CB hook up problem - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 Old 10-15-2009, 07:32 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
RUDY850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LATROBE PA
Age: 52
Posts: 467
Feedback: 0 reviews
CB hook up problem

Getting engine interference coming threw the cb.And some werd stuf going on with the ingine off.

opening the door taking the key in and out of the ignition. stuff like that.

But this part goes away in a minute or two if the key is left out and the door is closed.Also when tuning the antenna the meter goes to zero on all channels

power from battery


cb ground


mount with ground stap


ground from mount to body


Hook up at cb


I checked all grounds with a test light and they were all good

RK 3.5 LIFT/RRD SHOCKS/FRONT CONTROL ARMS/DRAG LINK/TRACK BAR/REAR BRAKE HOSES/COOPER 295-75-17 STT JEEPERMAN FRONT BUMPER SUPERWINCH EPI9 JKS LOWER TRACK BAR BRACES/DISCONNECTS CRAGAR WHEELS SOFT 8 SYNERGY UPPER TRACK BAR BRACES RR SKID PLATES BENCHMARK DESIGNS EVAP SKID
RUDY850 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 10-16-2009, 02:39 AM
Rock God
 
ka3pit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sarasota,FL
Age: 52
Posts: 538
Feedback: 0 reviews

You could try an RF filter in line or tie into the fuse panel instead of the battery.Cant tell what radio that is but some radios have better noise filtering in them also.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nootherride View Post
for sure... you guys are wound a little tight
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.... remember your supposed to stop the q-tip when theres resistance

Last edited by ka3pit; 10-16-2009 at 02:41 AM.
ka3pit is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 10-16-2009, 06:09 AM
Granite Guru
 
Alter Ego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 494
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by ka3pit View Post
You could try an RF filter in line or tie into the fuse panel instead of the battery.Cant tell what radio that is but some radios have better noise filtering in them also.
Before you buy a filter, swap in a buddy's radio that doesn't have a noise problem. If his is quiet with your wiring, then you need a noise filter for your radio. Another thing to do is run both ground and power wires twisted around each other or at least parallel to each other all the way to the battery. That way they pick up less interference.

I'm not sure what you mean about the meter going to zero. The SWR meter or the radio meter? What meter setting, SWR, RF power, or REF?

KD8NHC
08 4 Door Rubicon
Member of Two Trackers 4wd Club
Great Lakes Four Wheel Drive Association
United Four Wheel Drive Associations
Alter Ego is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 Old 10-16-2009, 06:41 AM
Rock God
 
rdhrd4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lakenheath, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 1,708
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

i am unable to view the pictures so i cant tell where you have the cb mounted... i am guessing tho that you most likely put it down at your feet close to the 4wd lever... if this is the case you can try mounting it elsewhere... ie the top of the dash panel... however, if you dont want to do that then as AE said, wrap the wires around eachother all the way up, buy a filter, oh and... (not trying to sound like an a$$ here) but just making sure youve done everything, check your squelch... good luck!
rdhrd4 is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 10-16-2009, 07:29 AM
JKO Addict!
 
The Joker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Effin'ham County,Ga
Age: 47
Posts: 2,279
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

take your ground to the battery. I had the same issue and it fixed mine.
The Joker is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 10-16-2009, 10:20 AM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Age: 49
Posts: 311
Feedback: 0 reviews

try running your power from the fuse block instead thats where mine is hooked up

scene: Agaudo smashes cockroach to provoke ventura
Agaudo: Homicide!, ventura how you gonna solve that one?
Ventura: Good question Agaudo,first I'd establish a motive..in this case the killer saw the size of the bugs dick and became insanely jealous!
jkjones is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 10-16-2009, 03:20 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
RUDY850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LATROBE PA
Age: 52
Posts: 467
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by ka3pit View Post
You could try an RF filter in line or tie into the fuse panel instead of the battery.Cant tell what radio that is but some radios have better noise filtering in them also.

It is a cobra 29

RK 3.5 LIFT/RRD SHOCKS/FRONT CONTROL ARMS/DRAG LINK/TRACK BAR/REAR BRAKE HOSES/COOPER 295-75-17 STT JEEPERMAN FRONT BUMPER SUPERWINCH EPI9 JKS LOWER TRACK BAR BRACES/DISCONNECTS CRAGAR WHEELS SOFT 8 SYNERGY UPPER TRACK BAR BRACES RR SKID PLATES BENCHMARK DESIGNS EVAP SKID
RUDY850 is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 10-16-2009, 03:28 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
RUDY850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LATROBE PA
Age: 52
Posts: 467
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alter Ego View Post
Before you buy a filter, swap in a buddy's radio that doesn't have a noise problem. If his is quiet with your wiring, then you need a noise filter for your radio. Another thing to do is run both ground and power wires twisted around each other or at least parallel to each other all the way to the battery. That way they pick up less interference.

I'm not sure what you mean about the meter going to zero. The SWR meter or the radio meter? What meter setting, SWR, RF power, or REF?
Don't know anybody else with a cb close to me

The cobra 29 has a built in swr meter. after i calibrate the meter it says to switch it to the swr meter mod and then key the mike starting on channel 20. when i do this the needle swings the hole way to the left. 0 it does this on all the channels. i know the lower the number the better but this cant be right

RK 3.5 LIFT/RRD SHOCKS/FRONT CONTROL ARMS/DRAG LINK/TRACK BAR/REAR BRAKE HOSES/COOPER 295-75-17 STT JEEPERMAN FRONT BUMPER SUPERWINCH EPI9 JKS LOWER TRACK BAR BRACES/DISCONNECTS CRAGAR WHEELS SOFT 8 SYNERGY UPPER TRACK BAR BRACES RR SKID PLATES BENCHMARK DESIGNS EVAP SKID
RUDY850 is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 10-16-2009, 03:31 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
RUDY850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LATROBE PA
Age: 52
Posts: 467
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdhrd4 View Post
i am unable to view the pictures so i cant tell where you have the cb mounted... i am guessing tho that you most likely put it down at your feet close to the 4wd lever... if this is the case you can try mounting it elsewhere... ie the top of the dash panel... however, if you dont want to do that then as AE said, wrap the wires around eachother all the way up, buy a filter, oh and... (not trying to sound like an a$$ here) but just making sure youve done everything, check your squelch... good luck!
squelch is adjusted properly

The cb is mounted in the glove box door

RK 3.5 LIFT/RRD SHOCKS/FRONT CONTROL ARMS/DRAG LINK/TRACK BAR/REAR BRAKE HOSES/COOPER 295-75-17 STT JEEPERMAN FRONT BUMPER SUPERWINCH EPI9 JKS LOWER TRACK BAR BRACES/DISCONNECTS CRAGAR WHEELS SOFT 8 SYNERGY UPPER TRACK BAR BRACES RR SKID PLATES BENCHMARK DESIGNS EVAP SKID
RUDY850 is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 10-16-2009, 03:33 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
RUDY850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LATROBE PA
Age: 52
Posts: 467
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkjones View Post
try running your power from the fuse block instead thats where mine is hooked up
The jk only has one fuse box. correct. under the hood near the battery

RK 3.5 LIFT/RRD SHOCKS/FRONT CONTROL ARMS/DRAG LINK/TRACK BAR/REAR BRAKE HOSES/COOPER 295-75-17 STT JEEPERMAN FRONT BUMPER SUPERWINCH EPI9 JKS LOWER TRACK BAR BRACES/DISCONNECTS CRAGAR WHEELS SOFT 8 SYNERGY UPPER TRACK BAR BRACES RR SKID PLATES BENCHMARK DESIGNS EVAP SKID
RUDY850 is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 10-16-2009, 03:36 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
RUDY850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LATROBE PA
Age: 52
Posts: 467
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Joker View Post
take your ground to the battery. I had the same issue and it fixed mine.
I will try all suggestions when i can. just had surgery on my hand today so it will be awhile till i can mess with it again

Thanks all
Rudy

RK 3.5 LIFT/RRD SHOCKS/FRONT CONTROL ARMS/DRAG LINK/TRACK BAR/REAR BRAKE HOSES/COOPER 295-75-17 STT JEEPERMAN FRONT BUMPER SUPERWINCH EPI9 JKS LOWER TRACK BAR BRACES/DISCONNECTS CRAGAR WHEELS SOFT 8 SYNERGY UPPER TRACK BAR BRACES RR SKID PLATES BENCHMARK DESIGNS EVAP SKID
RUDY850 is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 10-16-2009, 04:55 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Apple Valley, Calif
Posts: 184
Feedback: 0 reviews

How and where did you mount your antenna? Good ground connection for the antenna?

2008 JK Rubicon
86ish Formula Toyota
OlMan is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 10-16-2009, 05:09 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
RUDY850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LATROBE PA
Age: 52
Posts: 467
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlMan View Post
How and where did you mount your antenna? Good ground connection for the antenna?
Im using the cool teck gate mount. the ground looks good to me

can you see the pics

RK 3.5 LIFT/RRD SHOCKS/FRONT CONTROL ARMS/DRAG LINK/TRACK BAR/REAR BRAKE HOSES/COOPER 295-75-17 STT JEEPERMAN FRONT BUMPER SUPERWINCH EPI9 JKS LOWER TRACK BAR BRACES/DISCONNECTS CRAGAR WHEELS SOFT 8 SYNERGY UPPER TRACK BAR BRACES RR SKID PLATES BENCHMARK DESIGNS EVAP SKID
RUDY850 is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 10-17-2009, 04:52 AM
Newbie
 
disturbedklownz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Waddy Ky
Age: 40
Posts: 8
Feedback: 0 reviews

I just mounted a cobra 29 in mine and im having the same problem.Ive tried everything but i read somewhere that it might fix the wine if we ground the cb chassis itself.I havent tried it yet but im going to.Ill let you know if it works

Mine is calibrating right.From what it sounds like yours is not.Take the antenna ground off and just run a non permanent one to the frame bolts right behind the rear tire.They are real easy to get to and my mount instructs me to ground there.I dont think it will fix the wining noise but it will help tune ur cb.

Last edited by disturbedklownz; 10-17-2009 at 04:59 AM.
disturbedklownz is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 10-17-2009, 11:40 AM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Apple Valley, Calif
Posts: 184
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlMan View Post
How and where did you mount your antenna? Good ground connection for the antenna?
Yes, I can see the pics, but only paid attention to the first two. My bad.

I installed the hand-held 75WX. Like you I ran the power directly to the battery and used a body ground. My antenna is basically mounted like yours. I would still chase the grounds.

2008 JK Rubicon
86ish Formula Toyota
OlMan is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 10-17-2009, 11:54 AM
Rock God
 
chromedome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,044
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

99% of the time it's a ground problem. A continuity probe is not the same as High current power or RF. So while you may be able to get the probe to light or beep. you probably have stray RF or voltage flying around your electrical system. Either ground back to the battery (usually best) or to metal frame that has paint / powder coating removed down to bare metal. Try to avoid grounding to body panels.
chromedome is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 10-20-2009, 11:25 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
RUDY850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LATROBE PA
Age: 52
Posts: 467
Feedback: 0 reviews

Ok I messed around with this some today.

I now have the power wires twisted to gather and both are going to the battery.Did not help at all

Some things I noticed.

With the antenna disconnected at the radio. Engine running.All the engine noise was gone.But there is static.The static is real bad on channel one and lessons going up to channel 40.If I turn on the NB/ANL switch the static goes away on all channel.The static is also the same with the ingine off

If I disconnect the mic the static goes away. Engine running or not

RK 3.5 LIFT/RRD SHOCKS/FRONT CONTROL ARMS/DRAG LINK/TRACK BAR/REAR BRAKE HOSES/COOPER 295-75-17 STT JEEPERMAN FRONT BUMPER SUPERWINCH EPI9 JKS LOWER TRACK BAR BRACES/DISCONNECTS CRAGAR WHEELS SOFT 8 SYNERGY UPPER TRACK BAR BRACES RR SKID PLATES BENCHMARK DESIGNS EVAP SKID

Last edited by RUDY850; 10-20-2009 at 11:42 AM.
RUDY850 is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 10-20-2009, 12:35 PM
Rock God
 
rdhrd4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lakenheath, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 1,708
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

sounds like a discharge distance problem... try grounding it close to the radio itself... using as little ground wire as possible...

I LIVE, I RIDE, I DESTROY, ANYTHING I GET BEHIND THE WHEEL OF
Quote:
Originally Posted by karnuvore View Post
But you either support your troops or you are shit.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rdhrd4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome