Kicker Amp - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 10-18-2009, 01:41 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Feedback: 0 reviews
Kicker Amp

Is there a noticeable improvement with the Kicker Amp Upgrade (77KICK33) over the Infinity Amp? Does it improve the sound of the sound bar speakers?
jaburk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 10-20-2009, 05:04 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Michigan
Age: 45
Posts: 395
Feedback: 1 reviews

That Kicker amp is designed for JK's with the base sound system, not as an upgrade for the Infinity system.

If you're looking for an upgrade and improve the soundbar sound a Nitro amp makes a big difference. I heard one back to back in a friend's Unlimited and the difference is very noticeable. Soundbar is louder, midranges are more pronounced, and the bass hit harder.

I have one I was going to put in the for sale section, if you're interested PM me. I bought it to be a "trailblazer" and install it in my base model X but I quickly realized that it would be far less work and I wouldn't have to hack my wiring harness all to heck by using an aftermarket amp.
jkracing37 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 10-21-2009, 12:18 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tennessee
Age: 48
Posts: 46
Feedback: 0 reviews
upgrade base system with factory amp

jkracing,

are you saying that it will be easier to install an aftermarket amp into an x with the base system ? I am looking to upgrade my base system (no amp) with the OEM infinity amp. because I was thinking it would be easier than installing an aftermarket amp. Sounds like you have already looked into this. Thanks
cbuck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 10-21-2009, 03:14 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Michigan
Age: 45
Posts: 395
Feedback: 1 reviews

Yeah, it's definitely WAY easier than trying to make the factory Infinity amp work. I actually bought an Infinity amp and researched all the wiring. I went through the documentation for the factory radio and amp, marked all the wires on the pigtails for the radio and amp, then it was time to start hacking the factory harness to wire everything up. Then I realized that even if I hack my harness up there is a chance that the amp will not be properly recognized by the Canbus. At that point you'd need a Starscan tool change settings to recognize the amp.

With an aftermarket amp you buy a PAC AOEM-CHR3, plug it in to the factory harness and radio, run RCA cables to the amp, power the amp, run speaker wires and you're done. Simple!
jkracing37 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 10-21-2009, 06:36 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tennessee
Age: 48
Posts: 46
Feedback: 0 reviews

thanks for info. jkracing ! I suppose I will fab. a bracket for an aftermarket to mount in the factory location, use the PAC adapter and run a power wire and be done. I have been investigating adding the OEM amp. to my base system for weeks. Seems like it should be plug and play with OEM amp.

Also, the 77kick33 is not an upgrade to the factory amp. Although some descriptions do indicate it. It is in fact a 4.1 ch 184 watt kicker amp. packaged by Chrysler with everthing needed mount and plug into factory non-infinity system wiring. I was so confused after reading installation instructions and application guide from www.justforjeeps.com, that I called Kicker direct to confirm.
cbuck is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 10-23-2009, 04:22 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tennessee
Age: 48
Posts: 46
Feedback: 0 reviews
factory sub wires

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkracing37 View Post
Yeah, it's definitely WAY easier than trying to make the factory Infinity amp work. I actually bought an Infinity amp and researched all the wiring. I went through the documentation for the factory radio and amp, marked all the wires on the pigtails for the radio and amp, then it was time to start hacking the factory harness to wire everything up. Then I realized that even if I hack my harness up there is a chance that the amp will not be properly recognized by the Canbus. At that point you'd need a Starscan tool change settings to recognize the amp.

With an aftermarket amp you buy a PAC AOEM-CHR3, plug it in to the factory harness and radio, run RCA cables to the amp, power the amp, run speaker wires and you're done. Simple!
jkracing, did you find where the factory sub woofer wires stopped under the dash. I bought a factory sub and enclosure plugged into factory harness in the rear. There are 2 green (1 with white stripe, 1 with black stripe) and 2 grey (1 with white stripe, 1 with black stripe) at the sub. I haven't found them under dash yet. Thought you may have found them.
cbuck is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 10-23-2009, 06:19 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Michigan
Age: 45
Posts: 395
Feedback: 1 reviews

No, I have not traced the wires so I do not know where they terminate. I planned on running a heavier gauge wire back to my sub box.
jkracing37 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome