Where to mount switches in JK? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2014, 05:51 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
joecatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Fishkill, NY
Age: 61
Posts: 15
Feedback: 0 reviews
Where to mount switches in JK?

The more things I want to do with my new 2012 JK, the more roadblocks I run into. Seems like everything I hope to do is no where as simple as it should be in this JK.

I bought a nice Mopar light bar to mount on the bumper and I plan to add 3 lights to it, 2 flood and one long range light. Forget the fact that NYS laws may give me a hard time with this, I have a bigger issue, where to mount the 2 light switches?

I was going to mount them where the traction control and flasher switches are but someone told me that the dash is not blank behind them but has some kind of circuit board. And unlike other SUVs I have had, I don't see any other places on the dash to drill holes for the switches. And I don't really want to spend $400 on SPOD just to have 2 light switches.

So I am open to ideas; where did you mount YOUR switch? Thanks.

JC
joecatch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2014, 05:55 AM
Apt
I Put the FU in FUN
 
Apt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Windsor, ON
Age: 47
Posts: 4,254
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

A pillar?


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Apt is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 06:06 AM
JKO Dickhead
 
Asmmns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southcoast, MASS
Age: 44
Posts: 3,522
Garage
Feedback: 6 reviews

Search for the thread on here for switch locations.. You will get a ton of great ideas !

__________________
CURE SMA !

Building a capable off road Jeep is easy...building a street legal one that you can drive two hours away to wheel and then drive to work the following morning is the challenge...

Last edited by Asmmns; 04-02-2014 at 08:30 AM.
Asmmns is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2014, 06:12 AM
Wheeler
 
honeybadger08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Age: 36
Posts: 81
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecatch View Post
The more things I want to do with my new 2012 JK, the more roadblocks I run into. Seems like everything I hope to do is no where as simple as it should be in this JK.

I bought a nice Mopar light bar to mount on the bumper and I plan to add 3 lights to it, 2 flood and one long range light. Forget the fact that NYS laws may give me a hard time with this, I have a bigger issue, where to mount the 2 light switches?

I was going to mount them where the traction control and flasher switches are but someone told me that the dash is not blank behind them but has some kind of circuit board. And unlike other SUVs I have had, I don't see any other places on the dash to drill holes for the switches. And I don't really want to spend $400 on SPOD just to have 2 light switches.

So I am open to ideas; where did you mount YOUR switch? Thanks.

JC
I took off that cover behind the shifter and made me a panel. Here is a pic. It wasnt hard to do, it just took time. I think Cool tech makes one like this. But I like making my own stuff.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Attached Images
 

Last edited by honeybadger08; 04-02-2014 at 06:55 AM.
honeybadger08 is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 06:48 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Grant211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orlando, Florida
Age: 43
Posts: 5,747
Feedback: 0 reviews
Grant211 is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 07:30 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
joecatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Fishkill, NY
Age: 61
Posts: 15
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant211 View Post
That looks professional and clean. Who makes that? Thanks.

JC
joecatch is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 08:15 AM
Rock God
 
edthesniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,909
Feedback: 2 reviews

Rugged Ridge

Semper Fi
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
edthesniper is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 08:36 AM
JKO Dickhead
 
Asmmns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southcoast, MASS
Age: 44
Posts: 3,522
Garage
Feedback: 6 reviews

I personally run the Daystar lower switch panel. I dont need more than four switches so it works for me !

http://www.quadratec.com/products/12500_243X_PG.htm

and for my in cab winch control I have this:

https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?p=1398983

__________________
CURE SMA !

Building a capable off road Jeep is easy...building a street legal one that you can drive two hours away to wheel and then drive to work the following morning is the challenge...
Asmmns is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 09:10 AM
Granite Guru
 
mrkeefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: martinez,ca
Age: 46
Posts: 259
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to mrkeefer
mrkeefer is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 11:00 AM
JKO Addict!
 
TCdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Woodstock, Ga
Age: 50
Posts: 3,720
Garage
Feedback: 2 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmmns View Post
I personally run the Daystar lower switch panel. I dont need more than four switches so it works for me !

http://www.quadratec.com/products/12500_243X_PG.htm

and for my in cab winch control I have this:

https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?p=1398983
Likewise. Daystar lower panel with four switches.



Left side of dash, just above the lower speaker for Winch Control panel



Mine is an 08...ymmv in a 12

TC
Crawling For Reid March 23, 2019 Adventure OffRoad Park


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TCdawg is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 11:20 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
joecatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Fishkill, NY
Age: 61
Posts: 15
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCdawg View Post
Likewise. Daystar lower panel with four switches.



Left side of dash, just above the lower speaker for Winch Control panel



Mine is an 08...ymmv in a 12
Bottom photo looks really cool. I have a 6 speed manual so I can't use that Daystar so I decided to do the RR panel instead.

JC
joecatch is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 12:25 PM
ADDICTION II build begins....
 
TXROCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Texas
Age: 46
Posts: 3,833
Feedback: 1 reviews

There are tons of options as you can see from the other member posts. There are a couple vendors on here who sell switch units (like sPOD) that can help get you started (depending on your electrical wiring ability).

U.S. Army
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TXROCK is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 02:08 PM
Rock God
 
SCOUT37JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Grand Prairie, TX
Age: 40
Posts: 625
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews



this was my solution for accessible switches with the 6spd


homebuilt JK - blood, sweat, lemonade. renamed LOOSE NUTS
SCOUT37JK is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 02:14 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 48
Feedback: 0 reviews
Unlimited_Fun is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 03:44 PM
JKowners Vendor
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wellington Nv.
Posts: 1,142
Feedback: 2 reviews

You only think you need 2 switches......just wait. Get a Spod.

Dealer for: MoTech, Atlas, Dynatrac, Rock Krawler, ORO, Currie, Poison Spyder, Bilstein, Fox, SWAY-A-WAY, Ridid, Adams and Tom Woods DS's. And much more!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CT Performance, Inc is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 04:55 PM
Wheeler
 
honeybadger08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Age: 36
Posts: 81
Feedback: 0 reviews

Thats why on my panel I have 4 unused switches just in case.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
honeybadger08 is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 05:00 PM
JKowners Vendor
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wellington Nv.
Posts: 1,142
Feedback: 2 reviews

You can never have to many switches..My EB
Attached Images
 

Dealer for: MoTech, Atlas, Dynatrac, Rock Krawler, ORO, Currie, Poison Spyder, Bilstein, Fox, SWAY-A-WAY, Ridid, Adams and Tom Woods DS's. And much more!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CT Performance, Inc is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 12:12 PM
JKO Addict!
 
terrahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 4,511
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews


Pain heals, chicks dig scars, glory lasts forever.
terrahawk is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 12:26 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
joecatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Fishkill, NY
Age: 61
Posts: 15
Feedback: 0 reviews

Wow, what a nice range of solutions to the problem of mounting switches! Alot of great ideas here. Someone should make this into a sticky or something...

JC
joecatch is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 01:01 PM
ADDICTION II build begins....
 
TXROCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Texas
Age: 46
Posts: 3,833
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCOUT37JK View Post


this was my solution for accessible switches with the 6spd


That's awesome!

U.S. Army
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TXROCK is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 08:16 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: May 2013
Age: 42
Posts: 14
Feedback: 0 reviews

A-pillar from Rugged Ridge with 4 Daystar Rockers. Super clean and right above the easy firewall access which is right above the factory ground in the drivers footwell. I also like having my switches up out of the way so no worry about accidentally flipping something on when it shouldn't be and potentially causing some issues.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
tkelly311 is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 11:44 PM
Rock God
 
Jonboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NorCal
Posts: 829
Feedback: 0 reviews

sPod sPod sPod.
Jonboy is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 07:22 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
joecatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Fishkill, NY
Age: 61
Posts: 15
Feedback: 0 reviews

I just ordered the Rugged Ridge pillar with 4 switches for $56.

I have a 6 speed manual so I am not sure about routing the wires through the firewall but I'll figure it out.

Question on the switches, however. At night when they are lite, are they distracting at all as they are mounted up near your line of sight?

Also, do those switches come with connectors?

JC
joecatch is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 07:39 AM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Age: 29
Posts: 155
Feedback: 0 reviews

I find them to be distracting some at night when they are lite. But if you have more light on the outside of the jeep it goes unnoticed.

The switches have three male connectors on the rear so you will need to put female connectors on the wires.
ajpboss90 is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 06:40 PM
Wheeler
 
TexasJeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: arlington, tx
Age: 31
Posts: 44
Feedback: 0 reviews

rugged ridge a pillar with daystar switches, i got a terminal strip mount below the steering wheel for easy access to switch wires!

Originally quoted by :White13JKUR
My favorite was the time at the ATM when I hopped out of the jeep and a hot soccer mom immediately approached me and asked in a friendly voice: “How many inches do you have?” Then, when I looked to see that she too had jumped out of a stock jeep similar to mine, I responded with confidence : “3.5 inches”
TexasJeep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Thread Tools



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome