Fog light question yes, again, I know.... - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 11-20-2009, 09:33 AM Thread Starter
Rock God

Garage
Question Fog light question yes, again, I know....

OK I am a total rookie when it comes to electrical. I have been all through this site and think I understand what I need.
I have Hella 55W lights I put on the bumper
They turn on then off but will not stay on
I figure I need to "replace" the factory relay? Or do I need to install one all together?
I looked in the owners manual and can not find where the fogs hook up to in the engine bay. I.E. does a factory relay exist? which fuse are they connected to? Is anything else on that fuse and relay?
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 11-20-2009, 09:51 AM
TrailDuty.com

Just install another relay triggered by the factory circuit. Only takes a few minutes and works fine.
post #3 of 15 Old 11-20-2009, 09:57 AM
JKO Addict!

In this diagram the switch is your factory one on the stick.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 Old 11-20-2009, 10:37 AM Thread Starter
Rock God

Garage

I am looking for the actual physical location of the factory relay and fuse. It is not listed in the owners manual or the cover of the fuse box.
If the answer is yes, I can replace the factory relay with a new one in the same spot that is what I want to do.
Since it is not listed in the owners manual I was also trying to figure out if it is the only thing on that relay and fuse.

Last edited by peanut; 11-20-2009 at 10:40 AM.
post #5 of 15 Old 11-20-2009, 11:01 AM
Granite Guru

It is almost always a bad idea to just bump up the size of a fuse and replace a relay. The fuse protects the wiring, not the lights. If you pull too much current through the wires, they can (and will) burn up, as in fire under the dash.