CB help - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 04-04-2014, 06:04 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

CB help

Need help. I am a complete noob to this, so bear with me.

I installed a Firestik molded side mount next to the driver side taillight. I used a Firestik K-8 cable going to a Uniden 520. The mount has two studs. The cable has a ring terminal and a spade terminal. The ring terminal went to the top stud and I attached the spade terminal to the bottom stud. No other wires (ground, etc.). I'm hoping the rear of the mount, which is a metal plate, grounded itself to the inside tub, which I half assed scraped as best as I could with the limited room.

Before I figure out if the whole install is fubar'd, I need to know how to hook up the SWR meter that I have.

It's this one:

Here are the instructions diagram:

Now on the front of the meter, it says XMTR on the left hand side and ANT on the right. But the pic with the rear of the meter has it the other way around. The rear of the meter does not have any markings to indicate which way is correct.

I ran the meter according to the diagram and my SWR readings were pegged beyond red on 1, 19 and 40. So I bitched that my mount install is jacked.

I parked the Jeep in the garage and called it quits. Then I said fuck it, let me switch the cables around and see what happens . Jeep still in garage. Just checking to see if anything extraordinary happens.

With the jumper coax installed according to the front of the meter, on channel 1 it's at 1, channel 19 a little over 1.5 and channel 40 it's at 3. I didn't try to tune the antenna (Firestik) because I don't know if the SWR is correctly in line.

Sooo, do I just take it to a CB shop?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 04-04-2014, 06:14 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

BTW, here is the mount:

This is the cable:

This is the mount diagram: