aftermarket amps... - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
View Poll Results: do you have aftermarket amps in the jeep?
i got amps! 13 40.63%
no amps. 9 28.13%
bacon! 8 25.00%
i spend my money elsewhere. 4 12.50%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 32. You may not vote on this poll

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 09-05-2009, 06:04 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
mikeyfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: apollo beach, fl
Age: 38
Posts: 2,872
Garage
Feedback: 3 reviews
Question aftermarket amps...

i live in florida and get caught in the rain all the time. i have a jl audio 300.4 and 500.1 from a previous vehicle but i am hesitant to mount them anywhere in the jeep. i think i might downsize the watts/size of the amp in order to mount it somewhere that it wont get wet.

so the poll is to see how many of you have aftermarket amps.

feel free to post up where/how you mounted them and if you have had any issues.
mikeyfl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 09-05-2009, 06:42 PM
Administrator
 
HITMONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sothern Utah
Age: 49
Posts: 8,743
Garage
Feedback: 5 reviews

Look up Zapco amps.


Spend the money.. thank me later.

°lllll°


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Facebook Page
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

YouTube Channel
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HITMONEY is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 09-05-2009, 06:57 PM
JKO Addict!
 
BeerMonkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lake Winola, PA
Age: 42
Posts: 6,283
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

none in the jk, had them in every other jeep ive had, actully every other vehicle ive had. i wont have the money to do a audio system in the jk , ill be sticking with the stock amp and my pioneer D3

'92 YJ
'13 WK2
BeerMonkeY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 Old 09-05-2009, 07:34 PM
JKO Addict!
 
rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Destin Florida
Posts: 2,791
Feedback: 1 reviews

Kicker 750.1 mounted under the rear seat and a Kicker Solobaric 12 in the back.
rooster is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 09-05-2009, 07:52 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
mikeyfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: apollo beach, fl
Age: 38
Posts: 2,872
Garage
Feedback: 3 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by rooster View Post
Kicker 750.1 mounted under the rear seat and a Kicker Solobaric 12 in the back.
cant you still fold the rear seat?
mikeyfl is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 09-06-2009, 08:14 AM
JKO Addict!
 
rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Destin Florida
Posts: 2,791
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyfl View Post
cant you still fold the rear seat?
absolutely. no issues at all I just tried it for you. I never fold mine though.
rooster is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 09-07-2009, 12:49 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
mikeyfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: apollo beach, fl
Age: 38
Posts: 2,872
Garage
Feedback: 3 reviews

hmmm. have any pics of how you mounted it?

id like to keep my jl amps but im still sketchy about them getting wet. my ideal place to mount an amp or two would be up in the dash somewhere.
mikeyfl is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 09-07-2009, 02:24 PM
JKO Addict!
 
Broncojohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas
Age: 46
Posts: 2,522
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by HITMONEY View Post
Look up Zapco amps.


Spend the money.. thank me later.

x2 I ran Zapco in the early 90's they were top shelf then and I here they are just as good today. Ran them with Toby speakers and an Alpine headunit, Clear as a bell and loud as hell.

Obama, The greatest gun salesman since the invention of firearms.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jscwerve View Post
This is exactly why we need to practice proper gun control.

If he was aiming down the sights correctly and had plenty of practice rounds under his belt, there would only be one side of this story.
Broncojohn is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 09-07-2009, 03:22 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
mikeyfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: apollo beach, fl
Age: 38
Posts: 2,872
Garage
Feedback: 3 reviews

hmm... i could stick with jl and still hid it in the dash!

those are the two amps i already have... merged into one mega mini amp!
mikeyfl is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 09-08-2009, 02:41 AM
Granite Guru
 
dodge8604's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ft. Knox, Ky/Brooksville, Ky
Age: 33
Posts: 438
Feedback: 0 reviews

im lookin for a good amp, i like the look of the jl audio but not sure how I would tie it in w/ my new head unit. its been a few years since I've shopped for a set of subs, lookin for two 10" round. Any suggestions????

08 JKU X - Flame Red w/ a few Doo Dads
dodge8604 is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 09-11-2009, 05:16 AM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venice, Fl
Age: 33
Posts: 478
Feedback: 0 reviews

I'm with mikey, I'm getting a JL 900/5 in the next month and will be putting it in the dash where the stock ones go. I love digital amps
DanNEBTD is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 09-18-2009, 05:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Feedback: 0 reviews

The JL Audio 900/5 or the Alpine PDX5 amps work great and will both fit in the factory location in the dash of oem infinity amp if you absolutely want it to. If at all possible I would mount it where it could get more air flow.
12volt is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 09-18-2009, 06:08 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
mikeyfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: apollo beach, fl
Age: 38
Posts: 2,872
Garage
Feedback: 3 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by 12volt View Post
The JL Audio 900/5 or the Alpine PDX5 amps work great and will both fit in the factory location in the dash of oem infinity amp if you absolutely want it to. If at all possible I would mount it where it could get more air flow.
i like that location because its more dry than any other location in my jeep.
mikeyfl is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 09-18-2009, 06:44 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venice, Fl
Age: 33
Posts: 478
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyfl View Post
i like that location because its more dry than any other location in my jeep.
Agreed . . plus these digital amps dont produce much heat
DanNEBTD is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 09-21-2009, 04:33 AM
JKO Addict!
 
usmcdoc14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norfawk, va
Posts: 3,881
Feedback: 1 reviews

I mounted mine on my cage. search in here and you will find pics
usmcdoc14 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome