cb finally installed... - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 11-11-2009, 04:54 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
cjb321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sweetwater, TX
Age: 43
Posts: 491
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews
cb finally installed...

finally got around to installing the CB i ordered about 2 weeks ago. its a uniden pro 520xl. i mounted it under the dash next to the steering column. im short so my leg doesnt even come close to hitting it lol. used the teraflex tire carrier mount for now til i replace the bumper and tire carrier. I tried to tune the antenna but cant seem to get it right. wondering if there is anyone around the abilene, tx area that could help me out with it?

pics if the install.



Chris
-----------------------
'09 Rubicon 2dr, Silver
cjb321 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 11-11-2009, 05:15 PM
Rock God
 
ka3pit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sarasota,FL
Age: 52
Posts: 538
Feedback: 0 reviews

What's it doing or not doing ? Did you put an SWR mater on it to make sure you don't fry it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nootherride View Post
for sure... you guys are wound a little tight
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.... remember your supposed to stop the q-tip when theres resistance
ka3pit is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 11-11-2009, 05:33 PM
JKO Addict!
 
sniper41's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Jersey// Camden County
Age: 52
Posts: 5,765
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to sniper41

I just ordered a similar, perhaps same, antenna mount for mine. I see your cable coming out to the side but where did you take it from there?

Doug 08 4dr X 6 spd Det Yellow
You are a load that should have been swallowed, but someone as bitter as you are probably would have been spat out. Ahh Dancin Dan
Jersey
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Crew
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sniper41 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 11-11-2009, 05:48 PM
Rock God
 
dmhines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Forsyth County, GA
Posts: 686
Feedback: 1 reviews

FYI ... I have the same radio. Do a youtube search on the model # ... there is a simple hack to boost it to almost 20 watts. I plan on doing mine once I'm in the mood to de-install it and take it apart to do the hack.

2009 JK - 2DR - 6SPD - 1/2 Doors
4.88 G2 Gears / Warn XD9000i / Custom bumpers & Swing Gate
XRC Rock Rails / 35" Kumho's on Black Rock Vipers
2.5" Mutt Lift / Rubicon T-Case / E-DISCO / VIAIR OBA
Rear CV Driveshaft / Rear Detroit Locker / Front Aussie
Teraflex Sleeves / Gussets / Nitro Chromoly Axles
dmhines is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 11-11-2009, 06:59 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
cjb321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sweetwater, TX
Age: 43
Posts: 491
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniper41 View Post
I just ordered a similar, perhaps same, antenna mount for mine. I see your cable coming out to the side but where did you take it from there?
i just ran it under the croner of the bar for the rear window. i tried to run it through the tailgate but i couldnt figure out how to get it through. i'll get a picture of that part when its light out, too dark now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ka3pit View Post
What's it doing or not doing ? Did you put an SWR mater on it to make sure you don't fry it?
i've never tuned one before but i tried to do what the intructions said but cant get the swr to move at all. needle just goes to max every time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmhines View Post
FYI ... I have the same radio. Do a youtube search on the model # ... there is a simple hack to boost it to almost 20 watts. I plan on doing mine once I'm in the mood to de-install it and take it apart to do the hack.
i only plan on using the radio for trails and people im traveling with to and from trails. i dont need to talk to people in another country with it. i ordered it peaked and tuned so whatever they got out of it will be fine for what i need it for.

Chris
-----------------------
'09 Rubicon 2dr, Silver
cjb321 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 11-13-2009, 02:16 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
cjb321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sweetwater, TX
Age: 43
Posts: 491
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniper41 View Post
I just ordered a similar, perhaps same, antenna mount for mine. I see your cable coming out to the side but where did you take it from there?
here's a couple pics of how i got it through. i dont like the cable just hanging out but its the best i can do atm.






also found out why my swr's were so bad. bad coax. replaced it and now swr's are all under 1.7 which is good enough for me.

Chris
-----------------------
'09 Rubicon 2dr, Silver
cjb321 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 11-14-2009, 02:14 PM
The Flower Guy
 
Tagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 118
Feedback: 0 reviews

My antenna mount is exactly the same and I get 3+ on the SWR meter. I soldered the ground wire to the bracket but I'm thinking of a wire direct to a ground in the truck. My cable route is underneath on the passenger side and through a hole grommet I installed in the floor well, then under the passenger seat to the front. Any suggestions? Is the routing imprtant? How do you know the coax cable is no good?

Jim
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tagg is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 11-14-2009, 05:32 PM
Granite Guru
 
Joe Diver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Richland Hills, Texas
Posts: 138
Feedback: 0 reviews

I'm certainly not an expert...hopefully a Ham can chime in....I haven't yet put a CB in my new Sahara but I do have on order: Cobra 29NW/WX, Firestick, Teraflex mount and Firewire coax with Firering and stub.

I put nearly the same setup in my TJ several years ago. I could not get any decent reception or broadcast, but then again I didn't know what I was doing. I took the time to learn a bit and found I made 2 mistakes:

1. Ground. I didn't have a proper ground on the antenna. I bought a nice braided cable, probably overkill but ran it from the antenna base to a solid place on the chassis. This corrected my ground plane.

2. Tightly coiled cable. I had nice straight runs to the radio and antenna, but since I had an 18' coax I just tightly coiled up the excess. I undid that, made nice big 18" coils in a few places between the radio and antenna.

Once these two things were corrected, I hooked up an SWR meter. Used a small jumper cable to the radio, so it was: coax-->SWR-->jumper-->radio. I was able to tune channel 1 to 1.3 and channel 40 to 1.4, so on 19 I had to be really close to that coveted 1:1.

Made all the difference in the world! I regularly got 5 to 7 miles and it was not unusual to get 8 to 12. A few times when conditions were right I could get a good skip and talked to some folks in Virginia once....well, they said they were there anyway.

Hope that helps some....


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2009 Sahara, Red Rock, auto, MyGig REN, Trac-Lok, remote start, soft top, Nuvi 765T, Escort X50 Blue, Cobra 29WXNW, Firestick II, Recovery Kit, Bestop Bikini Top, Soft Top Cover, Jeep Hood Bra
Joe Diver is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 11-14-2009, 06:02 PM
Rock God
 
doc307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 757
Feedback: 2 reviews

A 3+ sounds like a ground problem and spiking the meter either sounds like a major ground issue or you have not calibrated the meter correctly.

2014 Rubi Unlimited

2008 2dr X SOLD
with some chit on it
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
doc307 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 11-14-2009, 06:09 PM
JKO Addict!
 
sniper41's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Jersey// Camden County
Age: 52
Posts: 5,765
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to sniper41

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjb321 View Post
here's a couple pics of how i got it through. i dont like the cable just hanging out but its the best i can do atm.






also found out why my swr's were so bad. bad coax. replaced it and now swr's are all under 1.7 which is good enough for me.
Very interesting, I ran mine through an area in the tail gate where the wire, I believe, to the tail light went. Popped out the rubber grommet and then ran it through the hole but needless to say the rubber grommet isn't a "tight" fit anymore. It looks like it would be ok though; if I start noticing water or dampness though I'll run it like yours.

Doug 08 4dr X 6 spd Det Yellow
You are a load that should have been swallowed, but someone as bitter as you are probably would have been spat out. Ahh Dancin Dan
Jersey
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Crew
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sniper41 is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 11-14-2009, 10:35 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
cjb321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sweetwater, TX
Age: 43
Posts: 491
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

i tried to get it through that hole with the wires for the 3rd brakelight but it didnt want to cooperate with me. once i have more time i'll try to get it through again. when i installed it i was just trying to make sure everything was going to work. its a good thing i didnt go through all that trouble the first time lol since the coax was bad.

Chris
-----------------------
'09 Rubicon 2dr, Silver
cjb321 is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 11-18-2009, 02:31 PM
The Flower Guy
 
Tagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 118
Feedback: 0 reviews

Is there an advantage to braided ground wire vs a regular wire?

Jim
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tagg is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 11-18-2009, 02:34 PM
JKO Addict!
 
sniper41's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Jersey// Camden County
Age: 52
Posts: 5,765
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to sniper41

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tagg View Post
Is there an advantage to braided ground wire vs a regular wire?
my antenna mount was a self grounder so I can't help you there but I'm sure someone can.

Doug 08 4dr X 6 spd Det Yellow
You are a load that should have been swallowed, but someone as bitter as you are probably would have been spat out. Ahh Dancin Dan
Jersey
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Crew
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sniper41 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 11-18-2009, 03:47 PM
The Flower Guy
 
Tagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 118
Feedback: 0 reviews

is your antenna mounted on the tirecarrier?

Jim
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tagg is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 11-19-2009, 03:02 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
cjb321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sweetwater, TX
Age: 43
Posts: 491
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tagg View Post
is your antenna mounted on the tirecarrier?
its mounted over the tire carrier with the bolts going through both the mount and the carrier into the tailgate. i was going to get ground straps to run from the tailgate to the tub but with the swr's below 1.7 i decided not to bother. all i did was scratch the paint off the bracket where the bolts go through and where the antenna mounts to the bracket.

Chris
-----------------------
'09 Rubicon 2dr, Silver
cjb321 is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 11-23-2009, 11:06 AM
The Flower Guy
 
Tagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 118
Feedback: 0 reviews

Mine isn't the same. I have an WARN bumper with tire carrier and the antenna is on the swing tire carrier. I ran a line from the antenna ground to the tub and the SWR reading moved to 1.5 to 1.7 and thats good enough for me. All's well that ends well!!
thanks all for the input.

Jim
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tagg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome