Remote start into a Hemi JK - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 10-05-2009, 12:37 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
TheMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Age: 51
Posts: 66
Feedback: 0 reviews
Remote start into a Hemi JK

The Mopar remote start kit requires a grey wire to spilce into the 3.8 coil wire which is on top of the 3.8 (a 4 way plug). Since the Hemi's don't have this part but rather individual wires from the harness to each cylider, I'm needing the comparable splice point.

I've installed the 2-way remote kit into my 6.1 JK except for this wire. It all functions as it should but without this wire it starts, shuts down, restarts and repeats this. I'm assuming this coil wire tells the remote start it's running so without it connected it doesn't know.

Anyone with any idea how to tie it into the Hemi's?

Black 2007 JK Rubicon Unlimited: 6.1 BOR Hemi, AEV: bumpers, Pinters, 4.5" lift. 5:13's, New Kevlar 37" MT/R, Chromo Rear Shafts, Front: RCV Shafts, gussetted, sleeved etc etc etc (should have just bought a prorock!), all RED badged

2007 Adventure Trailer,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
#71
TheMike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 10-05-2009, 04:56 PM
dsy
Granite Guru
 
dsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toledo
Age: 63
Posts: 343
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMike View Post
The Mopar remote start kit requires a grey wire to spilce into the 3.8 coil wire which is on top of the 3.8 (a 4 way plug). Since the Hemi's don't have this part but rather individual wires from the harness to each cylider, I'm needing the comparable splice point.

I've installed the 2-way remote kit into my 6.1 JK except for this wire. It all functions as it should but without this wire it starts, shuts down, restarts and repeats this. I'm assuming this coil wire tells the remote start it's running so without it connected it doesn't know.

Anyone with any idea how to tie it into the Hemi's?
I would check the install instructons for a GC and see how it is handled on that.

07 Flame Red Unlimited Rubicon, 5.7 hemi, RCV shafts, 35" KM2's, AEV 3 1/2 lift, , AEV rear swing away Carrier, AEV Snorkel, LoD front bumper with Warn powerplant, 45qt Engel refrigerator / freezer. , Marchal E-Code lamps
DIY Hemi build
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dsy is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-06-2009, 06:59 AM
Rock God
 
Prope's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Holmes County, Ohio
Posts: 1,859
Feedback: 0 reviews

My remote start was already on the 3.8 before the Hemi install, but if you want to give me a call and I'll go out and look at it this evening, maybe we can trace it down. PM me for my cell # if you think this may work.

'08 Unlimited Sahara - Hemi -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Long Arm CoilOver - RockJock 60 Front - Tera CRD60 Rear - Hutchinsons & 37" Kevlar MT/R's -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Fenders & Rockers -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bumpers - Ramsey 9500UT - WTOR Hydro Assist - Etc.
Prope is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 10-10-2009, 05:58 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venice, Fl
Age: 33
Posts: 478
Feedback: 0 reviews

Are you using the factory remote start? I would personally go for a viper or autopage security/start solution IMO, only wire on the engine you'd need there is the tach and that's just for the rev cutoff
DanNEBTD is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-11-2009, 09:18 AM
Granite Guru
 
edivebuddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 295
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMike View Post
Anyone with any idea how to tie it into the Hemi's?
Call any of the companies that do the swap. My OEM remote works just fine.
edivebuddy is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-11-2009, 11:08 AM
JKO Addict!
 
BeerMonkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lake Winola, PA
Age: 42
Posts: 6,283
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

you just need a tach input, thats what th ewire on the coil was for, you should be able to go to any injector and use the non-common wire ( there will be a same color wire at each injector use the one thats not the same at each one) now you may need to "learn" the tach input, at least you do on a aftermarket remote start, im not sure how to do that on a factory system

'92 YJ
'13 WK2
BeerMonkeY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome