set.

Hope that helps other JK/JKU owners with a ScanGauge II!


2010 Black 2-Door Wrangler Mountain
ACE Engineering Mid-Width front bumper & rock sliders
Paramount Restyling rear bumper
285/70R17 Goodyear Duratracs on Pro-Comp 7032 wheels
Books1 is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 01-06-2012, 12:58 AM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 188
Feedback: 0 reviews

I'll try this on my 2010 this weekend.

Thanks!


Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
Wubicon is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 01-06-2012, 03:11 AM
Rock God
 
mrsig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Davie, Fl
Posts: 842
Feedback: 0 reviews

Do you think it will work with my 07? I can't find my directions how do I do it. Thanks

07 JKU, To see my mods & Jeep in Action @
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CEO of Black Sheep 4x4s
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Member of CCJ, White Jeep Club Member #137.
mrsig is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 01-06-2012, 10:42 AM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 20
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsig View Post
Do you think it will work with my 07? I can't find my directions how do I do it. Thanks
It should unless there were any major PCM / CANBUS changes. Won't hurt any to try. The worst thing that happens is you don't get a reading. You need to add these in as additional XGAUGES. Depending on the software revision of your SG2, the process to add an XGAUGE may vary. On mine you step through the menus (bottom right button, then select more) until you find XGAUGE and add the codes I typed above. After you save them, go to the main screen where your gauges are displayed. Cycle through and display both the wake up code and the tft code on the sg2 simultaneously.

Let us know if it works!


2010 Black 2-Door Wrangler Mountain
ACE Engineering Mid-Width front bumper & rock sliders
Paramount Restyling rear bumper
285/70R17 Goodyear Duratracs on Pro-Comp 7032 wheels
Books1 is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 01-06-2012, 12:12 PM
TrailDuty.com
 
PhilD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,205
Feedback: 5 reviews

It works fine for an 07.

FWIW Once you have the temp displaying you can switch the ECU display to something else, it just needs it to turn it on, but does need it every time you start the vehicle.

The ScanGauge TFT reading is about 15F higher than my pan mounted sensor, which is about what I'd expect. I don't know where the factory sensor is, but I'm guessing in the body somewhere.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PhilD is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 01-06-2012, 12:57 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Montrose CO & Palm Desert CA
Posts: 135
Feedback: 0 reviews

It works in my '08 also -

I've waited a long time for this - thanks Books1!
road_king is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 01-06-2012, 01:50 PM
Rock God
 
mrsig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Davie, Fl
Posts: 842
Feedback: 0 reviews

Thanks going to try it now.

07 JKU, To see my mods & Jeep in Action @
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CEO of Black Sheep 4x4s
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Member of CCJ, White Jeep Club Member #137.
mrsig is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 01-07-2012, 02:54 AM
Rock God
 
mrsig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Davie, Fl
Posts: 842
Feedback: 0 reviews

Got them both in but it dose not show any numbers..

07 JKU, To see my mods & Jeep in Action @
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CEO of Black Sheep 4x4s
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Member of CCJ, White Jeep Club Member #137.
mrsig is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 01-07-2012, 07:05 AM
TrailDuty.com
 
PhilD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,205
Feedback: 5 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsig View Post
Got them both in but it dose not show any numbers..
If they are correct and working right you should see the ECU display change from OFF to ON. Once it switches to ON then the temp should pop up.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PhilD is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 01-09-2012, 03:42 AM
Rock God
 
mrsig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Davie, Fl
Posts: 842
Feedback: 0 reviews

Rechecked the configuration for ECU and TFT is all correct I put up the ECU than TFT start the Jeep and still nothing. What did I mess up?

07 JKU, To see my mods & Jeep in Action @
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CEO of Black Sheep 4x4s
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Member of CCJ, White Jeep Club Member #137.
mrsig is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 01-09-2012, 09:34 AM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 20
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsig View Post
Rechecked the configuration for ECU and TFT is all correct I put up the ECU than TFT start the Jeep and still nothing. What did I mess up?
What year is your Jeep? If it's working on an 07, 08, and 10, unless you're newer and there were any CANBUS revisions, I don't see why it wouldn't work.

Glad it has helped everyone else. I may be a newb here, but at least I'm making a good first impression. LOL

EDIT: Also what does the ECU code display? If it is blank, something is wrong somewhere.


2010 Black 2-Door Wrangler Mountain
ACE Engineering Mid-Width front bumper & rock sliders
Paramount Restyling rear bumper
285/70R17 Goodyear Duratracs on Pro-Comp 7032 wheels
Books1 is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 01-10-2012, 02:49 AM
Rock God
 
mrsig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Davie, Fl
Posts: 842
Feedback: 0 reviews

It is a 07 This is what I have to try again "Cycle through and display both the wake up code and the tft code on the sg2 simultaneously."
The Jeep should be running when I do this correct? I have tried to do the 2 buttons at the same time but I can't get it to show on for the ECU...
Dose it matter what number (5, 20, ect?)is given to the X gauge?
Thanks guys

07 JKU, To see my mods & Jeep in Action @
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CEO of Black Sheep 4x4s
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Member of CCJ, White Jeep Club Member #137.
mrsig is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 01-10-2012, 06:00 AM
TrailDuty.com
 
PhilD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,205
Feedback: 5 reviews

You don't need to cycle through anything. As long as the ECU and TFT options are up at the same time it should work.

ECU will initially say OFF then switch to ON, once it does that the TFT will be displayed.

It shouldn't make any difference what memory location they are stored in.

If you are not getting OFF or ON displayed next to ECU then something is either wrong with that code or there is a problem with the ScanGauge itself.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PhilD is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 01-10-2012, 08:32 AM
Rock God
 
mrsig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Davie, Fl
Posts: 842
Feedback: 0 reviews

Thanks guys I works now...
TXD: 07F01092 is what I had the F looked like the E in the unit. Now it is TXD: 07E01092.
Thanks again guys..

07 JKU, To see my mods & Jeep in Action @
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CEO of Black Sheep 4x4s
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Member of CCJ, White Jeep Club Member #137.
mrsig is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 01-10-2012, 02:38 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 20
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsig View Post
Thanks guys I works now...
TXD: 07F01092 is what I had the F looked like the E in the unit. Now it is TXD: 07E01092.
Thanks again guys..
Glad it is now working!!!


2010 Black 2-Door Wrangler Mountain
ACE Engineering Mid-Width front bumper & rock sliders
Paramount Restyling rear bumper
285/70R17 Goodyear Duratracs on Pro-Comp 7032 wheels
Books1 is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 02-28-2016, 05:25 PM
Rock God
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Whitehorse Yukon
Posts: 911
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Books1 View Post
I discussed Trans Fluid Temp with ScanGauge and finally have it working on my '10 JK.

You need an ECU Wake-Up Code displayed on the screen along with a Trans Fluid Temp code. Without it, the computer won't display a TFT reading. Here are the codes that worked on my '10:

Wake Up ECU
TXD: 07E01092
RXF: 045025920000
RXD: 3808
MTH: 000100010000
NAM: ECU

Transmission Fluid Temperature (Degrees F)
TXD: 07E022B010
RXF: 046205B00610
RXD: 3010
MTH: 000100400000
NAM: TFT

Have those on-screen together and you should be all set.

Hope that helps other JK/JKU owners with a ScanGauge II!

Tried this on my 2012 and just got ECU OFF and a blank reading for the TFT.

2012 Silver JKU Rubicon
5 speed auto, 4.10s

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

For all your protection needs:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


M101 trailer, RTT, Awning, etc
5 wide Little Guy Rough Rider Teardrop
Riptide is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome