Won't start - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 36 Old 10-20-2009, 06:54 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
crowned customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dana Point
Age: 34
Posts: 150
Feedback: 0 reviews
Won't start

So I am installing my river raider snorkel and have to unhook the battery and put the new tray in which spins it sideways to fit snorkel piping. I finish it all up and hook the batt back up and the jeep won't start. It's an 08 X with no alarm and no power doors or windows. I am getting a little red light in the right hand cornor of the cluster. I called the dealer and they say there is a chip in the key that talks to a transponder in the starter. Well mine aren't talking.
Anybody have an ideas?? This happen to them??
crowned customs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 Old 10-20-2009, 06:57 PM
Openly Hostile
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Age: 41
Posts: 6,984
Feedback: 4 reviews

Try your other key yet?

Jason
SDMF is offline  
post #3 of 36 Old 10-20-2009, 06:59 PM
Rock God
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Age: 38
Posts: 1,497
Feedback: 0 reviews

no clicks or anything?
anything light up on the dash? radio etc?
savage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 36 Old 10-20-2009, 06:59 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
crowned customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dana Point
Age: 34
Posts: 150
Feedback: 0 reviews

No, jeep is at my buddies shop. I'm going to get my other key and try tomorrow. Think key could have gone bad??
crowned customs is offline  
post #5 of 36 Old 10-20-2009, 07:00 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
crowned customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dana Point
Age: 34
Posts: 150
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by savage View Post
no clicks or anything?
anything light up on the dash? radio etc?
There is a click like a relay but not like the jeep trying to turn over (dead batt sound). I have all the lights and radio
crowned customs is offline  
post #6 of 36 Old 10-20-2009, 07:03 PM
Openly Hostile
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Age: 41
Posts: 6,984
Feedback: 4 reviews

Sometimes a key will lose its sync with the computer, but the other one still works. Finicky little biatches.

Jason
SDMF is offline  
post #7 of 36 Old 10-20-2009, 07:09 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
crowned customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dana Point
Age: 34
Posts: 150
Feedback: 0 reviews

Thanks I'll definately try that tomorrow.

Now here is something that's funny. 6 months or so ago I went and had a extra key cut at the local hardware store just to have around. About a month ago I was running late to work and couldn't find my keys so I just grabbed the spare I made. The jeep started, ran for 2 seconds and then died. I did it 5 or 6 times unti I realized it was the key. I looked it up later and sure enough that's what it was. Now the jeep won't even start or turn over with my factory key. Interesting, right. Even if it lost sync wouldn't it start then die? Just throwing ideas out there.
crowned customs is offline  
post #8 of 36 Old 10-20-2009, 07:13 PM
JKO Addict!
 
tkob1060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ :)
Age: 51
Posts: 7,281
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

most likely the key......but you didnt hit the wire harness right in the corner where you drilled the hole did you? I know when I did mine it rubbed that harness


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancin Dan View Post
A Jeep just zipped past my house and I could swear I heard the driver yellin:

"The tkob is coming!! The tkob is coming!!"
tkob1060 is offline  
post #9 of 36 Old 10-23-2009, 04:51 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
crowned customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dana Point
Age: 34
Posts: 150
Feedback: 0 reviews

Tried the other key still nothing.
crowned customs is offline  
post #10 of 36 Old 10-24-2009, 12:48 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
crowned customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dana Point
Age: 34
Posts: 150
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by tkob1060 View Post
most likely the key......but you didnt hit the wire harness right in the corner where you drilled the hole did you? I know when I did mine it rubbed that harness
No I didn't hit the harness.
crowned customs is offline  
post #11 of 36 Old 10-26-2009, 05:04 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
crowned customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dana Point
Age: 34
Posts: 150
Feedback: 0 reviews

So I towed it to the Don a Vee today. Denis called me and said it it'll e $167 just to hook it up and see what the prob is. The Jeep is an 08 with 16k on it. I see how nothing I have done to the Jeep would cause it to not be under warrenty for this issue.
crowned customs is offline  
post #12 of 36 Old 10-26-2009, 05:09 PM
JKO Addict!
 
tkob1060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ :)
Age: 51
Posts: 7,281
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by crowned customs View Post
So I towed it to the Don a Vee today. Denis called me and said it it'll e $167 just to hook it up and see what the prob is. The Jeep is an 08 with 16k on it. I see how nothing I have done to the Jeep would cause it to not be under warrenty for this issue.
WTF crack are they on, how can they charge you if they dont even know if its warranty work whats their labor rate $167 an hr?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancin Dan View Post
A Jeep just zipped past my house and I could swear I heard the driver yellin:

"The tkob is coming!! The tkob is coming!!"
tkob1060 is offline  
post #13 of 36 Old 10-26-2009, 05:12 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
crowned customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dana Point
Age: 34
Posts: 150
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by tkob1060 View Post
WTF crack are they on, how can they charge you if they dont even know if its warranty work whats their labor rate $167 an hr?
they said thats an hour and a half to plug in the little comp.
crowned customs is offline  
post #14 of 36 Old 10-26-2009, 05:14 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
crowned customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dana Point
Age: 34
Posts: 150
Feedback: 0 reviews

Dennis at Don A Vee says he thinks my lift and bad steering angles might have tripped something in the comp and thats why it won't start. I think hes full of sh*t.
crowned customs is offline  
post #15 of 36 Old 10-26-2009, 05:17 PM
JKO Addict!
 
tkob1060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ :)
Age: 51
Posts: 7,281
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by crowned customs View Post
they said thats an hour and a half to plug in the little comp.
Quote:
Originally Posted by crowned customs View Post
Dennis at Don A Vee says he thinks my lift and bad steering angles might have tripped something in the comp and thats why it won't start. I think hes full of sh*t.
Wow I'd tow it the hell out of there and give him a couple of these

he's definitely full of ****


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancin Dan View Post
A Jeep just zipped past my house and I could swear I heard the driver yellin:

"The tkob is coming!! The tkob is coming!!"
tkob1060 is offline  
post #16 of 36 Old 10-26-2009, 05:27 PM
Rock God
 
ynkedad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Fl.
Age: 53
Posts: 1,462
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

I'd have hooked it up to some jumper cables, and tried jumping it before I took it to a shop.

If this was done and I missed the post...SORRY.

Also, do ya know anyone with a superchip? If so..couldn't you get a diagnostic/codes by using it? This is provided you have power when the key is in the ignition.

I Freakin' Love My JEEP!! Hey, you in the Hummer..
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I Love and Miss You Brodude..RIP.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ynkedad is offline  
post #17 of 36 Old 10-26-2009, 05:28 PM
Rock God
 
ynkedad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Fl.
Age: 53
Posts: 1,462
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Oh BTW, I just had my daughters BMW in the shop and had it hooked to a computer to diagnose it. It only costed like $75.00..ON A BMW!!!

I Freakin' Love My JEEP!! Hey, you in the Hummer..
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I Love and Miss You Brodude..RIP.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ynkedad is offline  
post #18 of 36 Old 10-26-2009, 06:21 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
crowned customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dana Point
Age: 34
Posts: 150
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by ynkedad View Post
I'd have hooked it up to some jumper cables, and tried jumping it before I took it to a shop.

If this was done and I missed the post...SORRY.

Also, do ya know anyone with a superchip? If so..couldn't you get a diagnostic/codes by using it? This is provided you have power when the key is in the ignition.
Batt is fine, shows a full 12v. The Jeep wont even turn over. I have power and lights. I get that little red circle light on the dash.
crowned customs is offline  
post #19 of 36 Old 10-26-2009, 06:30 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
crowned customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dana Point
Age: 34
Posts: 150
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by tkob1060 View Post
Wow I'd tow it the hell out of there and give him a couple of these

he's definitely full of ****
haha yeah I would have but I had it AAAed over there and wasn't able to be there when it got dropped off. He called me and told me this. I told him no its under warranty and nothing I have done would have caused this problem. He said once they figure out the problem they will know if its covered or not.
crowned customs is offline  
post #20 of 36 Old 10-26-2009, 06:49 PM
Rock God
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Age: 38
Posts: 1,497
Feedback: 0 reviews

make sure that the negative is nice and clean and getting a good connection.
if it starts and stops then its the key, if you get a click it could be the starter/ground. check and make sure you dont have a loose ground somewhere. dealer sounds like a moron. else, try and jump it.
savage is offline  
post #21 of 36 Old 10-26-2009, 07:09 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
crowned customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dana Point
Age: 34
Posts: 150
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by savage View Post
make sure that the negative is nice and clean and getting a good connection.
if it starts and stops then its the key, if you get a click it could be the starter/ground. check and make sure you dont have a loose ground somewhere. dealer sounds like a moron. else, try and jump it.
I'll check the ground again but it won't start and won't click. The only click I get is a relay that clicks when I try to start it.
crowned customs is offline  
post #22 of 36 Old 10-26-2009, 09:35 PM
Granite Guru
 
sierraexplorers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA-Mountains by Yosemite-Oakhurst-Bass lake
Age: 45
Posts: 128
Feedback: 1 reviews

Try putting in neutral and starting. I have seen this work on other JK's.
Good luck
Dealer + Overcharging makes up for lack of knowledge

Jeremiah
Sierra Explorers
sierraexplorers is offline  
post #23 of 36 Old 10-26-2009, 10:27 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
crowned customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dana Point
Age: 34
Posts: 150
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by sierraexplorers View Post
Try putting in neutral and starting. I have seen this work on other JK's.
Good luck
Dealer + Overcharging makes up for lack of knowledge
Tried that
crowned customs is offline  
post #24 of 36 Old 10-26-2009, 10:35 PM
JKO Addict!
 
SONIC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bell Buckle, TN
Posts: 3,730
Feedback: 1 reviews

well the problem happened after you installed a snorkel and drilled into the jeep.
Its perfectly acceptable for them to let you know the rate.

If its a warranty thing they will fix it for warranty. But if not its nice to know you have to pay 167 extra.

Thats not ripping you off, its how the world works. They have to charge a diagnostic fee. If they didnt they would lose money.
Seems fishy it would not start after your install if you didnt do anything wrong. (im not saying you did lol just saying the dealer has every right to tell you they will charge you if you screwed up)

Yes, but there's just something about him. Something around the eyes, I don't know, reminds me of... me. No. I'm sure of it, I hate him.
-Doc Holiday
Why are you highlighting my sig? You Bastard!
SONIC is offline  
post #25 of 36 Old 10-26-2009, 10:44 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
crowned customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dana Point
Age: 34
Posts: 150
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by SONIC View Post
well the problem happened after you installed a snorkel and drilled into the jeep.
Its perfectly acceptable for them to let you know the rate.

If its a warranty thing they will fix it for warranty. But if not its nice to know you have to pay 167 extra.

Thats not ripping you off, its how the world works. They have to charge a diagnostic fee. If they didnt they would lose money.
Seems fishy it would not start after your install if you didnt do anything wrong. (im not saying you did lol just saying the dealer has every right to tell you they will charge you if you screwed up)
I totally agree it just seems like he made his decision as soon as he saw the Jeep and no matter what they find out they will charge me.
crowned customs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome